We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Goya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Goya to your Saves list
Hostal Goya
Pau Claris, 74, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 303 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a lovely stay, the accommodation was just right for our needs - we wanted to stay somewhere close to the centre so we could take advantage of everything Barcelona has to offer. We will certainly return for another stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    122
    31
    4
    6
See reviews for
34
127
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I cannot speak more highly of hostal Goya. We stayed for 5 nights and the location was perfect for sight seeing. We checked in late at night and the receptionist showed us straight to our room and asked us to call back to him the next morning so he could give us a map. He was very welcoming and the room was beautiful. Very clean, lovely bathroom, very comfortable bed and life saving A/C!! The next morning a different receptionist showed us where we were on the map and gave us very thorough details on where to eat, drink and sight see. She was so helpful. For the five days we came and went from Goya and our room was immaculate each day we got back. I cannot recommend Goya enough, the only place to stay in Barcelona for us!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hostal Goya for 2 days with my boyfriend in a double room with private bath. Considering this has the title hostal I assumed it would be like the ones I've previously stayed in before but it's a lot nicer and more private.

The room was TINY though; if you have a regular sized luggage it will not fit especially with 2 luggages open on the ground. Thankfully we both brought carry ons and it was still cramped for space.

The place is designed similar to Ikea or really simplistic styles which I liked and the bathroom was ok with a closed shower and all the necessities (ie hairdryer). Could still make the bathroom a little bigger though.

Overall, service wasn't bad, the staff gave us maps and directions to the places we needed to see. We were also able to book tours and taxi transfers with them, with no trouble.
The hostal is split into different floors sharing it with other local apartments. Our floor had a little lounge with tv, Internet, and free coffee.

I'm not sure if I would book here again now that I have a certain idea of the surroundings but this place I think may be quite competitive in terms of price compared to more expensive surrounding hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A really good place to land, especially if you are looking for a central location and good value for money. The friendly hotel staff provide lots of information and recommendations. While basic, the rooms are clean and modern and there is a common area with couches, a TV, computer and tea/coffee making facilities. We had never been to Barcelona before, and staying at the Goya helped us ease into this exciting city with little effort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I recently stayed two nights. Was booked in another B&B but they underwent renovations therefore the owner rebooked me here at Goya, I got the single room which size wise, it is very tiny and basic, but adequate and comfortable if you are not going to be in your room much. The single room came with a sink while the rooms on that floor share a common area (with a computer, some tea/coffee facilities, a tv and a couch) and a shared bathroom, which the cleanliness was appreciated. The most positive of my stay was the receptionist (pau? Forgot her name-she works nights). Upon my arrival, she showed me where we were on the map and pointed out a few attractions close-by and even made some dining recommendations. This was very handy for a newbie like me to Barcelona. Location wise its convenient as well, situated close to major road jntersections and very close to the main catalunya square (where aerobus from airport drops u) and to the famous La Rambla. I will certainly look to stay there again next time but see if they have bigger rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the common area and shared bathroom for less noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Fantastic location beside most of the sights. Three min walk to aerobus stop.
Good recommendations from friendly hotel staff for restraunts and sightseeing.
This hostal is a cross between a youth hostal and small boutique hotel. Rooms are nicely furnished but basic and has common areas with couches,televisions. Perfect base for a short stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed in this hostel one night with my boyfriend, and one night by myself. It is in a very convenient location; easy walk to the metro and airport shuttle bus stop, even with rolling luggage. Also an easy walk to the Rambla, Old City, Barcelona City Museum, lots of department stores, shopping and restaurants. It is very safe; the front door and doors to separate floors of the hostel are kept locked at all times (you will receive a key when you check in). The rooms were spotlessly clean but very small and basic (bed, small desk, bathroom, no decorations, basic white paint on the walls). The front desk personnel spoke English well and were helpful with directions to tourist destinations and restaurant recommendations. There is an "all-you-can-eat" salad/buffet place across the street if you want something cheap, filling and quick. The furniture in the common areas is definitely worn out but useable. There is a computer on each floor that can be used by guests for no additional fee. If you plan to be out exploring the city all day, this is a good option for a safe, clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Goya

Address: Pau Claris, 74, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent location, very close to Placa Catalunya, Hostal Goya is one of the best options to enjoy your stay in Barcelona, one of the most fascinating cities in Europe. Located in the main shopping, tourist and business zone of Barcelona, Bed and Breakfast Goya is the perfect starting point to discover the jewels of Gaudí at Passeig de Gràcia, the mythical Ramblas or the Gothic Cathedral. On your arrival, our staff will provide you information about tour services, location, restaurants tapas bars, and tips on where to go. Do you need tickets for FC Barcelona, the Sagrada Familia or the last musical? We will book them for you. Within the same family atmosphere, we offer two types of accommodation: Bed and Breakfast Goya and the new apartment. In both options you will find the same quality of standards and services with brand new refurbished and stylish decorated bedrooms. Bed and Breakfast Goya provides WiFI for your laptop, TV lounge, bilingual assistance and 24 hour front desk, as well as ticketing service, laundry and car rental. Bed and Breakfast Goya, in the city centre Barcelona, is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Goya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Goya Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Goya Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Goya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.