We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with ac” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Eden to your Saves list
Hostal Eden
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   C/ Balmes 55, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #418 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Jyvaskyla, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location with ac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hostel has pretty good location near central. There is air conditioning in the room which was great. The bathroom is ok and there is a fridge in the room. You get a good value for your money. There are many shops and bars near the hostel. Overall very nice hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    38
    17
    30
See reviews for
11
42
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived late and shell-shocked by heat and travel -the room was cool and clean, the decor quirky and characterful in the right sort of way. The big bath was a good surprise. We had a balcony overlooking the street and a little supermarket opposite plus a couple of friendly bars etc. So it was great -and can't have been noisy as we all slept well. At that price we got better than expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hostel is situated in a very good location quite central, short walking distance from Las Ramblas and Placa Catalunya.

For the price you pay compared to accommodation in Barcelona having a private bathroom the price is good. The rooms are average, we also had a fridge in our room which we found helpful. When first arriving at the hostel with luggage, go for the key from the reception to use the lift as it does not work without the key.

The receptionist was very kind and helpful but for some reason or other she did not give us good direction to bus station (Estacio Nord) maybe she misunderstood us or I dont know, but if we did not recheck ourselves to ensure this we would have gone somewhere else and loose the bus that would take us to the airport.

On the whole I recommend the hostel as it is in an ideal location, but if you are looking for luxury then you have to pay more.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I think for the money you pay this is good accomidation. The area is niceand only a short walk from the centre of town and some good (and cheap) local bars in very close distance. The rooms can vary - we were a group of four and we had two rooms one being definately nicer and quieter than the other. This said the rooms were cleaned daily and for the price to have your own bathroom in a location this central not sure what more you could ask.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you fly in and arrive by train or the Aerobus Eden can easily be reached by just walking. The lift only works with a key so you'll need to first walk up to ask for assistance. It's nothing fancy but for a family of four the place was big enough and good enough since we focused on the attractions of Barcelona instead of spending a lot of time in our room. The staff was helpful, and the place has huge lockers for the luggage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for a city wandering, just 3 minutes walking distance from La Rambla and the same distance from direct train connection to the airport. Room with private bathroom was OK and spacious (speaking of a hostel) with cleaning and bed changed every day. Lockers for luggage are available here so we could spend also the last day wandering around.
Free high-quality wireless internet.

Cons: noise coming from the street gave the impression of an opened window though it was closed (we've tried like hundred times...). Solution = 0,95? earplugs which did the job perfectly and you get them in any pharmacy on the corner.
The door lock was rather simple and window could not be locked properly, but it is a well priced hostel so that should not be a surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This Hostal is in a very good area, 5 min. walking to Placa Catalunya and about 3 blogs from Casa Batllo and La Pedrera.
It is old, but the floor and the bathroom is renewed. The rooms are small but this is no problem if you are travelling to Barcelona not to stay the half day in your Room. This was no problem for me!
It is very simple equipped (a chair could be helpful to have some space to let something) but there was a hair dryer and a fridge there.
WiFi was working well.
The Room looks maybe not very Clean, because it is old, but the cleanliness was very good.
Staff was ok: A man who worked in the night shift did not know English, but he was very positive and helpful, we contacted effectively. I didn't had any problem with the Staff generally.
If you don't have high expectations, then is it a great value for money! If you have high expectations, then it's sure that you have to spend more money for your stay in another place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Eden

Address: C/ Balmes 55, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Eden 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Eden Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Eden Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.