We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day but some small cages!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Zoo

Barcelona Zoo
Parc de la Ciutadella | La Ribera/Port Ol'mpic, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
902 45 75 45
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$47*
and up
Barcelona High-Speed RIB Boat Cruise
Ranked #76 of 287 Attractions in Barcelona
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great day but some small cages!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The zoo was excellent we spent 4 hours there. Ive never seen kangaroos which are there! That was amazing. It was a large area to walk area enjoying the animals, sun and park. However some cages were quite small for example the lions for that amount of lions even 1 it was too small and not nice to see! Rather than have so many animals have bigger enclosures.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    421
    183
    58
    68
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good attraction but not very big”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited the zoo with a group of school kids aged 15 and 16.

The zoo wasn't very big at all but there were some animals that the kids had never seen in real life before such as the hippos and giraffes.

The zoo was well kept and tidy but some of the enclosures were tiny and the smell was a little overbearing.

The facilities for food were not very good and we were limited to hot dogs. The other restaurant was closed but that might have been because we visited in March.

We didn't go to the live shows as there were literally hundreds of pre-school children about.

Don't plan on spending a whole day there!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“happy zoo-time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Right in the center of Barcelona, in the Parc de la Ciutadella, you enter a nice area, with botanical world-wide plants and then you see the entrance to the zoo. One may think, as we did, that is a tiny little zoo, like two birds and a lion. Wrong! We enter the zoo at 10am and stayed there until 6pm. And we didn't see all of it! There are a lot of animals, exotic birds, etc. But there are also educational shows, free of charge, with dolphin shows every day. Worth every penny of your money!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Zoo is nice and interesting, but it is smaller then we supposed. Dolphins and sealions shows were really amazing and you can have a lot of fun there. Time in zoo was really very relaxing and another plus is that zoo is in the park de la Ciutadela so you can easily spend whole day in this area (park + zoo)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Way To Spend a Sunny Afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice grounds and lots of different animals. More spaniards then you get at other attractions, so feel less touristy. It's much bigger than it looks from the outside and we regret not having shopped for a picnic en route through El Born as lots of places to st and enjoy one.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona Zoo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Barcelona Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.