We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the main issue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Catalunya Hostel

Save Saved
You added Plaza Catalunya Hostel to your Saves list
Plaza Catalunya Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plaza Catalunya Hostel
251 Diputacio St, 08007 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #386 of 667 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Beersheba, HaDarom, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location is the main issue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Amazing location, on one of the center plazas in Barcelona.
the metro located 2 steps away from the enterance of the hotel.
and most of the main meto lines goes over the station.
a stable connection to WiFi.
and a luggage room ( if your flight is in the night you can keep the luggage all day long and for free)

The bad point is related to service: a glass with hot water cost 1 Euro (teakettle is not supplied)
using the safty lock cost 4 Euro per night, in our country a 3 stars hotel supplies this services as free.

Room Tip: dont forget to ask for one king size bed , the use to give the visitiors in a cuple q twin room a 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hostel was my favorite of the six hostels that I visited during my backpacking around europe. The hostel staff were very friendly, before we had even settled into our rooms the hostel staff had a map and were showing us the best tourist stops, cheap places to drink and eat and the position of the best clubs. The hostel also had a list of clubs that you could enter for free by liking them on facebook and adding your name to the guestlist. The hostel is also situated only 2 minutes from Las Ramblas and is well connected to the metro. All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and I would strongly recommend this hostel to others.

Room Tip: Personally I preferred the larger rooms as they allowed you to socailise more, all the rooms I saw a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here with a few friends and really enjoyed it. It's a very young feel, and (like others said) it's sort of like living in a flat with some friends rather than a traditional hostel which can be good or bad.

Pros: The hostel is in a good location (5 minutes from Plaza Catalunya/La Ramblas) and the owners are very nice and helpful and spent a good 10 minutes giving us the run down on Barcelona with lots of recommendations. The rooms and bathrooms were in fine state and it had pretty good wifi, though mine cut out a bit. And it was pretty cheap. Had lockers for 1 euro, though I felt safe the whole time even without them.

Cons: No breakfast (decent kitchen though) or free towels, and no real reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel very much. However this hostel is different from many other hostels. It´s much less structured, and more informal, in the sense that you feel like you´re flatting with other flatmates rather than staying at a hostel. To me this can be a good thing, as this is a much more fun experience. Also things can be more flexible here(but it could occasionally cause problems) Staff ( to me they´re more like flatmates) are very friendly and helpful. At the end of the day we´re all here to have fun. Open mindedness is the key. I´d have no problem to recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: The doms are spacious enough so I think they´re fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night in July 2012 with two friends. It seems more like a frat house run by people who aren't really professionals. There was construction going on in one wing so that severely cut down the ratio of toilets to people. I had to wait for 40 minutes in line before I could use the bathroom. The bathroom itself had drainage issues and was overflowing with dirty water. All this while one of the guys manning it was fast asleep on the couch near the "front desk". The reason why this guy was asleep was because he'd been partying too hard the night before (I saw him walking down La Rambla really drunk the night before) and was hung over. All this while there was chaos unfolding in the rest of the hostel. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Catalunya Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Catalunya Hostel

Address: 251 Diputacio St, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 667 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Plaza Catalunya Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Catalunya Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Catalunya Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.