We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia to your Saves list
Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   C/ Provenza 412 - 414, 08025 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“fantastic apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a short break from work / exams for the kids
Our apartment was just fantastic, it was spacious for family of four, it was clean and well equipped. I was surprised given its location.
This place is a must for a great place to stay
i have to say we didn't use the spa, no matter as the kids were not old enough, strange that they have such a rule but regardless we like the apartment

Room Tip: great sized apartment for a family with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEPESTEL S A M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank You so much for your comment! Your wonderfull words help us to work with dedication and determination. We so sorry for the SPA that its not availible for the kids, but we always put all conditions in the moment of the booking. We hope that we see You again in Our apartments!
kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    27
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
8
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was on mid august in the apartments. Simply gorgeous. Definetly its a good extra to access the SPA. You have to remember that is for 17 over. I was lucky that i went with friends over there. Paulina and Vita are extremely helpful with anything you need during your stay, even they helped me booking another hotel in Madrid.
Definetly i would go back again :)

Room Tip: perfect for looking in the inside part of the building, lot of sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEPESTEL S A M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your words, we love that you had a great time in this city and into our apartments. We have sent your comment to our in house staff and they appreciate your nice words. They hope to see you soon at their reception in Castro Exclusive Residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice apartments on a very nice location (3 min. walking from Sagrada Familia).
But services not so good.
SPA is not what you usually expect it to be and not allowed under 18yo.
Why apartments are available for families if a portion of the family (3 kids) is not allowed to specific services?
They dont tell you that when you book the apartment.
Making up of the room supposed to be on a daily basis, but I had to complain a couple of times because room was not made up at six p.m. yet.
The day before leaving they didnt made up the room at all.
Is it a strategy to save expenses?.
Asked for any sort of accomodation but manager on the phone rejected all.
They only offered a couple of additional days free of charges well knowing peolple on vacation can not extend airline reservation.
Parking lot is expensive (30euro a day) and in the middle of August parking space was completely empty.
If none is using it, parking lot should be less expenses, but they seem not to care so much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEPESTEL S A M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
The first, thanks for Your comment couse help us to make better in the points from Your text.
Respect to cleanning of Your room- we dont remember the incident but we trust that this is not to repeat. The conditions of use of SPA its in booking. We will try to explain with more details. The Parking its cheaper like stay the car in the parking of the street. And its more security and confortable for users.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visiting Barcelona for the first time with two mid-teens. The Castro has a great location near Segrada Familia so lots of life in nearby streets and parks. The apartments have everything you need - washing machine, dishwasher, dryer, fully equipped kitchen so no problems at all. The service both at reception and the daily attendance to the rooms was of the highest standard. We particularly appreciated the friendly and unfussy yet professional approach. Some very minor snags on arrival quickly attended to. On the whole the apartment was stylish yet comfortable with ample accommodation. Proximity to a very good supermarket over the road and small but friendly bar again over the road and small shops on the street corners to buy souvenirs and other things made everything very convenient. Easy access to metro stations made getting around very easy. Just by the Segrada Familia (2-3 minutes walk) there are tourist information points where you can buy tickets for the open topped bus - I found the staff there most friendly and helpful. The apartments are situated in Eixample - an area populated by local people so even in August it is still possible to get a glimpse of local life - where else can you have a stroll in a nice park after midnight and find lots of local families mingling with visitors all enjoying the night air? Quick word about access to the gym and spa. There are passes included which is a nice value-add but access restricted to 17 years plus so we didn't bother. However we knew that before arriving and while it all looked nice, there is so much to do and see in Barcelona that it wasn't missed - we can always go to a gym at home if we want to. Final word about the service - really friendly and helpful, daily cleaning exceeded all expectations and all made for a really homely feel which makes a lovely accompanyment to the vibrancy of this great city. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor at the rear. Lovely sunny balcony and view over small play area mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEPESTEL S A M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Your nice comment is welcome, your words push us to keep working with the same energy and put in an effort. Thank you for your faith in us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We just finished with a 7 night stay at the Castro Exclusive Residences and had a wonderful stay. We were a little worried when we first arrived and were put into a bottom floor apartment that had a broken lock on the window, no way to lock the door out to a patio, was less than clean and had a host of other problems. We promptly asked for an upper floor and gave the housekeeper a tip ahead of time. When we were moved to our new room, it was spotless and had no problems whatsover. We rented a 3 bedroom apartment that came with a large kitchen, washer/dryer/, tea kettle, toaster, pots and pans and dishware, two baths, one bedroom with a queen bed, one bedroom with twin beds and one bedroom with two twins. It was perfect for our two children and their grandma who had her own room. The Castro is located in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance to the Familia Sagrada. If I have one super insiders advice, I would highly recommend visiting the tourist kiosk right next to the Familia Sagrada. They can help you with so much information on sites to visit and tours, etc. They helped us figure out how to take the train to Montserrat on our own instead of on a tour bus which was wonderful. As much as I loved spending time in the Gothic Quarter several days in a row, I appreciated that the Castro was outside of the hustle-bustle of Las Ramblas and the other busy, touristy areas. One traveler recommended to eat at Chills Cafe down the street but we ate there and found it less than yummy. The best part of the Castro is a mid-size supermarket directly across the street where you can buy most everything you will need for your stay. It is so convenient. There is also a subway and Starbucks (of all things) within walking distance and several little casual restaurants and cafes around. The clerks at the front desk are all very sweet and will help you with any questions you have. They were not always able to find out exactly what I needed (for example, they were not able to help us sort out the train schedule which is why I was grateful to find the tourist kiosk) but they will do their best and have a great attitude. The only drawback is that the clerks leave in the evening and you must wait until morning if you need help with anything.
Overall, this is a solid stay for families visiting Barcelona and we would stay again in the future.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEPESTEL S A M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Your words was been like incentive to making better our work. We are entusiastics too of Barcelona. If You will come back here- write Us to welcome@castroexclusiveresidences.com and we will try to surprise You with the secrets places of the city! Thank You for Your comment and see You next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cave creek, az
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel has a very nice location near the Duomo but what makes it so nice is the service. Wonderfully kind people working at the hotel. The hotel itself is just average but we prefer more bustling places so it was just a bit too quiet for our taste which isnt really any fault of theirs...many travelers might prefer the quiet. Also the gym was far. I had to walk quite a distance. The breakfast is in a building outside the hotel and a few door down.

Room Tip: Not sure there even is a room with the view of the Duomo as it seems impossible, Ours just faced a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEPESTEL S A M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your words, We hope to see you soon again and thank you for your trust in Castro Exclusive Residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much indeed, the place was really nicely decorated, clean and well equipped. It was located very close the the underground, but even still we walked everywhere.. it only takes 20-30 minutes to walk in the centre using iphone map. The girl on the desk spoke incredibly good english and was SO helpful, she even offered to go the chemist for me to get painkillers for my headache! The only gripe I have is shower didn't work so well and due to us only being there for a long weekend it didn;t get fixed, but it didn't spoil our trip at all... that is the only reason I am not giving it 5*

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEPESTEL S A M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Google Translation
Es una satisfacción saber que ha disfrutado de nuestros apartamentos, agradecidos por las bonitas palabras y el tiempo dedicado a su comentario. Por nuestra parte decirle que luego se su estancia hemos revisado las duchas de todos los apartamentos para no volver a tener ningún inconveniente. Esperamos volver a verla próximamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia

Address: C/ Provenza 412 - 414, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Words like comfort, location, sustainability and modernity are the perfect definition for this exclusive residences concept in Barcelona.The privileged location and views of this building makes possible to see the Sagrada Familia temple, and in a 10 minutes’ walk arrive to the city center, were the Modernist Barcelona merges with the business district combined with the most exclusive shops; Paseo de Gracia.3 metro stops and the “Bus Turistic” for a perfect communication with any part of the city.Our building has 20 residences with 80 sqm with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms fully equipped with all the luxurious details and amenities for up to 6 people. It offers concierge service, daily cleaning of the apartments, electronic surveillance, safe, among others.You have at your disposal the Metropolitan Restaurant, where you can enjoy breakfast and lunch low in calories for a minimum price.Other services we offer are parking, purchase of food packages, discounts in upscale restaurants, baby cots, baby-sitters, and much more.You will enjoy the best connectivity with Wi-free, and you can enjoy our multimedia library; both movies and music specially selected for you to make your stay unique. (We include top technology with 2 TVs, 50 "with ambilight system and 32" accompanied by a gorgeous speaker system so you can play all your favorite music).The colorfulness, exclusivity and elegance are the mainstay of the decoration, which integrates the real essence of Barcelona.If you just want to pamper yourself, we encourage you to relax in the beautiful spa, with more than 2,500 m2 dedicated to wellness and physical activity "Metropolitan". For us sustainability is not necessary, is essential. Therefore we offer you products that respect the environment, LED lighting and a hybrid car rental service.Experience the stylish city Barcelona, be amazed by our cultural and gastronomic offer.From Castro exclusive residences we want your stay in Barcelona is unique because our commitment is to transform your visit into a ... see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.