We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, free wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HCC Montblanc

Save Saved
You added HCC Montblanc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
HCC Montblanc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 61, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Surabaya-Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff, free wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed there for 5 days, had no problems at all, nice location. close access to 2 Metro station. walking distance to many restaurants, hard rock cafe, la rambles, and a bit walk to major shooping mall at passage de gracia. Plaza de musica is just right across the street. Basically all those busy activities were located behind the hotel. So the hotel although good location in big street and easy access but not noisy.

The rooms are a bit old, it's economical not fancy but can provide us with good sleep. It is clean. The staff were really friendly and ready to help us out. Bathroom size is decent, shower works ok. No toothbrush but you can ask for it. They have really small swimming pool. a size of spa. They provide Free Wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    279
    98
    19
    14
See reviews for
82
180
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in August 2013 and had a great time. Hotel rooms are exceptionally clean, check in was easy, staff are really friendly and helpful. We asked where to go for dinner every night and they gave us the details of fabulous places. Plenty of choice at breakfast! The location was good - 5 minute walk to Ramblas and Gothic Cathedral. The metro is also right at the top of the road, a bank and 2 supermarkets across the road. The only thing about the location is that it is on a busy main road which could be fairly noisy at night if you're on the front and you are sometimes bombarded with people as you walk out of the door. The only downsides to the hotel, were the pool which was very small, the soft drinks at the bar and in the minibar are crazily expensive 4 euros for a 200ml coke and the breakfast. Although there was plenty of choice at breakfast, the quality of food was not great, however we were only paying a euro each a day so it's not a massive complaint! Would recommend this hotel to a friend and would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, just one block from Placa Catalunya and at the edge of the old town. There are also some really nice restaurant close to the hotel, such as Babia and Bun Bo (both on the Carrer dels Sagristans). We got a room facing the street which is pretty busy and the sound proofing of the window was not top notch. The room was a bit dated, but clean. There was a safe in our room, but you have to pay extra if you want to use it. The pool in the courtyard was nice after a sweaty day in the streets of the city, but even smaller than what the pictures let on. The breakfast spread is pretty good for southern Europe, but on a more general level I'd call it below average. All in all, location was our top priority for this trip and as far as that goes we were very happy with our choice of accommodation and that outweighed the other shortcomings of this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The rooms were economical and nothing fancy. But the location was RIGHT by the Barri Gothic. The staff was very helpful in the front. A 5 minute walk to the ramblas and the Gothic Cathedral. 15 minute walk to the beach and barcelonoeta. Great location! I certainly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in July had a great time. Hotel very clean. If you want to just relax for awhile the pool area is great. Pool quite small but it's fine. Nice barstaff. Didn't eat at hotel so can't say anything about the food. The location is good too, very near to everything. Can walk to the beach in about 15 mins or just get the metro. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Heights, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here one night before cruise and after cruise. The hotel was very clean, the staff was very kind and professional. The bartender was great he made me a Sangria drink took the time to clean and cut my fruit up in front of me. The Location is super right in the middle of everything. Recommend to everyone and will stay again..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days (3 Nights) last weekend with my friend - we were meeting up with my Son and some friends to celebrate his 30th.

Neither of us had stayed in Barcelona before and we were a bit wary hearing all sorts of horror stories about muggings and pick pockets.

Have to say

1) We were so happy with the hotel, it is place brilliantly for getting around to all the main attactions in Barcelona and for a 3 star it is very good, clean and the pool? Thanks goodness for the pool to cool off in after hot days sightseeing or on the beach.

2) We absolutely love Barcelona and will definitely return, maybe on a girly holiday with a group next time.

3) Already missing our favourite bar in Catalunya Square, Cafe Zurich, where we would watch the World go by and put it to rights after sinking enough Grande Cervezas!!!

4)Breakfast in the Hotel is fine, you can order cooked things too if you fancy them, although for some reason this was not allowed on a Monday morning!

5)The Receptionists were very helpful when we enquired about getting to place and helped us secure taxis etc.

All in all the for amount we paid this was a brilliant Hotel and we would recommend it.

Go see and you will understand!

Adios!

Room Tip: No balconies but room 401 had a good view of the pool area and was quiet for sleeping on a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HCC Montblanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC Montblanc

Address: Via Laietana 61, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HCC Montblanc 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HCC Montblanc is situated right in the heart of the city, just 500 metres from Plaza Catalunya and bordering the charismatic Gótico neighbourhood. The hotel's location makes it the best choice for soaking up the atmosphere and life of Barcelona, and for discovering or revisiting its most emblematic corners, such as the Palau de la Música, the Ramblas, the Cathedral, Plaza Catalunya, the neighbourhoods of the Born and Barceloneta, among many others. Hotel HCC Montblanc is a new building, and has recently been extended. The hotel makes a good choice for a stay that is full of contrasts and unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your HCC Montblanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HCC Montblanc Barcelona, Catalonia
Hcc Montblanc Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HCC Montblanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.