We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food - please be patient ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artisa

Artisa
C/ Colom, 2 (Placa Reial), 08002 Barcelona, Spain
34 931 863 623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #226 of 6,063 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Ice Cream, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lovely food - please be patient ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My hubby and I ate here a couple of times whilst in Barcelona. The ham and cheese croissant and orange juice is a lovely way to start the morning. Please bear with the staff they are friendly with good English but it appears a little short staffed in a morning so under pressure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    59
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Something for both ends of the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We visited Artisa twice today, once for breakfast and once at the end of the evening for churros and chocolate (well, when in Spain and all that...)
Both were of a very high standard...breakfast a lovely ham, cheese croissant and fruit juice and a damn good coffee, and supper churros with a rich hot chocolate sauce...mmmm.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Proof that bad customer service can ruin a restaurant...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Okay so my Mom and I spent 5 nights in Barcelona last week and we had been eyeing up this little gelaterie / creperie / cafe for the first four-five days and on the last day we took the plunge and went in...

Firstly, it was very strange as EVERY customer inside the café stared us up and down (inexplainable.) But then our interaction with the woman behind the counter was, in a word, awful. She seemed uninterested, unhappy and generally unwilling to even communicate with us, let alone want to listen to our order. LUCKILY FOR THEM, the food was actually very tasty. I had a pear and cinnamon crepe and my Mom had a hot ham and cheese croissant. The crepe has lots of filling and tasted great and the croissant was soft and in the same way, they weren't being stingy with the amount of filling (ham and cheese) present! Service was relatively quick also.

After having finished our breakfast, we went up to the counter to pay when the woman (same as upon arrival) tried to overcharge us by at least 5€ (if not more!), we explained that it should have been less and she "corrected" it. STILL she was trying to overcharge and we had to explain that my Mom's choice was a meal deal (croissant + orange juice) and after asking another member of staff she finally got the right price. PALARVA AND NOT WORTH YOUR EFFORTS WITH THE COLD STAFF.

They're lucky they get 2 out of 5 purely because of how nice the food was. Would NOT recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artisa-staff, Public Relations Manager at Artisa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are really sorry for your experience with us.

It's really important for us to treat our costumers in the best possible way.
In summer we have to get more staff, she was in her first days and maybe she forgot about the "formulas", the "deals" as you said. And you are right, there is one that includes (croissant + orange juice), the formula number 3.

What makes us really sad it's that she didn't serve you with good attitude and happily. We'll talk with her, we don't want to give this kind of bad experiences any more.

Thanks for giving good rates to our food, and we hope to see you again to treat in a good way, the way that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Refreshing next to the Rambla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Good coffee and excellent ice cream served by friendly and smiling staff :) Our kids enjoyed watching the chef making crepe and will return for one of those

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artisa-staff, Public Relations Manager at Artisa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for writing about our staff

It's very important for us to be friendly with our costumers, we want to give the best products in the best possible way.
If your kids enjoyed how our chef made the crepes and then later they enjoyed eating it, and you want to come back, it means we are getting our goal: good products, for our friends, the costumers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great coffee but disapointing muesli ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Went there recently and had coffee, hot chocolate and muesli. The drinks were great but the muesli was not at all what a westerner would consider muesli. There were no oats and hardly any dried fruit. The coffee was great though and it was fantastic to find somewhere serving soy milk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artisa-staff, Public Relations Manager at Artisa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks for your input.
We are sorry our muesli it wasn't the way you like it, we always try to have the best products.
The muesli that we have now includes a 35% flaked rice, and 15% of biodynamic farming, does not have oats, but if contains 42% fruit: datiles apricots, coconut, banana, cashew, pineapple and sesame.
Anyway we note your proposals and we are preparing a new formula including homemade muesli oats. We hope to have it for fall and offer it to you on your next visit.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisa also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Artisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.