We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Fife, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Great boutique hotel in centre of BCN. We stayed here for 2 nights for my husband's 40th birthday - it was amazing. The hotel is clean, VERY central - aerobus stop, metro, bus touristic all within mins walk and modern. The staff are very helpful and we were able to leave our luggage on last day to collect later at no extra charge. Will definitely stay here again when we return to BCN.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    305
    54
    18
    15
See reviews for
183
993
121
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This was our second stay at Hotel Montecarlo, this time stying for 4 nights. The location is excellent and can't be beaten, fully soundproofed rooms, ask for a room overlooking the Ramblas. Rooms have jacuzzi bath and adjustable beds.The staff are very welcoming and helpful, always smiling and pleasant. Breakfast offers plenty of choice at 12 euros with bacon, eggs, cheese and meats, lots of pastries, yoghurt, fruit etc. Barcelona is a fantastic city which we will return to again and again - this was our 3rd visit to the city. Must dos are the tourist bus, the Gaudi buildings including Park Guell, the cable ride, Montjuic fountains at night, sitting in a square sipping Sangria. Can't wait to go again! I fully recommend this hotel, also has secure parking, we were driving the last 2 times and found no problem getting in and out of the city (with TomTom!).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Just back from a three night stay in Hotel Montecarlo and can't say enough good things about the place. The hotel was great, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and the room was fantastic. Location is perfect, walking distance to everything and less than five minutes walk from airport bus/train transfer Pl Catalunya. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

First time across the pond so I did not know what to expect. I was blown away. Nothing what I thought it would be. The service was superb, the location doesn't get any better and the room was very, very clean. We stayed at a couple other places in Italy after this and this was without a doubt our favorite hotel. I would recommend it for any family/friends.

-tk

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We trust tripadvisers from this website and we were right: this hotel is perfectly quite, despite it is located in La Ramblas, the busiest street in Barcelona.When you leave this hotel to go out, you are directly inside a stream of thousand of people walking up and down this street. Many restaurants and shops are around, cheap or expensive, you are sure to find out what the best for you. A big hug of metro lines is at 100m from the hotel, to reach any place in this wonderfull city.
We stayed in a superior room, 30m2 of comfort, with electric beds, double-double windows (!), jacuzzi: nothing to add.
The staff was kind, advised us and helped us as much as they can in English or French.
Any default? The breakfast rate maybe: but it wasn't an issue as many restaurants offer cheap breakfast in the neightbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We did a lot of research to find a hotel in Barcelona before we found Hotel Montecarlo; and I'm glad we took our time. This property is perfectly situated, right on the famous Las Ramblas and minutes by foot to all the sites, shopping and Plaza Catalunya; but it's a quiet oasis from the hustle of this famous area of town. They have a very friendly English speaking staff who were extremely helpful. And the room (which was really a three room suite) was beautifully designed with great air conditioning. This hotel is quite a find. They also have a charming rooftop sun terrace with lovely views of the city, and the only suggestion to the staff is to extend the hours past 7pm to allow for visits at night. This hotel offers unbelievable value and quality. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Overall a very nice hotel with a fantastic location (if you want to be in the heart of things on La Rambla). The building is beautiful and the amenities are all in very good shape (particularly the air condition). The only draw-back I'd say is that the rooms a rather minimalist/stark, which may be more an aesthetic preference than a drawback but it didn't feel very warm or welcoming. The bathrooms though are huge and well appointed. We had a room looking out the back and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Address: La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.