We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok motel for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Condestable

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Condestable to your Saves list
Hotel Condestable
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronda Universidad 1, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #366 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    135
    93
    27
    18
See reviews for
58
89
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We like Barcelona. Our favorite city in Europe. Architecture, coffe!.
We will be back. Thank you.

what is wrong. i cannot submit this page.?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stay one nite, room was comfortable, clean, bathroom was spacious and clean. One elevator fit 4 peolpe only and take forever, so think stairs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and two sons (ages 14 and 13) stayed at this hotel for two nights prior to a cruise. The quadruple room was bare as expected. What we didn't expect were: 1) the A/C wouldn't work properly -- manually placed it on "cool" then it automatically goes to "heat"; the receptionist said that we weren't the first guests to complain but couldn't offer a solution; 2) wi-fi in the room was weak and practically non-existent, I had to go to an internet cafe around the corner to get a decent connection; 3) we could hear the water running through the shower or toilet from the room a floor above ours. As for the good point, when I realized that I had left a shopping bag with a pair of new shoes in the room when we checked out, I emailed the hotel and they were honest enough to reply that they kept it. I got it back when we returned to Barcelona from our cruise. Thankfully, we didn't book our post cruise stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel in April. It was ideal for a short city break - excellent location right next to a tube station and walking distance to the old town. The Aerobus drops you about 50m from the front door in Plaça de la Universitat, and you can pick it up for the return journey to the airport by walking 5 minutes to Plaça de Catalunya.

The bedroom and bathroom room were basic but clean. The beds were sufficiently comfortable after a long day's sightseeing. The tile-floored room had clearly been refurbished in the last year or two. There was a small TV, good lighting, an air conditioner that we did not need, and a small balcony.

In the bathroom, we found plenty of hot water and decent water pressure. A couple of hooks would have been most useful.

As many previous reviewers point out, there is a high level of ambient noise from both the traffic outside and the other residents within. We wore cotton wool earplugs to great effect.

The self-service breakfast buffet included in the tariff was plentiful but basic in quality. One can either eat it and not complain of its modest aspirations, or breakfast elsewhere.

Staff were helpful at all times.

The Hotel Condestable is not a place to linger, but it's an ideally located facility in which to sleep and wash.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We read a fair few reviews before booking this hotel, and decided to book based on a review below which said 'great if you don't moan every 5 minutes!'. This couldn't be more true. It always surprises me that people expect 5* hotels when they are clearly - and honestly - advertised as less! I don't go to Mc Donalds for rump steak and champagne. This is a 2* hotel and for your money, you get a 2* hotel. We were expecting something clean and basic and were actually overwhelmed by the quality of room we got. We had a lovely corner room with balconies overlooking the plaza and the street. The bed linen was clean, crisp and changed daily. The bathroom was big, clean and modern. The staff went out of their way to help us settle in Barcelona and were quick to help us find nice restaurants and bars. The breakfast was colossal, bearing in mind the price we paid. I was thrilled with the quality. We weren't blessed with good weather during our stay so we didn't need to open the windows at night, however, if we had, we would have expected traffic noise bearing in mind that the hotel sits on a road which leads to the Placa de Catalunya - one of the busiest intersections in the city. Staying in the centre of European cities usually is quite noisy - that's the nature of city living. You can't have your cake and eat it, if you want to be near the big attractions in Barcelona!

So, in a nutshell, it's the the same story as in most in busy European cities: if you don't want to spend a fortune, you are happy to stay amongst the hustle and bustle near all the major attractions, in somewhere basic and clean - this hotel is perfect. If you want a silent night's sleep and full cooked breakfast every morning, then it's perhaps best to pay a bit more and stay outside the city centre.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I've recently had to stay in Hotel Condestable for three nights, so had time to experience their service enough.

Location is certainly excellent, something to value. However, the price was certainly very high to the quality of the room. Very very small the one-bed room, There wasn't even space to fit my small suitcase on the floor!

It did have breakfast, with toasts, juice, some fruit, coffee and ham&chesse. Nothing espectacular.

The clean issue. The wall had boogers! the toilet had urine spits on it and the worktop in the toilet was sticky and never cleaned!I could not believe that!

Furthermore, my room had a very strange smell, which they told me it was due to a problem they had that they. The smell didn't leave during my stay and it smelled like a kitchen. I couldn't even open the window, which connected to a small inside counteryard with no natural light.

definitively I'm not thinking in coming back there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Condestable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condestable

Address: Ronda Universidad 1, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Condestable 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Condestable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condestable Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Condestable Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Condestable, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.