We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Pio XII 4, 08028 Barcelona, Spain (Les Corts)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #107 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuwait
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice hotel, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Amazing hotel in a good location. The service we got from the Club lounge is amazing. Peter the concierge made the stay even better, great recommendations and QUICK service. Our breakfast waiter Guerrero is great as well. The community there made the stay comfortable, easy and memorable.

Room Tip: The Club rooms are nice rooms, the service that you get with a club room is unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    414
    182
    74
    23
See reviews for
211
311
72
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I loved being in barcelona being close to many good places the view from the room window was fabulous and the hotel is amazing and chick but I did not like the service at all and the brackfast was not yumy at all

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my daughter in February. We were upgraded to the club floor and the service there was excellent. Super room, free wifi, access to leisure club. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. They even remembered our drinks and helped us book sightseeing trips.
Although the hotel is not in the centre a taxi there is only £10 each way or the metro was only a short walk away.
Great tapas restaurant in the way to the shopping centre which is within walking distance.
Would visit again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a club floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Spent 3 nights here for a conference. Looked after well overall..checked in via The Club..nice and close to Camp Nou for football fans..room was very comfortable with a good view of the snow..and its close to some good shopping and restaurants

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It is a very nice hotel and I enjoyed very much. Actually, I forgot how it can be pleasent in the property which tries to keep a sense of the past and I enjoyed in its style. The general manager outwits everyone who intend eventually to write a negative comment by sending a confidential evaluation form addressed to your name. In some sense, he is "stealing" a business to Tripadvisor. I wouldn't feel good to write anything bad in the public, as he really offered the possibility to send the feedback and suggestions for improvement directly to him. And I like so much Molton Brown. I stayed here for the Conference, the event management was smooth and staff at every point very pleasant and helpful. The food is excellent, Internet connection was very good, and pillows are excellent. The station of red line touristic bus is just outside hotel. I use only this kind of transportation in Barcelona, and I am always amazed with its beauty.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at higher floors, the view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed over a two night stay as a family to attend a Barcelona game at the Camp Nou stadium as it is conveniently located with only a 5 minute walk from the stadium. We had inter-connecting rooms which a lovely spacious size with plenty of storage. One of the rooms had tea/coffee making facilities which was great as, having watched a late 10 pm kick off game in the freezing cold, coming back to hot drinks was a relief. We had a bar snack upon arrival of toasted sandwich and chips with drinks but that was a bit of a let down as the chips were not properly cooked and, considering the high prices was really quite unacceptable. Breakfast was lovely with a good variety of food available. We eat in the restaurant and decided on the buffet food at 35 Euros each for three courses and the food lovely with a good selection available to include a selection of meat and fish available to grill. We found the drinks to be quite expensive.

All in all a good, comfortable stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've stayed for 5 days during a business trip. The hotel staff were friendly, the check in & check out were so smooth. The Camp Nou stadium is so close if you are fan of Barcelona "Must See". Walking distance there is a starbucks, El Corte Angles (Shopping mall) & L'illa (Shopping Mall) are just 10 minutes walk where they are allocated on the Avenida Diagonal Main Street.
Reaching Las Ramblas "Placa Catalunya" is just 15 minutes by underground from Maria Cristina station.
If you are looking for shopping don't miss Macson Maremagnum & La Roca Village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia

Address: Plaza Pio XII 4, 08028 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#91 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first 5* hotel in the city, this emblematic luxury retreat forms part of the history of Barcelona and bristles with tales around national and international royalty and important figures from the world of politics, culture and entertainment who have been amongst its guests. Perfectly located on the famous Avinguda Diagonal - in the noble financial district of the city - it is only a 5 minute walk away from Camp Nou football stadium, home of the legendary FC Barcelona, and a mere 12km from the airport. Its 500 timelessly elegant rooms are all exterior-facing and offer - from the 9th floor up - magnificent panoramic views of the Catalan capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Princesa Sofia
Princess Sofia Barcelona
Princess Sofia Hotel Barcelona
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.