We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Layetana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Layetana to your Saves list
Hostal Layetana
Plaza Ramon Berenguer el Gran, 2, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #468 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hot water doesnt last very long, old towels, nothing special.

But if you are just looking for a place to sleep, yes! Close to metro, grocery stores, barri gothic, bike rentals, staff is very courteous.

Its noisy if you open the balcony door but otherwise fine.

Inside door lock could be replaced!

Free wifi and breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    18
    8
    16
See reviews for
5
24
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked this hostel because of the central location and because of the price for a room with a separate bathroom was really a bargain. Wifi worked well for us (room 306) and having some basic breakfast was a nice bonus. The common areas are clean and renovated but the room itself is very outdated except the bathroom which has "OK" appearance. Having some paint in the walls would do miracles to the overall appearance and would not cost many pennies. Towels were most worn I have ever seen and we did not have hot water either during our three night stay but we got a fair discount for that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Good location, located just behind the cathedral and walking distance to most attractions. The hostal was a little difficult to find at first as it is on the fourth floor of what looks like an apartment building with no real signage outside. So you just have to ring the buzzer and hope they let you in.

We had a corner room facing via Laietana. The room was clean with a nice modern bathroom. . Sometimes there was little hot water, and low water pressure. Breakfast was basic, but was quite good considering it is free with the room.

The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. However, there was one girl who extremely unimpressed with the fact that we didn't speak the language and was quite rude when we tried to communicate with her, since there is only one staff member on at any one time. The manager was extremely apologetic and helpful, but its a little odd having someone with such a bad attitude towards international tourists working in what is obviously an international hostel.

Overall though, the hostel provides good value for money, a good, clean secure room for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hostel has a great location- youcan feel the subway in every 5 minutes , but there was no hot water for 2 days ... the owner said sorry but did nothing , they say they have wifi ... signal is so weak that in the rooms there is no at all.
At night in january there was no heating , we were freezing .
i knew it is a cheap hostel , but the lack of hot water was absurd - the seawater was warmer in january than the shower.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelvetrano, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I know you can't have the best if you don't have money to spend, so I didn't expect much out of this location.
All summed up the price is directly related to what they give: the location is great, you are in the center of the center of Barcelona, right behind the cathedral, minutes from everywhere else, beach, medieval town, etc. but the hotel in itself is honestly poor.
It's based on poor premises but what's worse is that the owner's way of thinking is to put in his pockets each and any coin coming from this activity.
In example also the cups and spoons are all different, recovered probably from his past, family and friends.
Rooms were freshly painted but in example the door knob was broken and fell off, and the whole structure is like this: it's not taken care of very much.
One evening also the boiler was broken so we couldn't have a shower.

If I would be the owner of this structure, I'd spend at least a 10% to increment the quality of it, but this is clearly not the phylosophy of the actual owner.
I mean, it's all good that he repainted the rooms, but going to breakfast and finding all sorts of cups etc. is a bit depressing. With just 50 Euros he could change that.

Anyway, if your plan is sleep-and-visit and you are low on budget, this is probably one of the best solutions you can find in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room not on the main street, so you won't have to wake up when traffic begins ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

lovely location and friendly staff. A couple of suggestion:
there are new beds, so they can change the mattress too.
The windows must be renew.... it seems the window is still open, but the square is not noisy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here for a couple nights at the end of October. For a solo traveller, this hostel had what I needed: a central, awfully convenient location as a base to explore the city; and a bed at the end of the day. The hostel pretty much came as advertised after reading some of the other reviews.

The location is outstanding and fairly easy to find once I got my bearings from Catalunya Square, from which an abundance of transportation options exist. The charming lift in the building functions as needed and never gave me a problem going up or down. I had a single room, which came with the basic necessities of a bed, basin, mirror, and a bedside table. The room has a balcony, which gives a great view of the old wall - and I have to say that was pretty neat, and a highlight of the place for me at the end of the day.

WiFi worked like it's supposed to, even in the room. The lack of A/C wasn't a problem for the time period I stayed. Neither was the hallway noise and echo being a factor when you are tired enough after a day of sightseeing. I didn't have a problem with the bathrooms, and the water in the shower does warm up after you give it a few minutes. Breakfast is basic: juice, instant coffee, and an assortment of bread and cakes of the supermarket variety. Hey, it's free!

It would have been nice if there is a kitchen, even a microwave, or a hot water kettle that's available outside of breakfast times, but all in all, for the price I paid in a central location, I have no complaints.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Layetana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Layetana

Address: Plaza Ramon Berenguer el Gran, 2, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #468 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Layetana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Layetana Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Layetana Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Layetana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.