We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, good Wifi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K+K Hotel Picasso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added K+K Hotel Picasso to your Saves list
K+K Hotel Picasso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig/Paseo de Picasso, 26-30 | El Born, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Hertfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, good Wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is an Austrian chain, in the El Born district, everything almost new as it only opened in June this year. We managed to get a discount through lastminute.com due to a late booking for a City break of 3 nights. Not too sure if we would have paid the full amount for the size room we had which was a classic room, quiet, facing the hotel courtyard below, probably 3* size but with all things considered, it being new and as you would expect for a 4*, had a safe, hairdryer, slippers, tea/coffee it was good value.

I have to say I was not impressed with the design of the kettle lid as it was a fixed vertical flip lid and we could not fill the kettle using the tap in the sink. I had to resort to using the tea cups to fill the kettle. There was no bath, a walk-in shower but powerful enough. There were nice touches such as a shoe polish machine next to the lift on our (first) floor, see photo.

There was one night where the water from the shower was only tepid but it was an exception. The room was modern and clean. The pillows were rather flat for us and there was only one spare in room. The quality of some of the fittings could have been better, e.g. the desklamp and light switches were modern but a bit plasticy for me. Our price did not include breakfast so we did not eat there but were quoted 25 Euros each for the buffet which was pretty steep. I believe you can book the hotel with breakfast included which would be a cheaper deal.

One of our main requirements was for WIFI in the hotel and we chose this hotel over others due to this. Very pleased with the connectivity and speed both at reception and in the room. As mentioned in other reviews there are a couple of PCs and printer near reception for public use. You can book your tickets on these PCs for Sagrada Familia beforehand to avoid the queues. You get a printed confirmation which you then have to exchange for tickets using your credit card at the La Caixa bank near the hotel (see reception for details).

As most of the other reviewers have said, the staff were outstanding and extremely helpful, special mention to Helen (we think that is her name). However, I have to say that the reception area/lobby was disappointingly small. We expected a grander and larger area for a 4* hotel and it certainly didn’t do justice to the stone building as a whole which is lovely and has a beautiful facade outside.

We loved the location as we wanted to be based in Barri Gotic with many small side streets, away from the hustle and bustle of La Rambla. Some people may prefer otherwise as the hotel is in a quieter location and not as ‘touristy’. Not so easy to get to from the airport, if you use public transport, other than taxi but we followed the hotel’s website for directions to the hotel which was spot on. We took the Aerobus (5.95 Euro each) and changed to local bus 14 (2.00 Euro each) to get there. However, it is not the reverse route back to the hotel, so we took a taxi which cost around 35 Euros for approx. the 10 miles to the airport. The hotel website for directions is:

http://en.kkhotels.com/hotels/barcelona/barcelona/location-city-map/

The maps you get with the tours and tourist offices are sometimes not detailed enough for the little side streets, so perhaps arm yourself with more detailed ones from the internet before you set off. Reception has a few maps which are very useful, including a local El Born one.

We took the hop on hop off bus for 2 days and one day walked locally around. There are many sights close to the hotel, e.g. Arc de Triomf, Parc De La Ciutadella (park near hotel), Santa Maria Del Mar, Catedral Gòtic (market day on Friday), Picasso Musuem, Choclate Musuem, La Boqueria food market, evening performances (Flamenco dancing or Spanish classical guitar – tickets available from reception) at the Palau de la Música Catalana.

Barceloneta (beach) for many seafood restaurants and La Ramblas are about 15/20 minutes walk away. There will be more to see when the Antic Mercat de Born (the Born market building) near the hotel is finished, expected next year in 2013.

Do try the seafood restaurant La Paradeta http://www.laparadeta.com/ which is on a side road behind the hotel. The hotel reception will be able to direct you. You pick your own seafood from a wide selection; including razor clams, lobsters etc and they cook it for you.

All in all, definitely worthy of a 4*, we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    252
    32
    7
    0
See reviews for
196
587
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I could not fault this hotel. Everything was done to a very high standard with great attention to detail and the staff were the friendliest I have experienced in a city hotel. The breakfast was lovely, fantastic selection including lots of fresh fruit and pastries as light as a feather. The nespresso machine was a nice touch. The location was very good and there were so many restaurants and tapas bars in the area that we did not have to travel very far in the evening to find somewhere to eat. We loved wandering around the little streets which led to Santa Maria del Mar, my favourite church and well worth a visit. It would be lovely to stay at this hotel in the summer months when you could use the pool and sunbathing area on the roof to chill out after a busy day of sightseeing. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when I next visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in November. Good location about 15 mins walk from both the Placa de Catalyuna and the Olympic Marina. Rooms are modern, well equipped with free wifi throughout the hotel. Breakfast buffet is a good standard but most importantly the staff were very helpful and attentive throughout our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. It's in a quiet area very near the Gothic Quarter and walking distance to La Rambla. Breakfast was very good, too.

My major complaint was that there weren't any locks on the hotel doors. When you come into your room, you're not able to lock the door from the inside. I took a nap when I arrived at the hotel, and housekeeping opened my door while I was in there....no knocking. I've stayed at hotels around the world, and I've never stayed at one where you couldn't lock the door for safety.

I know the hotel is very new, but after talking to the front desk employees, there isn't a plan to install locks on the rooms in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I deliberately chose this hotel as it was far enough away from Las Ramblas to avoid any noise issues or having to negotiate the swarms of pickpockets and scam artists that congregate round that area.

The hotel only opened this year and as you would expect is very fresh and bright. The rooms are your average hotel room size, but the decor is tasteful and modern, with Flat screen TV installed and a large selection of English Speaking channels, as many other foreign stations.

The reception staff were fantastic and asked if we wanted tickets for tours or for the football game at the Nou Camp that was on the next day. They were only too willing to help. They also gave us advice on where to go and where not to go, which was crucial if you wanted to avoid the upset of losing your wallet/bag.

The hotel also has a rooftop pool and sunlounge area with great views over the city, but be warned, the pool is not heated, so it was a bit too chilly to try in October for my liking.

Breakfast was included in our rate and again I have to say it was excellent. As with all K&K Hotels, there is Prosecco on hand if you wish to start the morning with a kick, but all the usual fayre is there from normal continental to Scrambled Egg if you wish.

Finally, as I am obsessed with noise in hotels, I would have to give the hotel 5 stars as I heard nothing on both nights of my stay, either in the hotel or from the street outside.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible. We were on 4th floor and that was good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed there in july of this year.
Many great things about this hotel.
Clean, great staff - cleaning, breakfast and front desk - amazing location.
The breakfast is decent, nothing especially unique, but the staff are really helpful.
Make sure you have an end room that way you have a view of the park and the street
The pool area is really cramped though the view is brilliant from there.
Make sure you don't get one of the rooms that faces to inside of the building - they are horrible.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park are a must. Corner rooms in particular are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I loved this quaint little hotel. I do not have one negative thing to say. It was in the El Born district which a great location close to everything yet not too touristy. The staff was wonderful, comfortable beds, and a great breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to K+K Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Picasso

Address: Passeig/Paseo de Picasso, 26-30 | El Born, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — K+K Hotel Picasso 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant neighborhood of El Born in the center of Barcelona, the K+K Hotel Picasso is destined to be one of Barcelona’s trendiest first-class hotels. The Picasso Museum, the Ramblas, the traditional tapas bars of the Gothic Quarter, designer boutiques and countless historic sites are a leisurely 10-minute walk away. Within the beaches nearby, guests can enjoy both a beach holiday and a city break for a perfect blend of business and pleasure. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool, a restaurant and stylish rooms with complimentary coffee and tea facilities and free Wi-Fi. Our guests have free access to the Business Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, K&K Management GMBH, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your K+K Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
K+K Hotel Picasso Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K+K Hotel Picasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.