We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any benefit of this Hostal's location comes completely undone by the paper thin walls and lack of sleep that you will get stayin” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Levante

Save Saved
You added Hostal Levante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Levante
Baixada de Sant Miguel, 2, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 686 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Any benefit of this Hostal's location comes completely undone by the paper thin walls and lack of sleep that you will get stayin”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

On arrival the hostal was difficult to find (poorly signed) and in amongst other residences which I was not expecting. Don't attempt the lift - it is slow and dangerous.
The location of the hostal was great. When I first arrived I was pleased to see that the Gothic Quarter was only a short walk away. But when I returned to my room to sleep, I realised where this place was lacking! If you have any expectation of a couple of hours sleep per night DO NOT STAY HERE! The walls are paper thin and parties downstairs on the street feel as if they are in your room. My room was right next to reception and when there wan't noise outside there was certainly noises inside.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    70
    38
    17
    20
See reviews for
15
60
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Hostal Levante is a basic hostel in a good location. We had a double room with a shared bathroom and we thought it was pretty good value for money. The room was very small however and lacked ventilation. The small fan helped slightly. The staff were helpful and the place seemed pretty safe.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The rooms are small, but the bed is decent and so is the bathroom. But do not forget to take your valuables with you when you leave the hostel in the morning. The cleaning staff steals. No aircon, but a nice fan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at this hostel at end of an intrepid trip and added on a few nights privately. It is clean and good location but not value for money. Other places close by are much much better.
Our room on level 4 was a double and very smal, no air con only a small fan so very hot. Location was noisy and had to wear ear plugs at night. No TV but neighboring buildings are so close u can watch their TV. Bathroom small so that only one person could use at a time or if one person on loo other person had to walk over loo person to get to shower. A bit too intimate. Windows had some type of seal but not double glazing and didn't stop noise. Luckily the fan noise helped drown out outside noise.
The cost of this room for our private nights paid through an intrepid travel agent in Australia was 100 euros but if we booked direct would have cost 80 euros. New Zealand travel companions paying through intrepid agent in new Zealand paid 130 euros which was a major rip off for the room they got. Other travel companions who got a room on the day paid 60 euros and got air con so price is variable. I'd so standard is about 70 to 80 euros for twin/double.
Complicated system of getting to hostel rooms - u are buzzed into building than enter a 3 door lift pressing white button to get to reception on level 2 then get into lift pressing button 1 to get to rooms on level. 4. Not sure how to get to rooms on level 3. Good news is free wi fi.
So overall our room not worth the 100 euros we paid considering hotel around corner was 120 euros, with air con, near new and had swimming pool with much more professional reception area and service.
Cheap laundry around corner. Asian gentleman runs laundry plus Internet shop and washes and dries 8 kg laundry for 9 euros within 2 hours. Also some fabulous and amazing high quality but cheap restaurants nearby, including cheap silver service places but avoid anything on la rambler (main tourist strip/trap) side alleys much better.

Room Tip: Ask for air con, check prices carefully, better value close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hostel is in a disused brothel. Kind of cool. The location is great, it is quite and immaculately clean. It is more like a hotel than a hostel. We couldn't get the wifi to,work in the room. The common area is very basic with chairs lined up around the walls, like a waiting room. There is nomaircon so it will be hot in summer. There is a fan. The rooms are a good size and the beds comfortable. Towls, shampoo etc is provided. It is a huge place. The staff are unfriendly. If you stay in this hostel it is a little hard to find so get some directions. I would stay there again except it is expensive. I stayed some where equally as nice in Barcelona for half the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Despite the wonderful location - right off Las Ramblas - the hostal itself is a loud and cramped space. Shared a bathroom which was at the far end of the hall... inconvenient! Room was small, pokey, and overlooked the ventilation shaft, but at least it had a small sink. Would I stay there again? For the price... NO!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

recently went to barcelona for five days break stayed in the hostal levante the hostel has a great location but was very basic you could hear every noise from the reception area and light shone in gaps round door all night no privacy at all the room itself was fine but needs a bit of a makeover thought the price was too much as have stayed in many hotels in many cities which were better standard and cheaper loved barcelona and will return but not to this hotel

Room Tip: ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Levante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Levante

Address: Baixada de Sant Miguel, 2, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 686 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Levante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Levante Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Levante Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Levante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.