We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a beautiful city, would not stay any where else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Montcada Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Montcada Hotel to your Saves list
H10 Montcada Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 24, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a beautiful city, would not stay any where else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We have just got back from a 5 night stay in Barcelona with H10 Montcada.

On arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne and very pleasant reception staff. We went to our room, only to find it was on the 1st floor and I had asked for a higher room, although at the time of booking they couldn't promise this. Anyway, we asked to be moved higher and within 5 minutes we were in a room on the 5th floor, no problem whatsoever.

Overall, whenever we needed any help or had any questions the staff were fantastic. They helped us with what restaurants to go to and told us about their favourites. The bar staff were great, very happy and chirpy. My partner was without a drink one evening as she didn't fancy one and they brought her a Cosmopolitan cocktail on the house.

Breakfast was great, full english cooked breakfast available, fresh fruit and cereals; something that met every dietary requirement. Fresh juices and even alcohol including Cava and Vodka.

I found the only negative reading through the comments before I went, was the size of the room but we were very pleased. There was plenty of room to get round the bed and the bathroom was huge. For a hotel in the centre of a city the size was great and you must remember this is a city centre! I have stayed in hotels in London with rooms half the size.

The hotel location is the best of the city as you are walking distance from everything and hardly need to spend a penny on public transport etc! The harbour is 5 minutes away, beach 10 - 15 minutes walk, las ramblas 10 minutes walk, lots of restaurants in the area so you are not walking far in the evening etc etc

Taxi from the airport cost us about 30 euros which isn't too bad if like us you land quite late and don't want to be getting buses etc

Overall this holiday was very special with us getting engaged and then having a fantastic hotel and friendly staff it made an overal fantastic week. We will be returning to Barcelona and will definitely be returning to H10 Montcada

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    476
    90
    46
    20
See reviews for
109
689
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

The very friendly stuff kept us well entertained with cava till our rooms for ready and helped us in every situation ( nasty pick-pockets in this city). Great location with excellent rates and a gorgeous view over the city from the rooftop. We would stay there anytime again!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Perfect hotel for a short trip to Barcelona,right next to the gothic part of the city yet only minutes away from the Ramblas, shopping areas and the harbour areas. There is a city tour bus stop just yards from the hotel which is ideal for the first time visitor to be taken around the sites.
The hotel itself has a modern look to it very clean, with very polite and helpful staff both at reception and at the bar. The rooms although not huge were very well equipted with safe, mini-bar and plasma tv. Bathrooms good with good shower,good selection of toiletries from the usual soap and shampoos to comb,shoeshine kit and shaving kit.
Breakfast for 10 euros was good value with a selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheeses + hot selections bacon eggs sausage etc, unlimited tea and coffee and rather surprising they had vodka,red &white wine and cava on offer( perhaps for the early drinker,ha ha.)
To reach the hotel get the shuttle bus from the airport to place du catalunya,cost 5 euro, from there 10 minute walk max to hotel, would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

The staff were excellent, helpful and informative, even had a glass of bubbly on arrival while checking in. The room we had was a double to the front/side of the Hotel on the 3rd floor. Some traffic noise and underground was heard at night but nothing to interupt our sleep. In the heat of the summer with windows opened this may be different? The hotel was clean and tidy at all times. Plenty to do and go and see. Our main reason for staying was running in the Barcelona Half Marathon only 10 minutes walk from Hotel ideally situated between the Arch de Triumph and La Ramblers with all the little streets and shops on the doorstep. The restaurant was excellent, a little quaint, breakfast meals help yourself to whatever as much as you want. Plenty for everyone, lots of choice and well presented. All tables clean, tidy and nicely laid out. Facilties are good, small gym, Jacuzzi on rooftop. Would prefer Jacuzzi late afternoon evening free for guests but you have to pay after 1pm. Evenings are for the more romantic. Bar area in reception, nice soft seating, staff very helpful. Hotel close to Underground, bus terminals and taxi's everywhere. Recommend the Cafe corner shop directly opposite, nice setting. Park Gardens and Zoo close by. All in all a very enbjoyable stay and would go back again. Hope the standards don't drop.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

This hotel was awesome, the staff are really friendly, rooms are clean and really nice. The rooftop bar area has such a great view, and can chill out in the outdoor Jacuzzi which I did for 2 days. The breakfast is yummy and worth paying for it if not included - we found by the time we bought breakfast outside the hotel it was costing us around the same price anyway and you get more being a buffet in the hotel. The location is such a bonus! It's just a short walk to the shopping area and the beach..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I travelled to Barcelona for 3 nights for my birthday with a friend. The hotel is very central; walking distance to many of the districts of interest and 2 minutes to the metro to visit the sites further out. Close to many nice restaurants as well in the evening. I booked on-line through Expotel for the flights and this hotel. E-mailed them separately to ask for twin beds and although they never acknowledged the e-mail it was all arranged when we arrived. The service from the reception and the bar was wonderful. They must have realised from my passport that it was my birthday and delivered a bottle of cava to our room to help the celebrations. We paid extra for the breakfast and it was first class. A huge array of fresh fruit, cold meats and breads and a cooked breakfast for those that wanted something more substantial.

The hotel isn't quiet. We had a room at the back and it was still noisy with the windows open because of the neighbouring air conditioning machines and street noise. But that is the pay off for having such a wonderful central location. Take ear plugs and live with it!! We walked 10 minutes out each evening for a vast array of Tapas bars and other restaurants and then had mint tea in the foyer bar which provided excellent service.

Room small but very clean and tidy with a large bathroom, Very good for the price and we were there to be out and about and not in our room all the time. Beds very comfortable and excellent sleep after long days of walking around the city. Would definately come back here again for the location and service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intothewest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed here at the end of January and found the staff excellent and the location could not be better.We booked a three night stay and even though our flight was cancelled and we arrived a day late the hotel still put us up for three nights at no extra charge,anything we asked for was no trouble to the staff .The hotel is in a great location just 50 yds from the cathedral and many other sights within walking distance.Yes the rooms are on the small size and you can here the rumblings of the metro at night as mentioned in other reviews but it didnt keep us awake.If you come by air buy a T10 ten journey ticket at the Renfe train station at the airport and take the train and metro to the hotel and use it to get to all the other sights.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Montcada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Montcada Hotel

Address: Via Laietana 24, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — H10 Montcada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your H10 Montcada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel h10 Montcada
H10 Montcada Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Montcada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.