We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See this great hotel in its true 'colors'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colors Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colors Hotel to your Saves list
Colors Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Campoamor 79, 08031 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #421 of 510 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“See this great hotel in its true 'colors'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

On the map it looks like Colors Hotel might be noisy but not a bit of it. Clever design put the corridors on the street side of the building with the rooms inside from that. Therefore noise reduced to a minimum.

The greeting from the desk clerk was welcoming and efficient and we were quickly booked in to our 4th floor room. This was a good choice as it was above the traffic level of course and helped towards and even quieter room. Slightly spartan furnishings but clean and adequate and a good size bathroom (sometimes a bit of a smell of drains but note was made by the clerk to have this attended to).

Breakfast was continental and with lovely fresh rolls and very good coffee

A good 3 star hotel that was very usefully located near to our son and his family that delivered all that it said it would - what more could you want?
.

Room Tip: The higher the level of your room the quieter it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
13
38
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Ross, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

3 star hotel, well outside centre but an intrepid traveller would enjoy the nearby very authentic barrio of Horta, only 5 minutes walk from those busy commuter roads which surround the hotel. Room was Ok, but repainting needed. Clean and comfy enough. Paying 6 euro for Wifi is ridiculous and seems mean in this day and age. Minor problems with room were dealt with promptly. Would suit independant types. Metro a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

pros: clean rooms, spacious, good lighting, flat screen cable tv, powerful air conditioning, located in safe residential neighborhood, 10 min walk to metro (20 min metro ride to center of barcelona), bus stop on corner to central barcelona (30 min ride), friendly and informative staff, bar 24hr (desk staff rings you up), no charge for potential damages

cons: under construction-around 9am would wake up to sounds, not in the heart of barcelona, have to pay 2euro/day for the room safe (did not mention til i was there),

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel when I was on a school trip to Barcelona years ago, I think it was in 2005.
From my experience this hotel is nice and clean. The rooms are spacious enough and the bathroom was pretty and clean (new toilet seat when we arrived) and the towels were changed regularly. It was in a relatively new condition, they probably refurbished it over the years.
The location was off the city center however there is an underground station very near by so it is well connected. Plus there is a nearby bakery so you can always get something from there if you like.
The food at this hotel was nothing special, it has all the things you need from cereal to criossants to salami slices, however for breakfast I used to eat crepes with chocolate syrup, don't know if they still have it. This hotel is also a restaurant so they serve food in the evening as well.

Like I said, I stayed in this hotel as part of a school excursion. Half of the students were in this hotel and the other half stayed in a three star hotel and visited us in Colors Hotel. Apparently this hotel was nicer and in a better condition than the three star one, so that's saying something.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

when we went to Barcelona the media summit was taking place so all of the city centre hotels were fully booked or way too expensive. this hotel is out of the city centre, but the metro system is so handy, justa 5 min walk away and really cheap to use. we bought a 3 day pass and were on and off the metro lots of times!!

as for the hotel itself, i was not really a fan. the walls were so thin that i could hear the next door alarm going off every morning and could hear them talking as though they were sitting right beside me. i could alo hear the woman in the upstairs room walking around in high heals, this was rally loud and really annoying. there was also a really foul smell from the toilets in the recption area. we did not eat or drink in the hotel as it did not look appealing and there was no atmosphere but there were so many nice places to eat in las ramblas. there was a TV in the room but it only had Catalan and Spanish speaking channels. also our room was on the ground floor soeveryone entering the hotel could look into our room, his felt a little uncomfortable so we kept our curtains closed.

it would be a good room if u just want somewhere basic to explore the city from but i like to look forward to returning to a comfy room at the end of a day of exploring but i didnt look forward to returning to here!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hesperia Sant Joan
#174 of 510 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#356 of 510 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Bonanova Park
#335 of 510 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge L'Hospitalet
#367 of 510 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#137 of 510 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Paris
Hostal Paris
#401 of 510 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colors Hotel

Address: C/ Campoamor 79, 08031 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #421 of 510 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Colors Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Colors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colors Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colors Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.