We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HCC St. Moritz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added HCC St. Moritz to your Saves list
HCC St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diputacio 264, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Pleasant unpretentious hotel 10 mins walk from streets leading into the intriguing old town and a tad more to the top of La Rambla. Handy for the main Information Office and the start of the round-Barcelona hop-on hop-off buses on Catalunya square. Metro station three mins walk away at the end of the road. Breakfast fine but the coffee drinkers I was with complained it was never warm enough. Friendly and helpful front of house staff. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front on the fifth floor - no problem with noise since the road (for Barcelona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    144
    49
    12
    5
See reviews for
54
136
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

On arrival take the Airport bus (Return open ticket 12 Euros) for a 35 min journey direct to the central square in Barcelona. On arrival it is a five minute walk for two blocks to the hotel. No steps or hills involved in the walk. Hotel was very easily located.

We had no problems booking in. Paid 8 Euros to use the room safe for 3 nights. WiFi was free and effective. The first room allocated had twin beds. Having requested a double bed, I returned to the reception who transferred us to Room 514 immediately without any difficulties.

The room was clean and very tidy. The daily service was excellent. It should be noted that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Our room overlooked the street at the front of the premises, no street noise was heard. Guests in the neighbouring rooms could be overheard during quiet periods.

Breakfast was good with plenty of selection. A cooked breakfast can be provided on request at no additional charge. Breakfast time commences at 7am and concludes at 11am.

Would consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The main areas are very nice ,Marta on reception was a lovely smiley lady who was very welcoming and always friendly A+ (should keep this one as she was great).
Our room was 213 ,little smaller than usual but adequate .It felt a bit dated and dingey not really somewhere i would want to hang out for long in ,really do with a revamp ,just my opinion.
Also very stuffy and smelt stale ,aircon not working although warm for us at night and could not leave window open as too noisey (Take your ear plugs) as traffic /people noise is constant til early hours.
Shower was great ,bathroom was fine .
Daily maid service was very good with a nice lady who was very good and cleaned our room nicely thankyou.
Room service food was not great,limited choice and very basic.
If you have dietry requirements (my husband cannot eat wheat and few other things) either take your own or ask in advance .
They did try but cereal provided had chocolate in and upset him .
Overall the staff were nice and helpful ,beds clean .
I asked for an extra pillow and it arrived 10 minutes later ,great service.
Would we stay here again if visiting the city ,prob yes although a pool would have been nice.

Room Tip: I can only say that the rooms facing the road are really noisey and the "double " glazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

First major compliment, I booked a short business trip to Barca not realising the Mobile Conference was on. Hotels I have stayed in previously were charging, last Wednesday, 300 to 400 Euros for room ordinarily around 100 Euros. 200 Euro rooms for 700 Euros everywhere. Absolute pillage and on principle I nearly cancelled my trip.

Luckily this hotel seemed to be the only one charging a more normal price at 150 Euros for room only. Enormous credit to them for that.

Location is very good, just off Passeig de Gracia (100 metres from the intersection) and has a pretty good tapas place opposite.

Reception is large and welcome was efficient and friendly.

Rooms are quite sober in design, rather "brown" but far from offensive and the quality of the room was very good. Room quiet and bed comfortable.

Everything I would want from a hotel and again I was enormously impressed by their pricing.

Would come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The location of his hotel is fantastic. In the very centre of Barcelona.
We didn't have any bad surprise at the checkout.

The reception staff was not equally helpful. Depending on the person we talked to, the services provided were not the same.

Not a very good sleep quality:
- The noises from the other rooms were really loud (TV, steps, doors, voices, teeth brushing,...).
- The mattresses were too hard.

There is no fitness.

Overall, the price was worth the value but no more. I will try to get a better deal if I come back to Barcelona one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is recently refurbished and everything seems new and is in perfect shape. Bathrooms are big and have a nice walk-in shower. Rooms are a bit small but provide sufficient comfort. Wifi is free, breakfast offer ok. Location perfect for both business and travel.

Room Tip: Ask for queen size bed and quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is really good. It is 2 blocks from the passeig de gracia train station which is direct from the airport and less than €1 per trip. Purchase a 10T ticket for under 10€ which is transferable between adults and can be used on the metro too as well as the funicular which doesn't cost any more if arriving by metro. 100m to the west of the hotel is La Ramblas although most of the entertainment is at the bottom end of the street near the port.
250m to the main metro interchange and under 1km to the main port area which is a good stroll through the very wide streets with café pavements, etc.

A very good 4* business hotel with staff that are very helpful and have a very good English language skills.

Room (509) is a very good size with a large comfortable double bed, large double wardrobe, and table and 2 arm chairs, fridge/mini bar, 3 piece en-suite with low bath and shower over bath, lots of hot water and good shower pressure and provision of 'usual' toiletries. Only gripe is the hotel has no disabled rooms with any walk in showers which for anyone with a bad back might not be ideal even with a low bath threshold.

Breakfast provides a very wide choice of cereal, fresh fruit, cakes, cheese and ham, breads, coffee, tea and choice of yoghurts, etc with cooked choice available on request.

For tourists the breakfast is served until 11:00 so great for a lay-in and no risk of missing out as always re-stocked in our experience.

As a typical business class hotel the meals and drinks come at a premium but then there are lots of tapas bars and restaurants within a 15/20 min stroll of the hotel. particularly in Place Reial. that is a longer stroll or 1 stop on the metro.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HCC St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC St. Moritz

Address: Diputacio 264, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#147 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HCC St. Moritz 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic listed building of artistic and historical interest was built in 1883 and began operating as a hotel in 1990. It is located just off Paseo de Gracia, one of the city's main thoroughfares. Completely renovated in 2010, it offers clients the ultimate in comfort and relaxation, promised by the ideal combination of a classical building -typical of stately Barcelona- and all the modern amenities one would expect to find in a 21st-century hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your HCC St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HCC St. Moritz Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HCC St. Moritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.