We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A large apartment near Sagrada Familia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Home Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Home Barcelona to your Saves list
Suite Home Barcelona
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida Gaudi, 28 | Avenida Gaudí, 28, 08025 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Hamilton, Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A large apartment near Sagrada Familia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My family (parents and adult daughter) stayed here for three days. We had an apartment with 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a large dining room and kitchen. Three rooms gave us fine views of the Sagrada Familia. The building is a solid older apartment building which is being renovated, so there were signs of painting and other work in halls and stairways. Our unit had been finished and everything was clean and new. The front desk operates only 9:30 to 6 on weekdays, which was fine for our arrival on a Friday. Otherwise you have to phone the receptionist and make arrangements. The receptionist was very helpful about local shops and restaurants. The area has a supermarket and many good shops and restaurants. We traveled easily all over the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suite H, Director de Recepción at Suite Home Barcelona, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for this good review! We really appreciate it, and we are happy to know that you had a good time here. The renovations on the building are already finished, so we'll be more than glad to welcome you here in your next trip to Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our family stayed here for 5 days in May 2013. We booked slightly late and so did not get an apartment with balcony nor with the "fantastic view" of the Sagrada but instead a 1st floor view of the side street, Avenida Gaudi. It was a three bed apartment, if I remember correctly known as E1.

As an apartment it was fine, compared to a hotel room it was excellent. Plenty of space, very comfortable beds, quietly efficient air conditioning (although we were not testing it in high summer), everything worked. Bathroom & second toilet room could have been bigger but this is a wish list rather than complaint. Kitchen might present more issues if you were actually going to be doing a lot of cooking but for us it was perfect.

All the technology worked - TV and wi-fi - no issues.

Avenida Gaudi is a very nice, tree lined, mostly pedestrianised street and a fine view. If you want to see Sagrada, stick your head out the window. No problems with noise despite it being a busy street with markets and cafes.

Local area has plenty of shops, restaurants and cafes and it proved to be a good base from which to travel around Barcelona. Nothing seemed a long way away. We used the metro most of the time with occasional cabs.

The only negative point I would raise is that there is nowhere for you to leave bags. Our return flight was in the evening on a Sunday and we wanted to leave the bags after checkout, go do something, and then return for bags and leave for airport. As the reception service is rather basic and is closed at weekends the only suggestion was to use a left-luggage locker at the train station (or something like that), which was silly. Nobody wants to waste hours of their limited time in Barcelona schlepping bags around town. There must be a way for them to deal with this because we can"t be the first with this problem.

Fortunately, our apartment was not booked for that night so we were able to pay 50 EUR extra to have the apartment for the whole day, which worked out well (apart from having to pay 50 EUR) but if it had not been available I think this baggage issue would have taken the edge off our last day in Barcelona.

Otherwise, the staff were very helpful when they were there. Low service score is because there is very little of it, rather than because it was poor.

Bottom line - when we go back to Barcelona we would book here again providing we can work out the baggage thing.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the worst (I assume) and it was fine, so room choice is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suite H, Director de Recepción at Suite Home Barcelona, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion! it's always useful to read about the good and bad points of our service so we can improve them for the future. The description is perfect and it will help people to know more about the area and the building - thank you for that!

If you come to Barcelona again and you book with us, we will make sure that you stay in an apartment with balcony and views from the beautiful church.

We are working on this issue about the luggage since we've been told that it can be an inconvenient for the guests checking out on weekends. We understand that people don't want to waste time on the last day of holiday so that's why we are making some internal changes so we can solve this problem. I can assure you that next time there will be a place in the same building for you to leave your belongings.

Thank you again and we will be very glad to host you again whenever you want!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Suite Home Barcelona was a pleasant surprise. My family (wife and two kids) stayed here for the weekend. Was freezing in Barcelona. But the heating in the apartment worked fine. Apartment was very clean, beds comfortable, and the flat we had (attic), had a view of the Sagrada Familia. Access to Metro was very easy (50 yards), and there's a great supermarket very nearby. All in all, a nice experience and one we would do again.

Room Tip: pick the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suite H, Director de Recepción at Suite Home Barcelona, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for such a good review! This opinions helps us to work hard to offer always the best service! We would be very glad to host you and your family again in your next trip to Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stopped there for three nights, booked on line. It was good value - about 260 euros for 3 nights, half term. We had a suite with three rooms, 2 double, one small single plus a decent living room/ balcony. Kitchen was small but well equipped , but we weren't planning on cooking too much. Rooms very clean and again fully equipped but we couldn't get the tely to work - no big deal really. We arrived after 9 PM so had to pay a 30 Euro surcharge .

Location great - about 100m from the Famille underground and the iconic half buit church. Lots of restaurants around as well as caves and late night supermarkets , perfect for us - ate somewhere different each night walking 100 m .La Ramlas is walkable , about 45 mins but underground much quicker. Transfer was about 20 mins - they organised for us. Our teenage kids loved the whole trip.

Well worth a look

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suite H, Director de Recepción at Suite Home Barcelona, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the comment! Our customers reviews are always useful and encourage us to work always to give the best service! We would be very glad to welcome you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Home Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Home Barcelona

Address: Avenida Gaudi, 28 | Avenida Gaudí, 28, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suite Home Barcelona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suite Home Barcelona is an apart hotel, which is located on Gaudi Avenue, right next to Sagrada Familia. Suite Home Barcelona is comprised of twelve fully equipped 3- and 4-bedroom apartments. The apartments have capacity of up to 8 people and are ideal for families and groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Suite Home Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Home Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Home Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.