We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit in three months!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Derbyshire, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Second visit in three months!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed for three nights with my son three months ago (see earlier review) while watching a Barca match. Loved Barcelona - and the hotel - so came back with my wife for a more 'cultural' visit.
Same experience again so will definitely be back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    305
    54
    18
    15
See reviews for
183
993
121
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We arrived by car and were immediately guided into on-site secure parking, from which moment nothing was too much trouble for the welcoming staff members. We stayed in a deluxe room on the fifth floor, facing La Rambla, and found the king-size, electric-relaxing bed (if two singles, joined) very comfortable, the bedroom really spacious. So nice to have the space of an additional computer room (as our annexe became) and the super-big bathroom. Our family members were similarly happy with their deluxe rooms on the fourth floor and grateful for the easy transformation for a reasonable fee when another family member arrived to join them. Street noise was no trouble at all, at any time of day. We would have only perhaps wished for flatter pillows for a couple of us. Breakfast was great and so very convenient to enjoy time together. Even though we were late breakfasters we were never asked to move on! We all enjoyed the tea, coffee and snacks provided gratis in the downstairs lounge at any time of day. No location could have been better from which to enjoy the fabulous Gothic Quarter, whose streets constantly revealed new surprises over our week-long stay - especially great eating spots.
Hotel Montecarlo certainly deserves all the great reviews it has been given, not just for the excellent crew but also for every facility it provides.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the Montecarlo in Barcelona and we enjoyed everything this hotel had to offer.

PROS :

1) Location : You're right on the Rambla, a 2-minutes walk to the Plaça de Catalunya. From there you can take the metro to visit the city.The Aerobus will take you to and from the airport in around 25 minutes and is much cheaper than taxi! We didn't have any difficulty carrying our luggage to and from the hotel. The walk was easy and short. The walk to the Barceloneta beach is 25 minutes, or a 10 Euro cab ride.
2) Rooms : The room was spotlessly clean. Room service was great and there's even a turndown service (except they don't touch the bed). Wifi is complimentary and signal is strong.
3) Service : Each time we encountered the staff at the hotel we had great service. The people at reception were very helpful in providing us directions and went out of their way in helping us when we needed something. I had even made a request to have a room with a view, top-floor and away from the elevators. Sure enough we were given the best room in our category! It was recently refurbished too. We loved it and we were happy that the staff took note of my request. Not all hotels do!
4) Breakfast : although not complimentary, breakfast is among the best I had in a hotel. For the days where we didn't feel like heading into the hustling Las Ramblas to find breakfast, we thoroughly enjoyed the meal at the hotel!
5) General building : The hotel is beautiful from the outside and the entrance and lobby are beautifully crafted and decorated. I'm not an design/architecture fan or enthusiast but each time I entered the hotel I could feel the "old and new" mixing very well together. The facade itself is beautifully maintained.

I usually also write a list of CONS, but I simply can't find any. Our stay was flawless!. Of course you get more at the neighboring 1898, but be prepared to pay 50% more.

We would definitely stay at the Montecarlo again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The location on La Rambla is just so perfect, if you want to enjoy the hustle n bustle of Barcelona, from paintings to restaurants to small cozy shops you have it all, can walk for hours n hours here, exploring this vibrant city, friendly people. The sumptuous breakfast is a great day starter with very hospitable staff. Overall very comfortable, great rooms n bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed 1 night before a cruise. Room was a nice size, and the bed was comfortable. Automatic window shades did a good job of darkening the room - great for getting adjusted to the time change. The free wifi was nice. The only hitch was that the shower curtain didn't do a great job of containing the water inside the shower/tub area. We had water all over our floor after every shower. The same happened in the room that our son stayed in next door. Convenient location was a short taxi ride to and from the airport and also the cruise port. Be aware of their reservation change/cancellation policy, which isn't as generous as some hotels in the U.S. Our flight got canceled, so we arrived a day later than originally planned and still had to pay for the first night because we weren't able to inform them of the change before their reservation change/cancellation window (by noon the day before). Overall, a decent place to stay if you want to be on La Rambla.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in suite 302, which overlooks La Rambla. The suite is a generous size, has 2 TV's, effective air con, friendly helpful staff, is quiet, is in a great location for tourists, has a very good bathroom, is spotlessly clean, well maintained, has good complimentary wi-fi, an effective fridge, and fast lifts with no waiting.

However there are no tea or coffee facilities in the suite. The rooftop area has great views but its potential is unfulfilled; likewise with the large casual seating area on the ground floor which few guests utilise. These areas are dead but could be quite lively. The breakfast is expensive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel based upon Trip Advisor reviews and it was perfect for me. Thank you trip advisor reviewers! I needed a place to stay for 2 nights before a cruise. I highly recommend all cruisers to find their hotel on Trip Advisor and not through the cruise line. I encountered many folks who booked their hotel through the cruise line and they were very unhappy with their hotels and the high prices they paid. I was traveling solo but felt very safe at this hotel. The price was extremely affordable for such a beautiful hotel. The staff was very friendly and spoke English. The room was perfect for my needs and very clean. The hotel is in a perfect location near the top of Las Ramblas near Placa de Catalunya. The airport bus stops at this square and many day tours leave from here as well. There are many restaurants in this area. There is a supermarket very near the hotel along with close by drug stores. You can buy a 1.5L bottle of water for 25cents at the supermarket. It is near the Mercat de la Boqueria which is their historic market place with beautifully displayed fruits, vegetables and fruit drinks. The Block of Discord, Gaudi's Casa Batllo, Palau Guell, and the Catalan Concert Hall are all within easy walking distance. The Barcelona Cathedral and Gothic Quarter are around the corner. A cab ride to the port will be around 18-20 euros. Please remember to wear a money belt and be cautious of your belongings since the pickpocket rate is very high here. I had no trouble but I know people that have had issues. Allow enough days to see Barcelona since there is so much to see. I really enjoyed my time here. I highly recommend this hotel in Barcelona. It was excellent!

Room Tip: A large single room is plenty big enough for a solo traveler and the price is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Address: La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.