We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, tired hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ronda Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ronda Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ronda Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sant Erasme 19, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #450 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic, tired hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 8 nights whilst working at Port of Barcelona. Needless to say I didn't get to see the sights, although from my travels to get food at night it appears to be located close enough to many restaurants. A metro station about 100m away and most cabs can get to the hotel to pick you up but try getting them to drop you off there. It is located by a type of pedestrianised area next to the local market and there must be a secret route to get to the front door which they will bother to find to get the fare but not when dropping you off. The hotel itself is very tired, the walls are very thin - all I could hear were the lifts, people returning to their rooms and near neighbours showering. The view from the rooms at the rear are of a large pipe and walls and would not be much better from the front. Breakfast was very basic, cheese and ham baguette or a croissant, watered down juice and tea or coffee. Internet access was expensive - 12 euros for 24 hours - but a reasonable speed from previous hotel experiences. Hotel staff at reception were always helpful and friendly, and were the only plus points for my stay, although my bed was quite comfortable. If you want to be close to central Barcelona, only going to use the room to sleep and shower and don't want to pay extortionate rates then it may be ok for a weekend break but 8 nights for me was 5 nights too long.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    121
    135
    65
    76
See reviews for
32
77
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frontalierland Geneva
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is in a good location 10 minutes from the centre but with reasonable amenities on the doorstep. It is classified as 3* but it really is very basic with absolutely no facilities or services provided. The room was clean and large but contained very basic furniture only - bed, built in table, one chair, tiny TV way up on the wall, nothing else. Everything is built in and bolted on as if the hotel is concerned about theft by clients - the TV remote is handed over at check in and there is nothing in the room other than what is absolutely necessary to sleep. The bathroom has one sachet of soap and multi purpose washing gel and again is absolutely bare and basic. There are absolutely no additional services available - there is a small café downstairs although they do not offer room service, and nothing else. If you need a bed for the night and have no concern about comfort or amenities then it's fine. However it is obviously used by large parties and the walls are thin, and there was a lot of noise during the night from groups arriving home, it felt more like a youth hostel. The staff were not particularly helpful or smiling - they too give the impression of not wanting to be there! Honestly, we did not intend to book this hotel, we were stuck for one night during a busy weekend and stayed as a last resort. Based on the reviews we were worried it was going to be awful - it wasn't awful but we would certainly plan ahead next time so we don't have to stay there again!

Room Tip: The corridors are so narrow with the rooms so close that it is best to ask for a room close to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Tsofit:
The hotel located quite close to La Rambla
The stuff are very nice and helpful
Faulst:
1. They wrote the bathroom is equipped with shampoo etc., in fact those were samples.
2. The toilets & sink were clogged (we asked and they fixed it fast, but...)
3. The walls were very thin - we could here our neigbours talk and use the water
Our luck was that we weren't a lot at the hotel - only at nights to sleep

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

11 May 2013 regarding the problems we encountered with this hotel on our recent stay.
We booked a double room via to stay at the Hotel Ronda in Barcelona between 7th May 2013 and 11th May 2013 in the name of Kevin Darby and Yvonne Darby. It was clearly stated on the booking that breakfast was included and this was the main reason for booking this particular hotel as Kevin is an insulin dependent diabetic.

On the first morning Kevin and I sat down to breakfast and ate from the small buffet that was available; the buffet consisted of toast, coffee, orange juice, one type of cereal; one type of youghurt; three or four types of hams and a couple of types of fruit. There was no waiter in the restaurant at all that morning, and there were a quite a few other diners all eating freely from the buffet! We then left the hotel to enjoy the rest of the day. On the morning of the 8th of May we sat down to breakfast ; we were the only diners in the room at that time. A gentleman who we presume to be a waiter due to his attire approached us and asked for our room number which we gave him. He went away in the direction of the main hotel reception and came back with a card which had pictures of croissants and hams etc on it and said that we had to pay 3 Euros each for breakfast! We said that breakfast was included and we refused to pay anything. He eventually said that we were allowed a Continental breakfast for free and that this actually meant a slice of toast, a cup of coffee and a glass of orange juice. Eventually and only because my husband had already injected his insulin, I said I would pay the 6 Euros for today but that we would complain to the manager. I went up to our room, fetched the 6 Euros and returned to pay the waiter. We then continued to eat from the buffet that was available; the waiter returned again after a few minutes and told me that it was 4 Euros each for the breakfast and that I owed him 2 more Euros! We flatly refused to pay this; we finished our breakfast ( the waiter hovered over us the whole time watching what we were eating),and we then left the room. We then went to see the girl at the main reception; we complained to her and pointed out that breakfast was included. She repeated what the waiter had said ; that we were entitled to Complimentary free breakfast and that this consisted of toast only with a glass of juice and a cup of coffee ! We complained bitterly about this and she eventually took a copy of our Late Rooms booking form and said she would talk to the manager. We went out for the day and on our return to the hotel we queried whether the reception staff had reported our complaint to the manager.The girl at the desk said they had reported it to him and that he had repeated that Complimentary continental breakfast was included but that this only consisted of toast, a cup of coffee and a glass of orange juice! At this point we said we would report this matter to yourselves upon our return to England but we were very upset as we had particularly picked this hotel because of the breakfast!

For the remaining two days of our holiday we had to pay for breakfast elsewhere as we were not prepared to pay extra to the restaurant when as far as we were concerned the whole breakfast should have been included and the situation is difficult with Kevin being insulin dependent. He needs to eat fairly quickly once he is awake and the situation meant that we had to go looking for a restaurant with suitable food and we had to pay extra money for breakfast which we had not budgeted for and this spoilt our enjoyment of our holiday.

The hotel was not cheap; particularly for Thursday and Friday night and it was wrong that we had to pay out extra money just to get a decent breakfast. The hotel staff were not interested and were not very helpful at all. The hotel is also in a very dodgy and dirty location; there were prositutes outside and we were kept awake all night due to the noise outside which was horrendous and we do mean ALL NIGHT; the noise did not stop until 6am ! The rooms were also substandard; it was certainly not worth the money we paid and it is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and we go on holiday a lot!

We feel that you should not be advertsing this hotel on your site ; it is completely sub standard; we would not pay even 20 Euros a night for it !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

10 minute walk from ramblas.
Breakfast buffet good on first day, second day was a menu with not much choice and we were left feeling hungry.
Other guests were very noisy late at night and very early in the morning, you can hear everything. Other than this great hotel for what we paid!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Booked last minute for two nights before flying out of Spain. I chose this hotel because it had secure parking and was cheap but 3 stars, well located in centre of Barcelona. Basic hotel with comfortable room, twin beds, very little furniture and excellent shower. Weather was appalling in Barcelona with heavy rain for most of time. 10 minute walk to Ramblas and shops but restaurants and bars close by with lots of life. Parking was 20 Euros/night underground which added significantly to cost of stay but at least it was secure and cost comparable with all other hotels. Breakfast, included, was continental, for 8.50Euros you could have buffet breakfast. Reception was very helpful, service in restaurant efficient but no smile or courtesy. Having said all that we were not paying much and therefore overall it was good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean, quiet hotel. Just thought it would be closer to la rambla- its around 10 min walk- easy access- staright/ left and youre there. Happy with it. Modern- i think it was refurb anyway some time ago. Only thing- no shower gel/ proper soap in bathroom( they dont supply it at all). Wifi- need to pay. Overall- defo would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ronda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ronda Hotel

Address: Sant Erasme 19, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ronda Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern architecture, multilingual staff & restaurant is centrally located near the historical center & the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HostelBookers, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ronda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ronda Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ronda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.