We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and not very nice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlit

Save Saved
You added Hotel Carlit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlit
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Diputacion 383, 08013 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noisy and not very nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very thin walls, lots of noises from other rooms. Bathroom very poor, water stands in the sink, doors are not closing properly. There is a playground right behind the hotel so during a weekend screaming kids woke us up quite early. Not again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
47
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed at Hotel Carlit with my group. We were spending a couple of days in Barcelona prior to going on a cruise. This hotel is in the best location for my group-we were able to walk to everything that we wanted to visit. A couple of people in my group use supplemental oxygen which makes walking any great distance a challenge. The hotel was clean, basic and had a nice breakfast. The staff was quite helpful as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A brilliant hotel, which was very clean, in the perfect location. You are a 15 minute walk from Sagrada Familia and a 2 minute walk from a metro station, which connects you to the remaining sites of the city. It is a beautiful walk from the hotel to La Ramblas, about 30 minutes away. The room was spacious enough for us and had all the amenities you would need. The hotel staff were helpful and very friendly. We didn't get breakfast at the hotel, as it was a little expensive (9 Euros). However, there is a range of excellent bakeries selling lovely croissants only a few minutes walk away (towards the Sagrada Familia). Perfect hotel for a couple exploring the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The rooftop bar was a big attraction as a solo traveller. They don't have it now. On my first stay I was at the back. Room was good, clean and comfortable. It was quiet and overall very good. Breakfast was excellent. It's well located, nice authentic restaurant across the road. The only issue was reception running at 11pm to ask me to keep the noise down, I was jet lagged, on my own and asleep. They should have checked which room it was before ringing.
Second stay I'm next to the light well. I might as well have slept at the airport. The configuration means light comes in the bathroom window all night and is disturbing. But the worst part, the noise from 6 floors travels up and down the light well. I've had a terrible night. Feels like every time I got to sleep someone was yelling. For what I paid, I expect better.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just returned home from a 3 night break in Barcelona. I choose Hotel Carlit because of the boutique style and distance (15 mins walk) to the Ramblas and it was perfect. Front desk extremely helpful and welcoming to us. It's definitely worth paying a little extra for a superior room, which comes with a spacious bathroom and balcony. The A/C unit was very noisy at night but we didn't hear other noise like other reviewers have said. Only disappointment was that the rooftop bar wasn't open, which wasn't stated on the website.
Definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I never left a review, but I think the previous reviews wasn't clear.
Location is ok.
Front desk wonderful.
Clean.... Let say that the reason of paint walls inside shower black is probably to hide how dirt it must be. Stay 3 days and NOT once they clean the bathroom, not toilet or floor. The towels was never changed and it is a little bit bigger than a hand towel.
The noise it was horrible, you can hear everything outside and inside the room next door had a baby and we could hear as clear as it was in our room.
We made reservation for 3 adults the 3rd bed was a joke impossible to sleep on it, not good even for a small 5 years old child.
I would never recommend it to anyone in the contrary I am sure anyone can get something better for the same price.
T

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights with my wife. Great location, like 5 blocks from Paseo de Gracia, 3 blocks froms Sagrada Familia, Metro station 2 blocks away.
Small hotel, small rooms but very cozy. Our room had a little balcony on the 6 floor, with a great view of the street. The staff was great, really friendly and help us a lot with advice of places to visit, how to get there, places to eat and how to get around the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Carlit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlit

Address: C/ Diputacion 383, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carlit 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Barcelona's Eixample district, the Hotel Carlit hotel offers modern facilities in a beautiful Barcelona-style building. The hotel is ideally located for you to discover the city. Hotel Carlit is an easy 500-meter walk to the Sagrada Familia cathedral. Public transportation is easy from the hotel, which is close to the metro, Arc de Triomf train station, urban bus lines. All rooms offer air-conditioning/heating and amenities to ensure your comfortable stay, including cable TV, electronic safes, free wireless Internet access in all common areas (free cable Internet access in rooms), and elegantly designed bathrooms decorated with marble. Guests are invited to enjoy our generous and tasty breakfast buffet, served in the hotel's cafe-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Carlit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Carlit Barcelona
Hesperia Carlit Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Carlit Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.