We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Barcelona , i have to go there again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Azul Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Azul Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Azul Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran via de las Cortes Catalanas 327, 08014 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Access)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location in Barcelona , i have to go there again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we stayed there for short vacation , it was a wonderful vacation.
the Hotel location is so close to Plaza de España (80 meter).
the Airport shuttle bus is in Plaza de España &is so easy to pick up your luggage from the hotel to the station walking for 4 minutes only.
There is a large shopping mall called Arena mall , we have enjoyed there.
Also there was a very close metro station ,so it was so easy every where like (Catalunya square, Camp Noe stadium , La rambla , La rambla del mar ,..........).
the reception staff were very helpful.
the wifi service was poor & our room was good.
it was a classical room with classical furniture & old safe box with classical key.
the location was ideal for all our trips & there were good restaurant near the hotel .
Also there were plenty of supermarkets .
our room was in the 6th floor with view in Gran via de las Cortes street.
Also we went to Spain village by walking just 12 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    114
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
83
58
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spacious and modern rooms that were very clean. Located close to a lot of shopping, bars, and restaurants. We were able to take the bus to and from the airport with relative ease. We went to a concert at the Poble Espanyol and it was walking distance. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in October 2013, it's in a crowded street with a lot of traffic, shops, bars and restaurants. Just a few steps away from the shopping centre. It has a perfect location, close to the metro! The rooms are big and very tidy, the bathroom is really modern and clean.The staff is nice and helpfull. Close to the airport! The wifi was only in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The Hotel Azul came recommended by a student friend of ours, it's most attractive features being a good, quiet location, reasonably priced, clean rooms and inexpensive breakfast option. We have just returned after four super days in the city, and the hotel has played a large part in the experience. The hotel was extremely easy to locate, just off the Placa d'Espanya, once we had identified the roads. The friendly nature of staff began with the warm welcome by the initial receptionist we encountered; others on subsequent days were equally welcoming and spoke and understood English! We had room 36 which overlooked a side road, hence quieter. It was spacious, very clean, had plenty of space for clothes, a useful kitchenette including a fridge and a pleasant en suite. During our stay, we heard no other residents which suggested good insulation! The beds were well sprung and extremely comfy. One point to note is that the shower never seemed to get more than warm yet the tap water could become very hot. I never complained as the time I remembered I was always in the shower! We decided to take the breakfast option and did not regret it; essentially continental but lots of choice in fruit, meat, cheese, pastries, cereals and drinks; and toast and marmalade for those die-hards. We would definitely return, if the price was right. Just a word for those coming from El Prat airport: simple to buy a T-10 ticket from the train terminal to Sants Estacio then head for Esplanya metro; much cheaper than other options and the ticket allows for ten or more journeys.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel worked well for our large group. We were five families travelling together.
The location is on GranVia Road very close to metro station , National art museum , the Arena ( old bull rink converted to a mall).
Taxis were easily available.
National art museum has a beautiful musical fountain that plays on Thursday-Sundays. Worth walking down to it.
The hotel has aprtment type rooms but all are somewhat different from each other. Many rooms have extra single beds plus a sofa cum bed.some have 2 single beds in addition to a double bed .Some have only sofa bed and no single beds.So best to clarify or check which room u are getting according to your requirements. We had 2 children (13 &7) & our room had only one single bed in addition to our double bed .The sofa cum bed is not a given in all rooms but can be used for kids to sleep in without paying extra for it.
Room and bathroom were user friendly.
Another thing to note is that unlike apartment hotels this one did not give electric kettles nor was the room equipped with washing machines nor pots pans or pantry.They provided 2 electric kettles between 5 rooms after we reqested for it and no supplies of tea bags or sugar or milk were given.
The numerous supermarkets around the hotel came to rescue.
Another point to note is that the breakfast was available but it was charged separately.The stuff served in the tiny dining area was rather limited and by the end of 4/5 days of our stay we were desparate for change.
In hindsight perhaps a hotel in Las Ramblas with breakfast in nearby restaurants could be considered.
We utilised the terrace well and every evening would be dedicated to group drinking and home made snacking.
Staff was courteous and helpful and served us well but not extremely friendly.
All in all a good experience!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The main attraction of this Hotel is the location. It literally is one block away from all the major attractions in the area. Otherwise, its really not anything special. Its a basic room with basic services. However, the room was very clean, had good closet space, and the staff was nice as well. Be sure to remember that you have to leave your key with them at the desk and not take it out. This was sometimes confusing, but made sense as the key is an actual key and not one of those cards. Overall, I was happy with the experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel pre cruise for two nights. Hotel is really well situated near The Magic Fountain of Montjuic and the Metro. There is also a shopping centre near by with plenty of rooftop restaurants with amazing views. The airport bus stops very near to the hotel. We are a family of four and we got a family room which incorporated a small kitchen area. The hotel has a great little roof top terrace which was good to visit at the end of each evening to relax. Very clean and tidy hotel. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was ok, more continental type. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Azul Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azul Barcelona

Address: Gran via de las Cortes Catalanas 327, 08014 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Access)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#154 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azul Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Azul Barcelona is a family hotel located in the center of Barcelona, ​​at the foot of Montjuic and next to Plaza of Spain (Plaza Espana), 200 meters from Barcelona's Fair. It offers elegant accommodation, a rooftop terrace, a reception open 24 hours and free Wi-Fi in all the hotel. In one of the best connected parts of the city, by metro, bus, airport bus (direct to the airport in 15 minutes), railways ... Can be reached by metro to Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter of the city in less than 10 minutes. Also we are in a booming area and recently renovated shopping center called Las Arenas, the Magic Fountains of Montjuic or MNAC (National Art Museum of Catalonia). Our rooms are spacious (25-50 m2) and have a very colorful decor. They feature wooden floors, air conditioning, heating, flat screen TV with satellite channels and a work desk. Ideal for families, groups and business people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Azul Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azul Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Azul Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.