We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel DO to your Saves list
Hotel DO
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Adelaide
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Hotel Do was a brilliant base for my trip to Barcelona.

I stayed in a deluxe room, with an amazing view of Placa Reial from both the bedroom and bathroom. The energy and interest of this view is just amazing, and I had absolutely no issue with noise from square (even though I didn't let the staff shutter the balconies at night). Its perfect.

I stayed for four nights, and I really don't have a single complaint.

The rooms are elegant and fresh, with top quality bed linen- extremely comfortable.

The bathroom used excellent bath products, with a separate toilet room, and an extremely deep bath.

The breakfast here is extraordinary. They bring you whatever you want- I ordered mushrooms off the menu, in addition to the extremely extensive Continental and Hot spread they brought to my room just for me. It is very special sitting out looking at Plaza Reial eating a late breakfast. I left the hotel for an early flight, and they arranged a full cooked breakfast for 5am, fully inclusive in the room rate.

This hotel feels like the height of luxury. At roughly 375 Australian dollars a night, it was superb value.

Room Tip: Try and ensure you have a Placa Reial view- its beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    52
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
53
307
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a wonderful three night stay in this beautiful hotel. I can only echo what the other reviewers have said. We had an incredible experience from the very beginning. We received a very warm welcome and were immediately offered a welcome drink and a comprehensive booklet about the hotel and its services, even containing visiting cards with my name printed on them. Our room was beautiful and so comfortable. The free minibar and complementary bowl of fruit each evening were just two of the thoughful touches as was the umbrella left incase it was needed. Our room was serviced twice a day and towels replaced, etc. There was some noise from the square late into the night but this was before a public holiday so not typical. The sauna/steam room area with exclusive use for one room at a time was very welcome after a day's sightseeing. The breakfasts were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious with again lovely unusual touches. Above all, the staff were outstanding. They were so pleasant, helpful and efficient from locating a restaurant which I had booked on the internet, providing an adapter and checking train times on a public holiday. We had a really lovely short break but the absolute highlight was our wonderful hotel in a superb location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Perfectly located on placa redial, a lovely square dedicated to terrace dining. Just off la rambla and 5 minute walk to the cathedral. This small boutique hotel (18 rooms) has a fabulous restaurant la cuina, the tasting menu was heavenly, all the dishes interesting and cooked to perfection. I would recommend coffee on the terrace after, to sit and take in the atmosphere. Hotel staff were wonderful, hotel wonderfully clean and tidy. Each afternoon the arrival of a fruit bowl and replenished mini bar (complimentary soft drinks). Our weekend stay was relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable. I can not praise this hotel enough. I am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in early September 2012 for 3 nights. It is a beautiful boutique hotel with less than 20 rooms which means the attention to detail and quality of customer service is extremely high. The front desk staff were always willing to assist with any of our needs including some excellent recommendations for restaurants with a local bias. The hotel has been operating for less than 12 months so is very new with a wonderful design. They had a free mini-bar, which is almost unheard of today, with a good range of non alcoholic beverages which came in handy after a long day touring around Barcelona. On Placa Reial the location is good, however, we would have preferred somewhere a little further away from La Rambla which is full of tourists, in saying this it is in walking distance to all the main attractions such as the Placa de Catalunya, the gothic quarter and Marina Port Vell. They have a lovely terrace with a pool which over looks the Placa Reial and is a nice place to relax and enjoy a drink in the evening.

The food was fantastic, we enjoyed the breakfast each morning where we could order anything off the breakfast menu. We also enjoyed a dinner their one evening and had the degustation with matching wines (and beer) from the local region. Like all staff at the hotel, the waiters in the restaurant were highly knowledgeable about the local food and wines and were very friendly.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and it was one of our favourites in our 2 week stay in Spain, if we returned to Barcelona we would definitely be stopping here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The most amazing hotel ever - small, designed but still warm amd lovely. Best location in Barcelona. The only minus is the WIFI that needs to be reconnected all the time. Besides that - superb. The breakfast is A LA CARTE and is also at the same spirit of the hotel - excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This has to be one of the best hotels in Spain. From beginning to end, we could not fault the service, the quality, the atmosphere, the style, the food and the staff. A perfect 5 star boutique hotel with that extra touch that made our holiday become something very special.

Our room looked out over the square and provided an endless delight to watch the square come to life every morning and buzz with people until late at night. Then all we had to do was close the superbly fitting doors of our balcony to have complete peace and quiet for sleeping in the luxurious bed.

The food was fabulous: casual, well priced tapas style meals on the square with wine recommendations from the friendly Javier - thank you! A stunning degustation meal in the downstairs restaurant (the service was like watching a perfectly choreographed ballet) and the lovely breakfasts each morning.

If you are thinking of anywhere in Barcelona, we are absolutely convinced that you will not do better. This place will be No. 1 very very soon and most certainly deserves to be. Thank you to all the staff and the owners for creating this very special place and your attention to getting it all so right.

Room Tip: We loved our Room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A wonderful experience, from A to Z! The DO Hotel is perfectly located on the very Placa Reial and even though I expected some noise in our 3rd floor room as the square below stays very lively late into the night, once closed, the window kept all the buzz away. The room itself was heavenly! Very elegant, very comfortable, simply faultless down to the minutest details. I've been at posh hotels with sloppy service, and also at places where the personnel is very courteous to compensate for the modest surroundings. At the DO, however, everything is impeccable! From the embroidered monograms on the fine linen to the cheerful, helpful and well-mannered staff, everything spells class. Our special thanks to Galin for being so kind and attentive!
We enjoyed ourselves so much that we already look forward to a spring weekend at the beautiful DO

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#2 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#12 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,146 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#7 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.