We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location, plenty of personality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Girona

Save Saved
You added Hostal Girona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Girona
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   C/ Girona 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 293 Barcelona B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great central location, plenty of personality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was looking for a central place to stay for a one night stay in Barcelona and this was perfect. Very characterful hotel in an old building with loads of personality. Nothing too flashy but helpful service, free wifi, large comfortable rooms and a large balcony. Also excellent value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: It's worth making sure you get a room with its own WC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    109
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
14
75
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Pension girona is well situated indeed and within walking distance to the historical centre but far enough away to enjoy the peace this place provides. Easily accesable by the train from the airport also which is a great help. The room we stayed in was spacious and airy with a balcony overlooking the street. The building itself is an old building full of character and qiute tastefully decorated. We would defenitly stay there again as this really was good value for money. They also give you a voucher for a free meal from a place nearby should you choose to accept it. Well worth staying at this hotel for many reasons.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halliday
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on a nice quiet street in a beautiful old building. We walked everywhere from here barely needed to use the metro. But when we did use the metro there are stops very close by. You can't beat the value of this hotel, it was very clean we had our own bathroom not a shared one. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Now I still stay in the hotel, the location is superb, 15min walking to city center and there s a supermarket nearby. I was pleased to find the staff cleaned our room when we were out, not many hotels at this price will do cleaning for you everyday. But I dont know why every time I use water there is a machine sound... In a word, m quite satisfied with it;)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great place. This is old building with very high ceiling and a lot of air, with beautiful old (18th century original or looking original) style decor on walls and ceiling. The porch has two big stairs and elevator is typical for this old buildings - with manual doors and small metal cage. Old huge doors on entry to the hall and the window is basically two huge doors as well with embedded windows. Looks very cool. Our room has great balcony with street view. As for the room it was clean, bed was good, much better than average hotels/hostels for this price. bathroom is good as well. Staff is great. Our flight was delayed and we arrived in the middle of the night - there was no problem with that. Also they have looker for bags if you want to go around the city after checkout. Location is very good - close to Catalunya square and Nord bus station. The only thing that i didn't like was pillow (one long pillow for both). But it is a matter of preference.

Room Tip: Chek if the room has balcony - some might not, but the balcony is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panambi, RS, Brasil
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hostal is situated in an old, classical building with an unique atmosphere. It starts by the old elevator. The visual inside the hostal is incredible. Very clean and the staff is there to help. It lies 10 minutes walk from the plaza catalunha, 15 minutes from the old gothic town. Is a very good base to wolk through the city. I recommend 100%.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barchi, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Three nights, four days in Barcelona and peferably not to expensive and somewhere in the (old) center. Hostal Girona was exactly what I was looking for. I had a great time: the hosts where very nice and helpful, the building has a very nice atmospheer and everything within walking distance!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Girona

Address: C/ Girona 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Girona 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Girona is located in the center of Barcelona, in the heart of the bourgeois Eixample district, near Paseo de Gracia ,where stand two buildings of Gaudí : Casa Batlló and Casa Milà.This large building dating from S.XIX , part of the Quadrat d`Or designed by Idelfons Cerdà, whose consolidation as bourgeois center coincided with the emergence of Modernism in Barcelona.Hostal Girona combines the spirit of that age with the facilities of a small and modern hostal with a familiar and comfortable ambience. Yours sincerely, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hostal Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Girona Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Girona Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Girona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.