We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Andante to your Saves list
Andante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drassanes, 23-25 | Raval, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I think the location of this hostel outweighs the negatives encountered. I think the rooms are very clean, but sparse. Could have done with a kettle, but had no mugs for a cuppa anyway. The feeling was very much a hostel type accommodation, and was quite expensive considering what you got for your money, but the location was excellent, close to a laundry, markets, restaurants on La Ramblas .You couldn't get anywhere near THAT pool, like ants at a picnic! Great view from pool but really just a plunge pool.
If you keep that in mind, and are not bothered, then this is the place for you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear client,


First of all, thank you for choosing Andante Hotel for your stay in Barcelona.

Andante Hotel is a 3* Hotel, where our main goal is to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible offering services of a 4* Hotel. We are sorry the swimming-pool did not fulfill your expectations due to it is a free service we offer our clients to make their stay more comfortable, that usually three stars hotels do not offer.

We would like to thank to you for sharing your experience with other users

Best regards,

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    336
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
156
429
28
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in a few hotels in this area in the past this one easily offers the best value for money, throw in a rooftop pool with exceptional views of barcelona, then you are on to a winner all round. Ignore any comments on its location as you are in the centre of a busy city not a english village green!!! If you are not confident about coming to a cosmopolitan city then barcelona is not for you, your location is a couple of minutes walk from the marina and your opening to all this wonderfull city has to offer, the rooms are very modern and clean, excellent breakfast and free wifi in your room the reception staff are very helpfull with any questions you have for them, just book the hotel and enjoy your stay, I'm sure you will come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear client,


Thank to you for choose our establishment for your last stay in Barcelona and for your positive assessment. Your comments about our location, service and quality, are the best reward and encouragement to continue making our guests' stay an unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of July on a recommendation from a friend. The rooms were slightly on the small size but with a really large bed and good size bathroom. The plunge pool on the roof is a great idea and the views of Barcelona from up here are amazing. We were really happy with the location as it was so close to la rambla and other attractions however we were warned by a tour guide to not exit the hotel and walk to the left at night. Apparently this area is a bit dodgy. This might explain why you need a room key to open the hotel doors and use the lift. It would have been nice if the hotel staff had warned us about walking around here at night. The staff here were the only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating. They weren't overly friendly or helpful but other then that it was a great place to stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Andante, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear client,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel.

It is important for us you to know that the hotel is located in a safe area, in the city center, where you could find bars, restaurants, shops… Even more, as you comment, the use of cards to access the elevators and hotel is a security system to ensure that only hotel guests can access to the installations. Referring to the staff, our main goal is to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible and we are surprised with your comments. We will talk with the responsible person.


We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel rooms have a modern refit. The swimming pool on the roof is good, with some sunbathing area, and views of the city. Sites are walking distance. The staff are always friendly.
The hotel has a good breakfast buffet every morning, I suggest you get it included in your room rate. The excellent Barcelona Aquarium is a short walk from the hotel. The "Raval Ramblas" is a good place for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear client,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us and the city.
On the other hand, We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our hotel breakfast. We try to offer a varied breakfast with top-quality products at a cheap price.
Please don't hesitate to contact us again for any question or requirements.

Best regards,

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was excited about this hotel! Stylish and close to attractions. Most reviews were favorable so I disregarded the less favorable ones.
Be AWARE it is not a great location - it is fairly close to everything BUT where you have to walk to get there, is worse than what I expected; especially as a female solo traveler !!
Service: Does not exist. You need to leave a deposit for anything you need (plug, glass, ice bucket,...) - this is not common practice in other hotels. I got scolded (!!!!) for taking the ice bucket for my cava.
Free WiFi: yes, if it works. Mainly works in lobby but there is no plug to charge your device. Charge your device in your room but then WiFi does not work.
Gym: small, appears clean but not even a treadmill! One of the bikes was broken too.
Room: I don’t mind small rooms – however, when the hotel has no other place to hang out -the courtyard gets dark w/o light around 10pm – then a small room like that is a problem. A large person could not function in a single room.
I checked out early. They were not happy, charged me a 30 euro late chack out fee (I guess the only penalty they could come up with), overlooked returning one of my deposits – I was glad I realized it myself before I left.
RIP OFF: AND then offered to call me a taxi rather than waiting outside –seemed nice at that moment – when asked what the difference was, I was told, I can stay in lobby, driver comes to door vs going to curb myself.
BUT clearly they forgot to mention that the 5.55 Euro Cab Ride will be 14.55 Euros instead (because the hotel called the cab)
One positive thing I can say: I had left my earrings in the room safe and they had them for me at the reception ready.
Lesson learned: Spend a little more per night for a hotel and save money and time doing other things!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our stay was from 8th-12 August. Situated in the centre of Barcelona a short walk from la Ramblas, and in a quiet position. Good access to local amenities ie metro, bars resturants, harbour. The hotel felt and was very secure, with swipe cards for entry, lifts and rooms. Reception light airy indoor and outdoor seating. vending machine access however felt that betime I had got to the room the drink was cool. tea/coffee facilities would be beneficial. The reception staff really friendly, and give plenty of information and all have a wealth of knowledge. The rooms very clean and modern, liked the bathroom and huge shower fresh towels daily. The bed huge and fresh clean linen plenty of space to hang clothes. Air con good and quiet plus a safe. yes there are wood slats infront of the window, but the fantastic view from the top floor decking and infinity pool were absolutely amazing. pool small but great for an afternoon dip to cool off. great little sun deck with chairs that recline. Also facilities for disabled people with a lift up to decking and chair lift into pool. Breakfast was fresh and plenty-full. hot and cold, tables cleaned straight away. Had the usual continental/English /European and it was all very well cooked with professional staff. ultra mod dinning room with an outside central seating area with plants of orange trees. the hallways from the lifts were alittle dark so make sure you remove your sunglasses before getting out of the lift. This hotel is very new and a brilliant place to stay, and would highly recommend it. We are planning to hopefully return next year. Its worth it for the location, pool view and comfort as well as friendly staff that speak all languages.

Room Tip: We were on floor 9 some view over the city and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Andante, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear client,

First of all, we would like to thank you to share with other fellow users of TripAdvisor your experience in Andante Hotel.
We appreciate your comments about the quality, service, staff and the rooms in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise.
Referring to the tea/coffe facilities in the room that you comment, we take seriously your comments for future improvements in our services.

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a wonderful find. The location is exactly what we wanted - near everything by foot or Metro yet not on a noisy street. This boutique hotel is modern, attractive and, most importantly, clean! The front desk staff could not have been more helpful. No matter whom we asked or how often, we were answered in wonderfully good English and with a smile. The room was a decent size and the bed comfortable. The only less than perfect aspect I can mention is that there were a few amenities that I, probably as an American, was accustomed to having: a clock, pad of paper and pencil, hair conditioner (the liquid body wash and shampoo were one and the same.). These, however, were not reasons to be less than thrilled with our choice. A definite thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear client,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us and the city.
Reffering to the amenities, We consider seriously your comments for future improvements in the services of our rooms.
Please don't hesitate to contact us again in case you come back to the city.

Best regards,

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andante

Address: Drassanes, 23-25 | Raval, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andante 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is located in the Raval Quarter, in the Ciutat Vella district. It is superbly located on the Av. Drassanes, 23-25, which is in the old city center, right in the heart of Barcelona, a few minutes walk from Las Ramblas, Port Vell, the cruise terminals at the port, the Maremagnum leisure area and the Paral.Lel theatre district. Andante Hotel is a 3* establishment, practical, modern and inexpensive, with 134 rooms over 10 floors, with different types available: Doubles, Triples, Family, Singles, with a Balcony, with Panoramic Views and for the disabled. All rooms are exterior rooms. The hotel provides an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi, Internet corner 24h, luggage storage room, late check-out room, reception 24h and gym. It also offers buffet breakfast with "show cooking". It has a large terrace and a self-service microwave and vending machines for drinks, snacks and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Andante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andante Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.