We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star but past it's peak” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Pio XII 4, 08028 Barcelona, Spain (Les Corts)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #100 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“5 star but past it's peak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Spent 1 night here, as it's really close to Nou Camp, which was the reason for staying. It's a grand hotel but needs modernising..... Key fob to room finally worked after 20 attempts, antiquated bathroom had a ghastly shower curtain that got sucked into the shower area when used. I'm sure using the bath would have been fine. Bed & pillows ok.
Friendly staff throughout, good restaurant/bar on the ground floor, also great breakfast spread in a vast room 2 floors below reception (once I found it, as I couldn't see any signs... )
Added bonus - Barcelona football team walked through heading for lunch there before their game - I guess that's a good advertisement for the cuisine ?!
Perfect location for Nou Camp - that's it's claim to fame

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    375
    165
    69
    22
See reviews for
189
275
69
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Staff were very helpful. Stayed in the club room. The rooms were very comfortable. Hotel was very clean and tidy. Would certainly give a five star rating, worth the money. Would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Level 16 and upwards were the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is a little jaded (seems to have been built in the 80s and has not been renovated since then) but compensated by a great location and excellent service. We were there on a personal trip which coincided with the mobile congress and the hotel rates were very high and that's the only reason I have given it a 4 star rating. But even with the rush, the service levels were excellent, room service was prompt and the people behind the reception polite and very helpful. The views from the room were amazing. We had a view of the stadium. And yes, the breakfast is a good spread and good value for money.

Room Tip: Take a room on a high floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

its location was perfect for us. we were satisfied with the staff willing to help us as much as possible. breakfast has a variety of choice. the rooms were comfortable and clean. i have been in nicer 5star hotels but i was not dissappointed from this hotel even if it could be a 4star one.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Overall the hotel is quite nice but looks more like a 4 star hotel. Good location - very close to the subway. Room was nice & clean but not very big. The staff were helpful although Catalans are not very friendly in general. We enjoyed the breakfast and lunch buffets.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed there for 7 nights, friendly staff, but sometimes understaffed. Check-in could be frustrating with only one counter open after a long intercontinental flights. Good location, a few places to hang out in the afternoon and only a cab away from anywhere. Could put on your jogging shoes and run a few miles. Taxi and other means of transportation always available in front of the hotel if one requires. 5-mins walk to FCB stadium is a plus for soccer fan. I think this is a clean, quality staff, 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over the April bank holiday. We selected the hotel through an airline offer and we were booked into a standard double room. At check in we were told that we could upgrade to the club floors (16 to 18) for an extremely reasonable price. The whole process of check in was very smooth. As we arrived really early in the morning at the hotel we were prepared to wait for a few hours until the standard check in time. But were pleasantly surprised that the room was given to us almost immediately. The staff were very friendly, helpful and gave various suggestions for travel in the city as well as booked tickets for the various events. We were thoroughly pampered during our four days of stay. Variety of tapas, snacks, desserts, drinks were available through out the day. Definitely recommend this hotel. If you are a football fan and are planning on seeing a home game for Barcelona, I definitely recommend that you book in to this hotel. The stadium is only short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: City facing rooms especially in the club floors 16 to 18 give excellent views. If you can upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia

Address: Plaza Pio XII 4, 08028 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first 5* hotel in the city, this emblematic luxury retreat forms part of the history of Barcelona and bristles with tales around national and international royalty and important figures from the world of politics, culture and entertainment who have been amongst its guests. Perfectly located on the famous Avinguda Diagonal - in the noble financial district of the city - it is only a 5 minute walk away from Camp Nou football stadium, home of the legendary FC Barcelona, and a mere 12km from the airport. Its 500 timelessly elegant rooms are all exterior-facing and offer - from the 9th floor up - magnificent panoramic views of the Catalan capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Princesa Sofia
Princess Sofia Barcelona
Princess Sofia Hotel Barcelona
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.