We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location! Easily accessible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Condestable

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Condestable to your Saves list
Hotel Condestable
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronda Universidad 1, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #366 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location! Easily accessible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Returned from Barcelona just a few days ago! Condestable is a 20-30 minute drive from the airport! Driver helped us to identify our stop! On arrival the hotel is in the best location connected to las ramblas.
The room was clean perfect size. Bathroom looked new, again very clean, room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels. Excellent value for money! Only negative... The bed... It was like sleeping on concrete!! Other than that perfect for a 3 night city break!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    135
    93
    27
    18
See reviews for
58
89
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WESTFORD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our five night stay at the hotel. It was centrally located for our daily site seeing excursions. Rooms were good size with a comfortable king size bed and a small balcony overlooking the outdoor courtyard. Daily service in the room was very good. The only negatives were the incremental charges to listen to music on the TV. I was charged 18 Euro for an hour & half of music. And, 31.50 Euro to launder a couple of pair of underware and a couple of socks. You get free WIFI if you have a smart phone or tablet but not if you use their in house PC. I had to use my credit card @ 0.20 Euro per minute with a minimum 10 minutes required.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the courtyard on the second floor or higher. Quieter with no street level no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ok for a few days break & not too far from the metro. Paid 90 Euro's for 3 nights so not bad. No tea & coffee making facilities in the room plus the walls are paper thin which means you hear everything your neighbour are doing! Nothing glamorous but did the job.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

this is the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel. Good central location near toCatalunya square and Ramblas. The restaurant has had a thorough revamp since my last visit and although breakfast is basic ,it is adequate. The staff are very helpful and always available to help. Loved the size of the bath towels!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went to barcelona with our 13year old grandson as it was a birthday treat for him as he wanted to visit sagrada familia .The hotel very good value clean and very well located .This was our first trip to this city it was fantastic as our grandson is into architecture this was excellent for him as the city and outskirts were amazing with some of the best buildings we have seen and the history is amazing to,we would definitely go again and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights in Barcelona. we were a groups of 7 ladies and had the triple and quadruple rooms on the 3rd floor
The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were basic but clean and perfect for purpose.
The location of hotel was excellent - perfect for the Aerobus and the city tour buses and near La Ramblas
Yes the walls are thin but can't complain as the only noise we did hear was our friends in the room next door. The beds were comfortable and the shower was powerful
The hotel has lockers for luggage which were 2euros
Breakfast was a selection of cheese,meat, cakes, bread and croissant. Again basic but enough to start the day off
Wifi was weak above the 2nd floor but we weren't in Barcelona to look at emails.

In summary cheap and cheerful, basic but location superb

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was the first time that I have been to Barcelona and booked this hotel based on its low price and a recommendation from a friend. The hotel is fantastically located to the central square, tourist bus routes, local amenities plus the buzzling Las Ramblas. The hotel itself was very clean, welcoming reception staff and our room was cleaned on a daily basis. The bedrooms and breakfast were basic, but that was expected with the price paid. Our room had two balconies to sit out on, and although situated on a main road with two bars below, noise was not an issue at all. Would definitely recommend to others who are visiting Barcelona on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Condestable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condestable

Address: Ronda Universidad 1, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Condestable 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Condestable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condestable Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Condestable Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Condestable, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.