We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located luxury with the personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DO Placa Reial

Save Saved
You added Hotel DO Placa Reial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DO Placa Reial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Centrally located luxury with the personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Everything about our five nights at this hotel was perfect. Room, facilities, food and especially staff was top notch. The location is perfect for exploring the sights, the shops and the port side. The extra little touches (fresh fruit to the room, complimentary mini bar and excellent breakfast) made our stay extra special. We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    39
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
173
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was stunning. Staff were friendly and humble- especially considering they were waiting hand and foot on two teenage girls! The location was 3 mins from the local metro station and directly in the hub of the old city. The square itself is absolutely beautiful and after 3 days walking around Barcelona I can safely say we never saw anything that compared. But I think it was the freebies that really seduced us: biscuits, chocolate covered strawberries, macaroons and a free minibar were part of an array of little treats left for us over a period of 3 days. Oh and did I mention that the sauna was free?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went for a long weekend to this lovely hotel. Perfect location and very close to las ramblas in Barcelona, ideal to explore the city. Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and nicely fitted rooms and perfect service. A wonderful roof terrace to overlook la plaza real. Amazing weekend!!
Thank you very much .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I just spent the week-end at Hotel DO. I've been to Barcelona many times but this hotel was the best I've stayed in. Overlooking the Placa Reial we were treated to an amazing spectacle from our balcony on Sunday morning of Los Gigantes gathering in the square to celebrate Sant Fermin.

All the staff were great (especially Louis from Streatham!!) and the breakfast to die for (especially the Xoca - doughnuts filled with creamy custard!). We'll be back - very soon if I get my way. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wonderful hotel!! Staff was really nice and attentative. Breakfast included also to your room at no extra charge. My room was a single room and pretty small, but it had it all. The bathroom was as big as the rest of the room with Molton Brown products, bathrobes etc. I really liked this, one of the best I've stayed at. The only ting was that some money dissapeared from my wallet in the room when I went down for breakfast the last day. I used the safe the other days and obviosly should have that last day. If not for this I would have ratad this hotel higher.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nothing can beat the superb location between La Rambla and Plaza Reial, close to everything. The beds and their “Pillow menu” makes you sleep like Royalties. The breakfast is lavish and served to your table at pleasure, no buffet. Why not finish with a glass of Cava? Everything included in the price for the room. We where there in December, so the roof terrace was not open. We used the bar at street level, both inside and outside, to drink and look at all the people at the plaza. The service at the Hotel was overall impeccable so I gladly recommend this small five star hotel and I promise to stay here next time I visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Loved the view of Placa Reial as there is always some action in the Placa. This is the best location in the city. Wandering through the gothic quarter was wonderful. The staff really made our stay and worked very hard to accomodate our wishes from arranging coveted FCB tickets (10th row, no less) to helping us to rent a car and tour the coast. Beautiful hotel and great restaurant but the staff really makes this hotel. Thanks for making our trip wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel DO Placa Reial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO Placa Reial

Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO Placa Reial 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Plaça Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Plaça Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Plaça Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boquería market, the Palacio de la Música concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Güell, Santa María del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel DO Placa Reial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Placa Reial Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DO Placa Reial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.