We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Save Saved
You added Hotel Duquesa de Cardona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 520 hotels in Barcelona
Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in November.
The hotel is excellent: welcome drink, friendly service, roof terrace with great view on the port and superb location with the Rambla and attractions within walking distance.
One drawback: the breakfast room is too small when the hotel is full; when we came down at 8h45 we had to wait for 5 minutes before we could enter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    230
    38
    17
    13
See reviews for
129
347
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is strategically located. A lot of attractions are within walking distance. Service was good and the staff were very helpful. We like the Terrance too - a good place to have a sunbath, while waiting for the time to the train station after checking out. (a small story to share: there is a bar but there were no staff in the Terrence. I saw some guest climbed into the bar and "self service" for drinks!)

The only thing about this hotel is that room was small. We stayed in a standard room. The room can barely fit in a double bed, and basic furniture, with not much room to put our luggage. There was also no view.

Overall I think it's value for money, for it's location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights on business. It is in a great location by the port. Very quiet and relaxing. Lots of nice restaurants nearby in th streets behind. Restaurants in the port are too expensive.
Very nice breakfast. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I had a superb stay here in a deluxe room on the 5th floor with a panoramic view overlooking the port. This was a good choice as the 5th floor rooms were high enough to have an uninterrupted view over the trees bordering the Passeig de Colom below. The bed was extremely comfortable and any disturbance by traffic noise was eliminated by keeping the two sets of doors to the balcony closed. The aircon was also very effective and not too noisy. The bathroom was clean and quite spacious. The hospitality tray was a good addition as was the free buffet breakfast in the old stables on the ground floor. We particularly liked the ham, chorizo sausage, goats cheese and the seeded bread - delicious! The hot breakfast such as bacon, sausage and beans was unfortunately rather bland but that's just a minor criticism. The coffee was extremely good.
We thoroughly enjoyed using the roof terrace taking in the views over the marina. The rooftop bar serves excellent cocktails.
The location of this hotel was just right for us with the old 'Barri Gothic' part of the town immediately behind, and pleasant walks around the port, marina and to the old fishermens enclave of Barceloneta within easy walking distance.
We so much enjoyed our stay that we have vowed to return here for longer next year.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 5th floor overlooking the port with uninterrupted views above the trees below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in late October as we knew it had a great location, just opposite the Marina. We had room 30, which as others mentioned does have it's view obstructed by trees and is on the very busy road, but the 2 x double glazing stops the noise completely, though you do have to rely on the air conditioning which can be slightly noisy during the night. We also had the minibar suddenly making odd noises during the night on 2 occasions. We stayed 7 nights.
However, the room was nice, the bed linen was the cleanest / newest I have ever experienced (and I travel a lot) and the bed very comfortable. The cleaning standards at this hotel was superb!
They also were very customer friendly and we got a free bottle of chilled Cava just after our arrival, plus daily we got free chocolates and weather forecasts! We also found the staff on reception very friendly and super - helpful. The only real complaint was the cost of breakfast which at 16.5 Euros is way too much for what you get, even though the breakfast room is the old stables and an amazing place to sit. But there are good bars just a few yards metres from the hotel offering breakfast for half this price, so would recommend you consider those.
But overall the experience at this Hotel was excellent and it's location is ideal for exploring the port and Gothic quarter of the city. We loved it!

Room Tip: Stay on fifth floor for better view of marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just come back from a five day stay at Duquesa de Cardona with friends. Had 2 superior rooms on the 3rd floor (30 & 32), which both were clean but had a few slight blemishes. As stated in other reviews the views from the room were restricted by trees. Room 32 which was ours had a safe which did'nt work. We did ask for it to be looked at but were unaware that we had to be in the room for it to be fixed, so it was never done. Our tea, coffee, sugar etc was not re stocked daily so we had to ask at reception twice for this. Room 30 the fridge was not cold. Apart from these minor little things all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We did'nt opt for breakfast to be included but we did have breakfast one morning and it was an excellent selection, good quality food, although a little pricey at 16€ each. A lovely roof terrace (tiny pool) with great views over the marina. All in all a lovely hotel and would highly recommend and would definitely return as the location was excellent.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night following a Mediterranean Cruise. It is only a 10 minute cab ride from the port and about a 25 minute cab ride to the airport. We booked a deluxe room overlooking the harbourfront. We were on the 3rd floor (#31) and although we had trees obstructing our view we were still very pleased with our room. Our room was very clean and roomy and we also enjoyed the breakfast the following morning which was included with our room. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to La Rambla and within walking distance of lots of places to eat. We were also able to walk to a location to do the Hop On/Hop Off Tour Bus which I would also recommend if you have limited time in Barcelona. However, we do wish we would have booked two nights in Barcelona as it is a beautiful city, lots to see and of course, we had a great place to stay. The reception desk was very friendly and helpful in coordinating the plans for our day. They were also able to keep our luggage for us, as our ship arrived early, and we knew our room would not be ready. After a day out touring, when we returned to the hotel, our luggage was already in our room. Our perfect day was topped off with a drink on the hotels rooftop terrace which was beautiful and had an amazing nighttime view of Barcelona.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Escapio, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.