We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel DO to your Saves list
Hotel DO
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Magnificent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nothing can beat the superb location between La Rambla and Plaza Reial, close to everything. The beds and their “Pillow menu” makes you sleep like Royalties. The breakfast is lavish and served to your table at pleasure, no buffet. Why not finish with a glass of Cava? Everything included in the price for the room. We where there in December, so the roof terrace was not open. We used the bar at street level, both inside and outside, to drink and look at all the people at the plaza. The service at the Hotel was overall impeccable so I gladly recommend this small five star hotel and I promise to stay here next time I visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    50
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
264
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Loved the view of Placa Reial as there is always some action in the Placa. This is the best location in the city. Wandering through the gothic quarter was wonderful. The staff really made our stay and worked very hard to accomodate our wishes from arranging coveted FCB tickets (10th row, no less) to helping us to rent a car and tour the coast. Beautiful hotel and great restaurant but the staff really makes this hotel. Thanks for making our trip wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife decided that we should celebrate my birthday in Barcelona, we had great memories of the city in the early '80s when we were part of a motorcycle racing team competing in the "24 Horas De Montjuich" Much has changed and particularly the Rambla has been cleaned up, and is not quite as much fun as it was. Anyway,the Hotel Do was a real find, modern 'designer' interior in a classical building on the (now) beautiful placa DoReial. The reception and other staff were particularly smiley, helpful and efficient, and our mood was much lifted by the immediate appearance of a cold beer and flute of Cava while we completed formalities. Our room (21) was truly gorgeous, looking onto the square, with a balcony, a four poster bed and enough fluffy white pillows to get lost in.Housekeeping was to a very high standard and the bathroom was properly luxurious. Breakfasts were attentively served and of good quality, only a little marred by the gloomy and under-lit basement restaurant. The hotel has outdoor terraces on the square which are probably fantastic in spring/summer, but this was January.
The final and huge plus point of the 'Do' is it's position, just off the lower Rambla within easy walking distance of most sights and the metro, and with literally thousands of bars and restaurants within staggering range. Although it was quite expensive and only just within acceptable value for money, we loved it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, facing the square are the ones, sunny in the mornings, not too noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Without a doubt the best boutique hotel and location in Barcelona. This was our first trip to the city and this location was perfect for exploring the city on foot. The staff took a personal interest in making sure our trip was perfect. The room with balcony overlooking the Placa Reial was beautiful: very clean well appointed, luxurious towels and sheets. The little touches were appreciated: unlimited nonalcoholic drinks in the mini bar, fresh fruit and sweets daily. The beakfast was special: homemade croissants, hot cooked to order eggs, great espresso. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a lovely weekend staying here. The service and staff were helpful and friendly. The room was so spacious and had very high ceilings! Our room looked over the Placa Reial which was pretty - and the windows were so fantastic that we didn't hear a thing until we went out onto the balcony. The bed has to be one of the most comfy ones we've ever slept in and the bathroom was plush with Molton Brown toiletries in abundance. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went for a long weekend to this lovely hotel. Perfect location and very close to las ramblas in Barcelona, ideal to explore the city. Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and nicely fitted rooms and perfect service. A wonderful roof terrace to overlook la plaza real. Amazing weekend!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was at Hotel DO Placa Reial last year; we got a nice room and it was really great. There was everything we need, the staff was very kind and helpful, breakfast was very good. If I go back to Barcelona I would definitely stay again in this Hotel. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.