We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happened to pass by” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar

The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar
Placa Santa Maria 1, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
34-93-3102390
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$84*
and up
Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including...
Ranked #11 of 288 Attractions in Barcelona
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the fourteenth century, this cathedral is one of the most important religious centers in Barcelona.
New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Happened to pass by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went into the church on our way to the Sea. The inside is beautiful but obviously does not quite compare to other churches in the area. Beautiful stained glass can be found throughout and candles are available for purchase.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,078
    1,001
    206
    20
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“huge free church”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

if you saw one church youve seen it all. I went to Sagrada famila and this one only since i was in barcelona for only 2 and a half days. Very dark inside but summarizes most gothic churches. Plus its free and in the gothic quarter/ near the beach

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit - take a guided tour if you can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The impact of the visit multiply easily if you see this magnificent place in a guided tour, especially if it takes you to the roof. Very special church, not just another church in Europe. Everything about is nice, including the musician outside its walls. There is a guitar player there who plays the majestic concierrto de aranjuuez of joaqium rodrigo and does a very nice job. Don't miss this attraction.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Rooftop Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This church is not very ornate (it dates back kto the 13th century), but we took a tour, which led to two levels on the top of the structure. I have been on such church tours before (to bell towers, etc), but never to the roof. This was a unique experience, with great views of the city!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We participated the guided tour to tower and the roof top of this cathedral. So marvellous wiew over the city and one of the bet guides I have come accross - a historian with enthusiams for his home town. This place is a must especially if you have read the book " The Cathedral of the See"

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.