We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Birthday Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Duquesa de Cardona to your Saves list
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We originally tried to go to this hotel a year ago after seeing the details on the Alastair Sawday website, but had our flights cancelled because of the snow. Very kindly, the hotel agreed not to charge us because it was beyond our control and I explained that we would definitely come again... and I'm very glad we did! What a wonderful hotel.. large rooms, great location, fabulous service, delicious breakfast and a complimentary bottle of cava for my birthday. Thanks for making it a perfect few days!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    276
    48
    17
    14
See reviews for
179
431
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Solid 4-star hotel near the beach and Las Ramblas. Rooms were well kept. Fair prices. Right on the edge of the Gothic District and a few blocks away from Las Ramblas and all of that street's debauchery. Wireless internet in the hotel worked, which was great since many hotels we stayed at had broken Wi-Fi connections.

Rooftop terrace supposedly had a bar and a tapas menu, but no one was manning it during the two or three times we tried to go. A bit disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked this hotel, after seeing it online and since they had a good deal going on, and we had read the reviews here on tripadvisor, we decided to give it a try.
And I'm really happy we did. First of all the (e-mail) contract that we had with the hotel was very nice and they were so friendly and helpful. Thank you Joselyn, Marta, Ivan and the rest of the staff.
The rooms are nice and the hotel has got a great rooftop terrace (with a small pool) and a stunning view over the harbour area.
It location is perfect for exploring the city. With two subway/metro stations nearby: Jaume I and Drassanes.

If you are arriving by plane an easy way to get here is by taking the Aerobus (shuttle from the airport) this will take you to Catalunya and from here you can either walk down La Rambla, or take the L3 metro for two stops to Drassanes.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Depending on the season, if it's high season, you might want to consider having a room at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We just returned to spend a long weekend at the Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, having discovered this wonderful hotel several years ago. We got wonderful rooms, a great view over the harbour, and free breakfast, which was really wonderful with lots of Spanish treats such as jamón, lomo and local cheeses. We have recommended this hotel to several friends, as we love the location, rooms and the friendly service. We will definitely return!

We had to make last-minute changes in our dates, and the front desk staff was very accomodating and helpful, so we recommend this hotel for discerning world travelers who like the cozy and luxurious atmosphere, in a fabulous location.

Room Tip: Rooms 21 (Junior Suite) and 23 on the second floor are great, overlooking Passeig de Colom and the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here in January and was very impressed with the rooms, the service and the location. From the moment I made my reservation in December (wrongly) and then called the hotel to fix my online error, they could not have been more helpful or friendly. Massive apologies that my room wasn't ready when I arrived (even though it was before 12 on a Sunday morning and check in wasn't till 3). The room was quiet, clean and very nicely appointed. Great to have a plug point by the bed, so I could recharge my phone over night (pet peeve in a lot of hotels, you need to unplug a light or charge your phone on the other side of the room!), Free wifi was a nice bonus. Roof terrace looked fab but not really the right time of year to appreciate it fully, although the pool was tiny. Location was great for the beach, and site seeing. Would definitely return to this hotel if going back to barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I echo the other reviews and rate this hotel highly, for comfort, service, location, breakfasts, room and view. It is also very central for the harbour, the main sightseeing areas, cosy restaurants, tapas bars and shops. Barcelona is a wonderful city with so much to see that you do need more than three days, we will just have to go back! People are very friendly there too. The Casa Batllo and La Sagrada Familia are just two of the places which are well worth visiting, probably more than once, nothing else like them.

Room Tip: For a great view ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Absolutely first class in everything. Staff extremely helpful and go the extra mile in helping to arrange 'something special'. We had finsihed a short cruise and decided to extend our anniversay holiday by spending the week end at this hotel. Good decision. We asked for a room on a high floor and it was supberb. Hotel is centrally placed for everything including the harbour and La Rambla. Breakfast was extremely good with a huge choice and will cook eggs to order. Thank you to the hotel for our present in making the week end very special. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.