We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The photos of the rooms are deceptive and it is poor value for money.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Residencia Rembrandt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Residencia Rembrandt to your Saves list
Hostal Residencia Rembrandt
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Puertaferrisa 23 | Junto Ramblas, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #523 of 724 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The photos of the rooms are deceptive and it is poor value for money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

In a great location but poor value for money. Even though we visited at a busy time, I expected the room to look something like the pictures! Our double room was small, floor tiles were cracked, door wouldn't stay shut, bed was rickety and bed covers old. Uninvited visitors woke up guests at 6am and were not evicted for 2 hours!
Considering we paid 110 Euros for a double and 65E for a single with no bathroom, I expected much better. We have been backpacking in Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos so are used to basic. This was worse than most we have stayed in.
However the concierge was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    35
    23
    29
See reviews for
18
50
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while in Barcelona on a moderate budget. I guess I expected a little more from a european hostal, especially since friend's of mine have stayed in some truly fantastic ones, however this was a slight disappointment. The location was perfect right in the heart of the barri gothic, however from the photos on the website I expected a little more. Our room had 2 small beds (which more like cots) and a small balcony overlooking the street (which was cool). The bathroom was quite a put off. The hook that you put the shower handle in to take a shower was broken. The sink drain was very slow and didn't smell great. In it's defence, the wifi worked great and was sufficiently clean, still not really worth the $75 Euro we paid.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hostal for 4 days. We only booked flights which was a bit of a gamble, however when we came accross this hostal everything turned out great and we had a fantastic stay. It was our first time in Barcelona and our first time staying in a hostel. At first we weren't keen at the thought of staying in a hostal as we didn't like the idea of sharing a bathroom but this turned out to be fine and would definately stay in a hostal again. It was very basic but all you need for a few days stay to explore Barcelona. Room was clean, the hostal over all was very clean and Kamal who is there to greet you at Reception was lovely, very helpful and made us feel welcome. The location of the hostal was great, two minutes from Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. we would definately go back to Barcelona as we both loved it and I would definately stay at this hostal again, brilliant location, cheap for our budget, very clean rooms plus our room had a small balcony so I would definately recommend this hostal if all you're looking for is a place to get your head down at the end of a night from exploring Barcelona. Enjoy your trip:)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Helpful, friendly staff. Comfortable room and bed. Our room had a small balcony with street views for people watching. Cheap Internet access with public computer. Free wireless for own laptop. The usual noisy drunk boys at 3 am but earplugs solved that problem. Shared bath was clean and usually available. Steps away from the Rambla and Metro on a quiet side street. Within walking distance of many points of interest.

Beware of pickpockets on the Metro!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Hostel Rembrant was a nice place to stay in Barcelona old town, double room we got was silent one. Location is very good - a few meters to one side - main Rambla street, and to other one - Cathedral. The staff of hostel was very nice one, especially mentioning receptionist Kamal.

Greetz!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

All said in the first sentence. Do not expect anything from this place more than from a hostel. Quite cleen. But 45 euro for a room with no window, no air and typical Barca summer heat is too much. There was also a stupid lift right near the bed wall, very noisy and a glass door from which the light from a toilet or bath was coming though right on the pillow. So you sleep like under a spotlight. It was not the price/quality that i expected... would never recommend anybody...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

This hostal is very close to La Rambla, really the core of tourist interest. Although close to the action, it is located on a small side street which is quiet at night - except when the soccer team wins! The servicios - out of room - are convenient and spotless. Freshly made beds with clean towels every day are a plus as is the attention of the manager Kamal who was very earnest about seeing to our needs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Residencia Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Residencia Rembrandt

Address: Puertaferrisa 23 | Junto Ramblas, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #523 of 724 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Residencia Rembrandt 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal Residencia Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Rembrandt Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Residencia Rembrandt Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Residencia Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.