We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable value on travelzoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Azul Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Azul Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Azul Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran via de las Cortes Catalanas 327, 08014 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Access)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value on travelzoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

This property has some great things going for it. first of all Barcelona is amazing. If you haven't been here it's very underrated. There are great restaurants, lots of outdoor activities and a great beach. It was my 2nd visit and Azul was a great spot to have as home base. It has a great view from the terrace on the roof, comfortable beds and a very helpful staff. When we return we'll make every effort to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    116
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
84
59
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Booked on line, staff were helpful, supplied a metro ticket for 10 trips. hotel 3 stops from las ramblas 5 minutes walk to the nearest metro station. Hotel next to busy rd but double glazing worked. Air con not working and it was a hot couple of nights. Had to wait for breakfast . small room not large enough and there was only one member of staff with too much todo. lot of food eaten and not replaced. caused an argument between me and my partner. otherwise room was clean, front of house staff were helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed on the first floor just above the main street - no problems with sleeping, street noise blocked by the windows. Rooms are spacious, free wifi available, although I needed to struggle to get internet access in room No. 101 and I ended up sitting with my laptop near the elevators :-). Breakfast (additional price of 8 E) pretty good with a choice of ham, cheese and other stuff, incuding good coffee and cakes. Nothing hot though. Good location, with a 3 minutes' walk from the evening fountain show on Plaza d'Espanya and 2 stops from the main railway station. good location for sightseeing and only 3 stops from Old Town and Ramblas.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Just got back from Barcelona and although we only stayed one night I was not impressed with the Hotel Azul. Walls paper thin beds totally uncomfortable and forget about getting a wake up call. I asked for one at 4am due to an early flight back to the US, they forgot to call us luckily I had woken up early anyway. Only good thing was the free WIFI. Location not at all close to Sants station close to Espanya.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belllevue, NE
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

The Azul is easy to find, as it is lit up at night in bright blue, as the name implies. Our room was quite large for Europe (apprx. 350 sq feet). It had a separate room for the parents, with TV, safe, and closet; the main room had a pull out sofa sleeper and separate single bed. The bathroom was spacious. The main room had a refrigerator and TV, although the main TV satellite channels didn't work. The one in the bedroom worked fine. Go figure. The staff were pleasant and helpful with typical tourist questions.

The best feature about the Azul was the value for a 3 star in Barcelona. It was E125 per night for the quad, and we added on a third night that was down to E99 due to the rooms being widely available (March - off season). It is located on a fairly noisy main street. We had to open the windows in the evening to cool them down since they hadn't yet turned on the air conditioning. So it was loud while the windows were open. But it cooled off quickly and the noise wasn't too bad with them shut for the night. There are several bar/restaurants nearby, and a combination grocery store-fresh meat market (fish, beef, chicken, flowers, wines) is located 2 blocks behind and 3 blocks south of the hotel. The Metro is 1/4 mile up the boulevard. You can also get a bus at the Metro entrance that will go anywhere in Barcelona.

Overall it is a good 3 star hotel, although it isn't centrally located and lacks the inherent benefit of being right where the A)action or B)old Barcelona is. While it only takes 5 minutes and 2 stops to get down to Las Ramblas, you feel like you could have found something else had you kept looking. I would go back to the Azul but only if I couldn't find something right by Las Ramblas first.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

We found a bargain price at www.hrs.de, for 52 euro per night. The location is excellent, close to Plaza España, and only some mins walk from that Metro station, that will take you to "Catalunya", the Metro station close to La Rambla in only six minutes. Also the location of this hotel to see the spectacular fountains down from Museo Nacional de Arte de Catalunya (MNAC), and to access the MNAC itself.
We got a big double room which was clean and comfortable. We didnt take the breakfast at the hotel, but in a cafe close by, but I ams ure the breakfast would be good. What makes this hotel something that stands out of the crowd is the excellent, personal and helpful service. We were helped by Pedro at the desk, and we witnessed also how he helped a lot of other people. So satisfied we were with this hotel, that we have decided to book twenty rooms for the guest of our wedding, that will take part in May 2010.
If you want to spend your money on other things than over prized hotel rooms, I guess it will be hard to find any better option in Bacelona than the Azul.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

I stayed here in May 2008. I wouldn't normally stay in a hotel of this quality but I left it very late to book so it was the cheapest get. I paid €100 per night for a very large suite, which was very comfortable and quite good value, but probably more luxury than I needed. The location is only ok for two reasons: one is it's not in the very centre of the city, so you end up having to travel by metro or taxi more than if you were in the centre; two the street the hotel is on is very busy and quite noisy (I got woken up by traffic and had to wear earplugs but I am quite a light sleeper). There is a really nice cafe nearby at Placa Espanya with a very friendly Argentine waitress and good coffee (hard to find in Spain!).

The room itself was beautiful and very modern comfortable. The staff were excellent, helpful and friendly.

One thing to watch out for are the badly designed windows - I nearly fell out trying to open mine (seriously!). There's a notice beside the window recommending not to open it, so I guess I'm not the first guest who had trouble with it. Not so nice when you're on the 6th floor. :-)

Certainly nothing wrong with this hotel - apart from the location. But probably a bit fancier than my needs, so I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — Very nice room
  • Disliked — noisy street
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Azul Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azul Barcelona

Address: Gran via de las Cortes Catalanas 327, 08014 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Access)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#157 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azul Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Azul Barcelona is a family hotel located in the center of Barcelona, ​​at the foot of Montjuic and next to Plaza of Spain (Plaza Espana), 200 meters from Barcelona's Fair. It offers elegant accommodation, a rooftop terrace, a reception open 24 hours and free Wi-Fi in all the hotel. In one of the best connected parts of the city, by metro, bus, airport bus (direct to the airport in 15 minutes), railways ... Can be reached by metro to Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter of the city in less than 10 minutes. Also we are in a booming area and recently renovated shopping center called Las Arenas, the Magic Fountains of Montjuic or MNAC (National Art Museum of Catalonia). Our rooms are spacious (25-50 m2) and have a very colorful decor. They feature wooden floors, air conditioning, heating, flat screen TV with satellite channels and a work desk. Ideal for families, groups and business people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Azul Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azul Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Azul Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.