We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a student holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona to your Saves list
Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona
C/ Vigatans 5, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a student holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends and it was exactly what we were looking for - cheap and perfect location. We were located so close to everything, with the meeting point for many tours and 2 metro stops just across the street. Considering we only paid about 10,11 euro for the night, I was really impressed. A locker (though you'll need to get a lock for it) and a plug beside every bed which was amazing! Warm showers and breakfast included - it's just some cereal (with hot milk only!), toast, fruit and breakfast. Coffee is terrible but once again considering the price it's still a good deal :) also you have to pay for an extra sheet (you're only provided with a mattress cover) and a towel (each of these are 2 euro). Staff are amazing! Always so friendly and helpful, recommended some great restaurants to us and always helped us with directions or queries. I can't praise them enough. Even though it wasn't perfect, I'm giving it 5 stars because although you don't have a lot of privacy (sleeping very close to other beds, which is fine if it's a friend) though we ended up having the room to ourselves for 2 nights, at the end of a day you're staying in a cheap as chips hostel in the centre of a popular city so you can't ask for more than what you get! Would definitely recommend and visit again :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    44
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
2
4
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Well, breakfast was good -toast, juice, cereals, and more, only bad thing - warm/hot milk, but it is not so important. Beds and showers were good, clean, friendly people who works there. But no blanket for free, you have to pay 2 euros only for the whole stay so it is ok as well. A would say, if you are staying in Barcelona only for couple of days and are ok to sleep with couple more people in one room, than it is a great place where to stay.

Room Tip: if you want to sleep than better choose smaller rooms with less people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Met our needs as we wanted cheap and cheerful accomadation. The staff were very friendly and accomadating. Great breakfast choice and enough to keep you ticking over until. Central location and easy to get to and from the airport. The only downside would be that the rooms were shared out poorly, old men being able to see young girls sleep isnt ideal. Overall, fine for student holidays!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The location is great and there's free breakfast BUT....

We checked in and were shown to our beds, which were on the top "bunk" - which was really a shelf built onto the wall. This part was fine, until we went to climb up and realized that not only had they crammed two mattresses into the space where every other person only had one bed, but there was clothes, trash and crumbs in the bed leftover from the person before!! The receptionist was embarrassed and hurriedly tried to clean up our beds. My friend and I were traveling together, so sharing the bed space was fine for us, but had it been some stranger crawling in I would've not been comfortable at all. They only give you one sheet as well.

Also, there were people having sex in a bed below us for the majority of the night but that's the people staying there and not the hostel's fault - although you can buy condoms from a vending machine in the hallway!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Equity point is located in the best part of town in terms of sight seeing. Not only is it in the gothic quarter right next to the picasso museum and santa maria del mar, it is 10 minutes from the beach, 10 mins from las ramblas and you will hardly need to take the metro anywhere! The location is honestly second to none and if you're looking to explore Barcelona at ease, this is your place.

Although i'm not a pessimistic person i must agree with prior reviews that it is very difficult to sleep here, but when sharing a room with many people you should probably expect a certain amount of noise anyway. The only other complaint i can make is that the rooms are SOO dark. You could wake up at 3pm and assume it's still the middle of the night because the rooms just have no natural light whatsoever.

Equity point gothic do organise some fantastic free walking tours and i would take advantage of these as they are very informative and save you a lot of hassle. Particularly the Gaudi tour! It's hard to miss the essence of Barcelona in this hostel as they give you so much info on what's available.

In terms of eating there are loads of places to eat (head towards santa maria for the best ones) I would like to recommend one called "cheese me" which is on the pavillion near to santa maria del mar, who do a 3 course meal for £15. get the burger, it's absolutely delicious!

Another good place to eat is the 1 euro tapas place. Ask at reception they should know where it is.

To conclude, the hostel is in the ideal location, considering this and the price, the small pitfalls are bearable.

Room Tip: you should ask from a room by the window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Equity Point Gothic is an excellent choice for travelers on a budget. The location is fantastic (only 10 or so minutes from the cathedral, beach, and las ramblas), and it's super easy to find. The workers were friendly and very helpful. There were bunches of maps, guides, and books that gave us a good idea of what the city had to offer. As far as the rooms go, I had a top bunk in one of the larger rooms of 16 or so...climbing up and down was a bit of a challenge with all of my stuff. Nonetheless, the mattress was comfortable and I appreciated the curtains. The floor did squeak a bit, so I would recommend bringing some ear plugs or listening to some music to fall asleep to. There were enough bathrooms and showers (both of which were very clean), and the breakfast was fantastic. Overall, I would definitely stay here again, but only if I had a bottom bunk!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my second time staying here - the first was in 2009 when I was backpacking solo around Europe, and enjoying the party life. This trip was with my wife to show her Barcelona, so I booked three nights here, recalling my previous stay.

Firstly, it's conveniently located off the metro, and a short walk to the old gothic town and the beach. A great base of operations, with a very friendly staff.

The facilities are good too - a big common room, plenty of showers/bathroom space, and you have more privacy in the upper bunks than most other hostels. Plus if you're a couple, they give you a double-wide bunk instead of having to sleep separately, or in a single bed.

The downside: As other have mentioned, you won't sleep. The rooms are noisy, the floor boards always creak - especially in the upper bunks - and people will be turning on and off lights at all hours, waking you up. It's mainly for young partyers, who come back at 4-5am, and then crash. Either drunk or exhausted enough to sleep through anything.

The place has good service and free wifi in the lobby, as well as a free breakfast. Very basic, but you can't beat free at a hostel.

We ended up staying one night during which we got back at 1am to groups drinking and talking loudly in our room, who then left leaving their bunk lights on. After not sleeping at all, despite an eye mask, earplugs, and even listening to my iPod, we gave up and I booked us into a hotel (see AC Sants review).

Despite my experience - I must be getting old - it's still a place I highly recommend for backpackers!

Room Tip: If you're a couple, send an email requesting a large bunk so that you get a double bed. Upper b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona

Address: C/ Vigatans 5, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point Gothic Hotel Barcelona
Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.