We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room felt very clinical and like a hospital - no colour or warmth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Carrara, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Room felt very clinical and like a hospital - no colour or warmth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is our third time at the hotel and we did recommend family stay at the hotel last year which they did. The location of the hotel is excellent being up the top end of La Ramblas - a few minutes walk to the red bus city tours, shops and a short taxi trip to the cruise terminals.
I must say this trip we were disappointed with the hotel room itself, seems like they had done another refurb and our room was very clinical, in fact it was like a hospital room. The walls and ceiling were all white, the bed linen all white - the only colour in the room came from two black chairs. The room needed some colour to be warm and welcoming - even a few cushions on the bed and a rug over the end of the bed in colour (even in black to continue the black theme) or a print on the wall. It was very sterile and not welcoming or relaxing at all.
The room overlooked La Rambla and had a little balcony – great for people watching and double glazed doors so no noise which was great. The bathroom was good, a large round spa bath that was put to use with a big rainshower over it.
The staff were pleasant as always, and a lovely breakfast area and free wifi, along with a great sunroof terrace, but I think we would try another Barcelona hotel next time, just to get away from the hospital fee of the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,206
    283
    51
    18
    14
See reviews for
167
915
104
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. Rooms were spacious clean and comfortable. Fresh towels every day. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows divine. Lovely view of Las Ramblas and when the double balcony doors were shut and the electronic blind down there was little or no noise. The breakfast was good and staff excellent. Free wifi throughout. Air conditioning fantastic. The jacuzzi was heaven after a day sightseeing.

Now, the very best part. The staff - extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. They simply could not do enough to make this holiday perfect ( especially Ricardo )

Highly recommend this magnificent hotel and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors with view of Las Ramblas just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Targoviste
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It is a hotel in a little castle. On La Ramblas an elegant, peaceful place with confortables rooms and nice people. Near Catalunya Place and a quarter of hour of old port in the near of old town we spend a wonderful Holliday in the hotel. We decided to take breakfast at the hotel and it wad a very good breakfast, with no many specialty but delicious and the place for breakfast very quiet and comfortable. Very good staff we will came back at this hotel !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a really really clean hotel and the location is fantastic. I did a search for long time before coming here and the hotel is even better than the reviews. A mention to the staff at the reception for being so nice with directions and restaurant recommendations.
We see you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I found the Hotel Montecarlo on Trip Advisor after checking reviews we booked directly with the Hotel 12 months in advance of our travel date of August 28 2013. All smooth & easy in fact staff helped us achieve best price.
Arriving in Barcelona after 23 hours flying time Sydney-Singapore-Barcelona we arrived at Hotel 9.30am too early to check in but we received very friendly welcome, luggage stored and then able to do freshen up in Hotel Toilets.
Reception Staff then gave us very helpful suggestions on ideas on things to do and a time when our room would be ready.
Our room was facing La Rambla,on 3rd floor. Used to small European Hotel rooms this was huge, divided into three separate rooms, entry bought you into small centre section which contained lounge chairs TV off to the left was good size bathroom, with shower over small bath, plenty of cabinet space & good lighting.
Bedroom was very good size, king size bed, TV. with balcony over looking La Rambla. I had noted that some reviews said rooms facing La Rambla could be noisy but this isn't the case.
We were there for 5 nights which included a weekend so got good over view of noise & comfort levels. On Saturday & Sunday night we heard bit of noise but not at a level that disturbed us & I did have balcony doors open because I had enjoyed a drink or two while people watching.
The Hotel also had free Wi-Fi which had excellent strength & signal both in our room and downstairs in breakfast area and the bar.
Location wise this Hotel is almost perfect for visiting Barcelona, approx 100 metres to St Joseph Markets, 350 metres to Place Catalonya, the transport hub for Metro, Buses & Tourist Bus, 25 minute walk to Aquarium & Harbour Shopping Centre, it is all close including beaches.
Hotel has a roof-top terrace for viewing & sun baking but no bar up there what a shame cause it would be an idea spot.
A great tip from 5.00pm free savoury & sweet snacks are available in the ground floor bar, coffees, tea & beer & wine available at very reasonable prices. Great way to relax after a day of sight seeing.
Breakfast is pretty good with good selection of cereals, juice, hot food and excellent European continental style food as well. Service is good and they make great coffees. Price wise while we were there they ran a breaky special 9Euro per head for full breakfast, usual price is 14 Euro per person.
We have travelled quite a bit in Europe and rate the HotelnMontecarlo as having the BEST Staff we have dealt with, room was very comfortable and large and Hotel was in fantastic location, is spotless, clean and tidy and to top it off the price to stay there very good value.
I Am a fan and HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Hotel Montecarlo as place to stay and base yourself for a visit to fantastic city of Barcelona.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay at Montecarlo was smooth, comfortable, and a pleasure.

1- The staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful with all requirements, questions and recommendations
2- The hotel itself has a peaceful atmosphere that is perfect to return to after a long day
3- The double rooms are spotless, beautifully yet simply decorated, and quite spacious
4- The location is perfect, right on La Rambla, and a few steps from Placa Catalunya, which is perfect for accessing all sorts of transportation (subway, buses, aerobus) as well as the hop-on hop-off tourist bus

I would definitely return to Montecarlo when I visit Barcelona again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was exceedingly happy to find space at the Hotel Montecarlo during La Mercè festival when most hotels were either fully booked or charging ridiculous prices. I originally booked a small single but was upgraded to a larger single.

The hotel is incredibly central, directly on La Rambla, with Bari Gotic and La Ribera just to the east and El Raval to the right, my favourite areas of Barcelona.

My room was complete with a double-bed and a fantastic modern and super-slick bathroom complete with a huge jacuzzi tub, perfect for sore legs and feet after 9 hours of exploring Barcelona on foot. My only complaint about the room was that it lacking any form of natural light or view, it did, however provide complete darkness at night. The immaculate room had modern simple furnishings, an adjustable bed for sitting or sleeping, a nice bedside lighting system, good climate control. I could only fault on the complex TV control system which was rather slow and labour intensive.

My only general complaint was that the hallways were tiled so you could hear guests exiting the lifts, walking to their room and conversation and foot steps echoed significantly, so much so that it actually woke me up on two occasions.

Breakfast was served in a very attractive salon on the lobby level, the selection, however, for 14 euro, was just adequate and missed items like fresh fruit.

I'm aware that there's a huge variety of rooms and styles at the Montecarlo but value-for-money, the large singles are spot-on save for the lack of natural light.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade from the small single rooms to the large ones and you'll get a double bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Address: La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.