We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service, would love to come back soon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K+K Hotel Picasso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added K+K Hotel Picasso to your Saves list
K+K Hotel Picasso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig/Paseo de Picasso, 26-30 | El Born, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Northwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service, would love to come back soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Picasso. My wife and I away on our own for the first time in 4 years, with the children looked after by family back home.

Arrived to a very warm welcome from Mario on Reception. What a friendly guy who remembered us with a big smile and our room number every time we arrived back at the hotel (apart from one evening he forgot the number and was most upset with himself!).

We were given room 521 which is the last room on the 5th floor, so it was very quiet and just a few steps from the rooftop pool. We used this area several times but the water was very cold so we only got as far as sitting on the edge and dangling our feet in. Very refreshing for me as I did an 11km training run down by the beach on the second morning.

Unknown to us, a very popular 10km run was being held that weekend starting and finishing on the corner of the road by our hotel. It was called the Cursa Bombers Run and had 20,000 runners. If I'd known in advance I would have entered it myself. A great atmosphere!

Our room was a reasonable size, with the best feature being the walk in shower. Used it at least once per day.

We only had breakfast once at the hotel, preferring to walk out in the local area to find something to start the day with. When we did eat at the hotel, we found the food and selection excellent. What you would expect really for 15 Euros each.

Having 3 children back at home it was an added bonus we could connect to the free WiFi throughout the hotel. Using FaceTime to show them mummy and daddy's room, the view from the rooftop and the pool meant a lot and put our minds at rest they weren't missing us too much!

Finally the location. Perfect really. A fairly quiet tree-lined street with a park across the road, 2 minutes to the El Born area which we explored extensively and found to be more to our taste than the rather over-hyped Las Ramblas (a good 10 minute walk further on). Probably a 15 minute walk down the beach, though once you know the way you can cut through the back streets to save some time. We spent one full day on the beach. Extremely busy but not over crowded as it is massive!

Would love to return one day and explore some more and would use the Hotel Picasso without a doubt!

Room Tip: Room 521. Last room on the top floor. Very quiet as no passers by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina R, General Manager at K+K Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Trevor C,
We are thrilled we were able to play host to you during your recent visit to Barcelona and appreciate your kind words regarding our passionate staff, our location and the services provided. Delivering a personable guest experience that creates lifelong memories is a privilege to our entire team and we hope to be able to host you again soon here at K+K Hotel Picasso!

Greetings to Northwhich,

Marina Riess
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    254
    32
    7
    0
See reviews for
196
593
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the K+K Picasso and this was the first time we stayed there (for 4 nights).

Firstly the great thing about the hotel is the location. Right opposite the main park which is great to walk around and in the El Born area which has great bars and restaurants. We didn't need to get a taxi anywhere, and could walk to the Ramblas, beach, Sagrida Familia,El Raval area and Barri Gothic all within about 20 minutes, and a very pleasant walk, with lots to see en route.

The hotel itself is clean and modern, with a fun roof terrace on the 5th floor and mini dipping pool. We sat up there one evening on a Saturday night, enjoying some cava and the views. It was quiet up there, so no problem to get a chair.

The rooms are a good size for Europe, with jug kettle, wardrobes, TV with loads of channels and nice bathroom. Toiletries provided are good too and the hairdryer is decent. The room is pretty quiet considering the location. Bed was slightly hard, but this is typical with a lot of hotels.

Our main highlight was the daily hot and cold breakfast. We didn't have a problem getting a table and the buffet selection was great. Lots of cheese, hams, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, breads and fruit. You can even have cava if you haven't had enough! It's quite rare to get breakfast included in Barcelona hotels so this was great value.

Staff were really friendly and helpful. Only downside here was they lack a concierge, which caused some delays when we needed to check out and catch a flight, as loads of people in front of us were spending ages booking tickets. We didn't miss our flight though thankfully!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 414 which was quiet. The balconies don't open however which is a shame. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina R, General Manager at K+K Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear auditmunki,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at K+K Hotel Picasso during your recent trip to Barcelona and for giving us a 5* review. It sounds as though you had a great experience, and we certainly look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Barcelona - be it for business or pleasure, we would love to welcome you back!

Yours sincerely,

Marina Riess
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Nice hotel in a very good location. Our room was comfortable, modern, good bathroom. Not a huge hotel which is what we prefer. Very, very nice staff from the front desk to the concierge to the bartender in the lounge. There is Rooftop pool but it was too cold for me to comment on. The biggest draw of the hotel, beyond a reasonable price, is the excellent location . On the edge of El
Born, you can walk almost everywhere from here, beach, rambla, gothic quarter, Catalunya, and when you go out at night everything you want is right in your backyard. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina R, General Manager at K+K Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest from Boston,
The title and content of your review is about all we could ever ask for!! So a big thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it! I do hope you will be returning to visit us again; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Greetings from all of us here at K+K Hotel Picasso, Barcelona!

Yours sincerely,
Marina Riess
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

When we checked in @10a we asked if we could have breakfast we were told by Anna "no". Our room had no drawers so everything went on hangers. The shower has 1/2 door so the floor gets soaked. We had to move to another room since the a/c and fan were not functioning. There was no clock or phone book. They need a concierge since the desk staff are too busy to arrange tours. The friendliest desk clerks were Jenz and Pawel. Anna did not seem interested in helping guests.The best service of hotel was the breakfast buffet. The food & servers were great, especially Maria Tu. Francesca in Housekeeping was wonderful and helped with our move. I would not stay at a K & K again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room such as 308. They are roomier and have two windows. Also, a higher floor provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina R, General Manager at K+K Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Mrs. Josephine R, ,
Thank you for choosing the K+K Hotel Picasso during your recent stay in Barcelona! We know that you have a choice when you travel, and appreciate you choosing our hotel for your getaway.

Naturally I was very disappointed to learn that your stay at our hotel did not live up to your expectations and my team and I thank you for sharing the reasons why..
Here at K+K Hotel Picasso, we pride ourselves on the standards of product and service we offer, which makes it all the more disappointing to read that we have let ourselves down on this occasion.

I would certainly have valued the opportunity to discuss the details of your stay during your time with us, but as this has not been possible, please rest assured that I will share your comments with my team, especially my Front Office Manager and his colleagues.

Now, as you may see from the grand variety of other posts on this site, we have many guests that feel we have wonderful service and a very special hotel in an excellent location.

Naturaly, I am very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others but thank you for sharing this with me.

Yours sincerely,
Marina Riess
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent six days recently at the K + K Hotel Picasso and found it to be one of our most enjoyable hotel visits ever. The room was well appointed, clean, comfortable and quiet, and the food and drink service were exactly what we needed. The neighborhood offered excellent walking access to a large park, the marina and the old city. The rate also provided very good value. Best of all, though, were the staff, who were without exception friendly and helpful, and reason enough in themselves to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina R, General Manager at K+K Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Greetings to Montana,
I am so glad you enjoyed your recent visit to Barcelona and your 6nights stay at our K+K Hotel Picasso! We too love being in the heart of this lively city and are humbled by your most wonderful 5* Review on our hotel and the big praise of my colleagues. A big thank you from all of us here at K+K Hotel Picasso. We look forward to welcome you back again sometime soon!

Yours sincerely,
Marina Riess
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Although travelling on business, K+K Hotel Picasso offers both - great conference facilities with high speed interner and very good catering, as well as everything what you need for relaxing after a hard day - superb location, comfortable rooms at a good size, very attending staff especially at the breakfast room and bar and on top of all the realxing area by the roof-top swimming pool. The hotel itself is clean and modern. The reception provided us a city map right upon arrival and showed us how to get to the tourist points. The old town with beautiful narrow streets and tapas restaurants are just behing the corner. We ordered the taxi to the airport at the front desk, the price was reasonable. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Barcelona (and I am sure I will).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina R, General Manager at K+K Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are sharing your great K+K Hotel Picasso experience with others.. Greetings to Prague and we hope to welcome you back again sometime soon!

Kind Regards,
Marina Riess
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the K&K for ten days in March.The location is wonderful. We walked everywhere. Many restaurants and shops in El Born area. We booked the executive room - good size and comfortable beds. The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries and great shower and towels.The downside was there was not an exhaust fan in the bathroom .The breakfast was included in our rate with hot and cold items and was always replenished with fresh foods. The breakfast staff was excellent! We did feel the front desk staff needed to be more customer serviced oriented with the exception of Mario and Sara -they were very helpful and friendly. We would strongly suggest a separate area for picking up and dropping off your room key as the the front desk was very busy and lines formed for different services or a separate area for concierge services. Overall a pleasant stay ,we will seek out other K&K hotels in different cities.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina R, General Manager at K+K Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest from New Jersey,
A big thank you from all of us here at K+K Hotel Picasso for sharing your excellent review on TA.
My team and I are so delighted to hear that everything met your expectations and we truly appreciate your support and want to thank you for this amazing review!
I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Marina Riess
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to K+K Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Picasso

Address: Passeig/Paseo de Picasso, 26-30 | El Born, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — K+K Hotel Picasso 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant neighborhood of El Born in the center of Barcelona, the K+K Hotel Picasso is destined to be one of Barcelona’s trendiest first-class hotels. The Picasso Museum, the Ramblas, the traditional tapas bars of the Gothic Quarter, designer boutiques and countless historic sites are a leisurely 10-minute walk away. Within the beaches nearby, guests can enjoy both a beach holiday and a city break for a perfect blend of business and pleasure. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool, a restaurant and stylish rooms with complimentary coffee and tea facilities and free Wi-Fi. Our guests have free access to the Business Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your K+K Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
K+K Hotel Picasso Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K+K Hotel Picasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.