We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience- heating malfunctions and noise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of A in B Gothic-Cathedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added A in B Gothic-Cathedral to your Saves list
A in B Gothic-Cathedral
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Jaume I, No. 13, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad Experience- heating malfunctions and noise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a bad experience: the air conditioned didn't work properly when there were 6 degrees outside and the windows sound isolation were very poor: every noise from the outside would be heard inside which meant that one wakes up several times during the night.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 via mobile

Cleaning is only once every 2 days.
The Service is not like in a hotel, but the price is.
In the cleaning day, I came back at 6pm, and they still didn't clean my room.
The apartment can be like every where in the area, and not where the check in.
The price is way too much for this type of place. Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Great location in the centre of gothic barrio ,Wifi, comfortable beds, air con. Apartments not at given address but a nice fellow took us to the apartment. Negatives- no iron or watching machine TV remote without batteries. Noisy awaken by garbage collectors and late party goers

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

This apartment is very well situated, within walking distance of the famous Rambla, the Cathedral, the Plaça Reial, etc. Our apartment was situated on the Career d'Ahaülf which was a better place to stay because it is situated on a more silent street than the one situated directly on Calle Jaume (the reception) because of his location (directly on a Noisy street). Our apartment was recently renovated and it was perfect. The person who welcomed us at the reception desk, named Sylvia, is a very nice woman who helped us so much in any way possible i.e. buying tickets, informing us on places to visit, etc... She was always there for us and we would like to thank her again for everything she has done for us. She is a very good person. Very nice place to stay while in Barcelona. Also, Sylvia also recommended us the apartments situated in Eixample Sagrada Familia which were also recently renovated.

Room Tip: All apartments on this strret were all quiet and well air conditioned. Apartments on Calle Jaume 13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gjovik, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Very good location in the Gothic area. We got a huge 2 bedrooms in the topfloor with a balcony.

Positiv:
Location in the gothic area
Several cafes, shops in the surrounding area.
Very good working aircondition
Good bed
Felt very secure. The maindoor had a code to get in, and there was a man at the building all night.

Negativ:
NONE hooks or anything for jackets and clothes. Not even in the bathroom.
No blankets if you're cold in the night (had to turn off the AC)
No wineopener
There was a dishwasher, but not in function. When we then should do the dishes there was no dishwasherbrush.
I read a rewiew from july that they were putting in mirrors in all the apartment. But there was none in ours attick room.
The cleaning was'nt very good as well. We found cheerios under the table and used towels were left behind on the sunbeds on the balcony.

So all in all small things that is easy to fix, and would have made this rewiew a 4 star. But because of these minor details I can only give this 3.
But all in all i very nice place, and would maybe consider it again some other stay.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location! The Gothic Quarter has so much to offer and this hotel is right in the heart of it! We found the staff helpful and the apartment was clean, and comfortable to stay in.
My only issue was that our TV had a mind of it's own and would turn itself on in the middle of the night, but other than that no problems.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Safe building, very well situated for exploring the gothic old town, many sights in walking distance. And of course many good restaurants around as well. Signing in procedures worked very well, recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A in B Gothic-Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A in B Gothic-Cathedral

Address: Calle Jaume I, No. 13, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A in B Gothic-Cathedral 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments located in a beautifully renovated building located on a pedestrian street in the historic old city, next to City Hall, behind the Cathedral and minutes from Las Ramblas. They are all external and with balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your A in B Gothic-Cathedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A In B Gothic-Cathedral Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A in B Gothic-Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.