We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel DO to your Saves list
Hotel DO
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 510 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great boutique hotel with excellent location in Barcelona. We were coming from Marrakech (stayed at the Riad Monceau hotel which was pure gem) and on our way back to UK ;the stop we made at this lovely boutique was a good surprise.
Our room was overlooking the Placa Reial and was spacious and beautiful. Staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
All in all a great experience even though our stay was very short. Will definitely return and spent couple days there if given the chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    54
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
56
320
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Everything about our five nights at this hotel was perfect. Room, facilities, food and especially staff was top notch. The location is perfect for exploring the sights, the shops and the port side. The extra little touches (fresh fruit to the room, complimentary mini bar and excellent breakfast) made our stay extra special. We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel was stunning. Staff were friendly and humble- especially considering they were waiting hand and foot on two teenage girls! The location was 3 mins from the local metro station and directly in the hub of the old city. The square itself is absolutely beautiful and after 3 days walking around Barcelona I can safely say we never saw anything that compared. But I think it was the freebies that really seduced us: biscuits, chocolate covered strawberries, macaroons and a free minibar were part of an array of little treats left for us over a period of 3 days. Oh and did I mention that the sauna was free?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went for a long weekend to this lovely hotel. Perfect location and very close to las ramblas in Barcelona, ideal to explore the city. Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and nicely fitted rooms and perfect service. A wonderful roof terrace to overlook la plaza real. Amazing weekend!!
Thank you very much .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I just spent the week-end at Hotel DO. I've been to Barcelona many times but this hotel was the best I've stayed in. Overlooking the Placa Reial we were treated to an amazing spectacle from our balcony on Sunday morning of Los Gigantes gathering in the square to celebrate Sant Fermin.

All the staff were great (especially Louis from Streatham!!) and the breakfast to die for (especially the Xoca - doughnuts filled with creamy custard!). We'll be back - very soon if I get my way. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wonderful hotel!! Staff was really nice and attentative. Breakfast included also to your room at no extra charge. My room was a single room and pretty small, but it had it all. The bathroom was as big as the rest of the room with Molton Brown products, bathrobes etc. I really liked this, one of the best I've stayed at. The only ting was that some money dissapeared from my wallet in the room when I went down for breakfast the last day. I used the safe the other days and obviosly should have that last day. If not for this I would have ratad this hotel higher.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nothing can beat the superb location between La Rambla and Plaza Reial, close to everything. The beds and their “Pillow menu” makes you sleep like Royalties. The breakfast is lavish and served to your table at pleasure, no buffet. Why not finish with a glass of Cava? Everything included in the price for the room. We where there in December, so the roof terrace was not open. We used the bar at street level, both inside and outside, to drink and look at all the people at the plaza. The service at the Hotel was overall impeccable so I gladly recommend this small five star hotel and I promise to stay here next time I visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 510 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#13 of 510 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,223 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#7 of 510 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#4 of 510 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#10 of 510 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.