We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, Perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great stay, Perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location on La Ramblas right in the centre of everything!

Staff excellent! The guys on the desk are VERY helpful and cannot do enough for you, brilliant!

Room clean modern boutique style, comfortable beds, great shower etc. One negative we had no view of anything out of window, however hotel was good value. Breakfast buffet quite good for a few days.

Tip- roof terrace very quiet, nice and sunny early evening, we took glass of wine and nibbles up. Sun loungers etc all up there!

Tip- Airport bus to Pl Catalynya 5.95 euro, then short walk to hotel maybe 300m?

Tip- sagrada famalia church Brilliant! Buy ticket online (iphone etc) then go to local ATM which prints tickets out, then you can skip the massive queue to enter this must-see...

Tip- the traditional old market across the street is fabulous, a must see!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    326
    57
    18
    16
See reviews for
191
1,034
128
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for four night having driven over from the UK via Santander. The hotel allows you to stay on the Ramblas with a garage under the hotel- at £23 a night. Ideal. It's cloce to Liceu metro and the contemporary art museum one way, cathedral the other.

On arrival the helpful porter brought bags from the car, turned the car in the garage and we were stunned to be given an upgrade to the junior suite. This was fantastic- living room, bedroom, bathroom with jacquizzi and an outside deck at the rear of the hotel, so quiet even at th back of the Main Street .

The staff are friendly and helpful and I think we're still stunned to have a GB car in the garage. There is a Carrefour market opposite the hotel for all your bits.

Would I stay again- absolutely.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

If you want a hotel with balcony overlooking la rambla and decent quality fittings, this is perfect. Staff very professional and courteous. Room average size with large ensuite and lobby area. But one of the best things was the massive jacuzzi bath. Just the thing after walking round barcelona all day. Not the cheapest rate but reliable and good quality.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I very much recommend staying at Hotel Montecarlo. The hotel was very clean, had wonderful staff, the breakfast was fairly good, the room was comfortable, the location was perfect but inside the hotel it was quiet and it was very good value.

On one of the days I was there, I was in my room during the day when they were cleaning. I went out in the evening and when I got back I discovered that they had cleaned my room in the evening without me even asking. Couldn't ask for better service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want a clean & tidy professionally run hotel in a central location, then look no further.

Right on La Rambla - easy walking distance from Placa Catalunya, with a conveniently located Carrefour supermarket directly opposite - this is pretty much as good as it gets location-wise if you want to be in the heart of the action.

The rate was not the cheapest we could find for 4 stars, but Montecarlo was ideal for our three night city break - with a quiet & spacious room (with electronically adjustable king double bed), a large bathroom with jacuzzi and a slightly separate dressing area. In all, plenty of space and comfort to relax & recharge between some long days of wandering Barcelona's beautiful districts.The room also had electronic shutters that blocked out all light - a useful addition to aid a good nights sleep.

We did opt for the buffet breakfast (special deal at €9 pp) on our last day, and thought it good value for money in a city that can be pretty expensive. You would pay the same locally for a single plate with restricted options, although you can get cheaper if you walk into the less touristy areas.

What really impressed was the concierge staff - they were helpful & knowledgeable for all our demands & questions, we felt as if they really cared.

If we do return to Barcelona we'd probably opt for a hotel within the more charismatic historical areas situated very close to La Rambla - but for a first visit to this fantastic city, Montecarlo was perfect.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back of the property, as ours was silent - no noise from outside at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Montecarlo over Easter for my partner's 30th. We arrived at the room to find a chilled bottle of Cava waiting for us. The porter was charming and showed us how everything in the room works. Reception also rang to tell us the Easter procession would be going past our balcony that evening which was a delight to see with the best view in town!
The location of the hotel was excellent, right in the centre of La Rambla, you can't be more central. You can get the bus from the airport to Pl. Catalunya for €5.95 and it is a 5-10 min walk to the hotel.
The bed was very comfortable and I loved the sizeable bathroom with excellent shower and the jacuzzi bath!
Breakfast was more than adequate, we particularly enjoyed the cured ham and started every day with a full belly to get us through our busy days.
On one night, Roger on reception recommended a restaurant called Can Manel for seafood where I had the nicest lobster I've ever tasted.
In terms of Barcelona, must sees for me would be the magic fountain, park guell and the 'fairy bar' next to the wax museum at the bottom of La Rambla. We also used the hop on/hop off bus to get around which meant we could get around the attractions easily.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Let me start off by whole-heartedly recommending this hotel for a Barcelona visit.

Now for the specifics, first the location. It is located right on the La Rambla. Facing downhill as you walk from the nearby Plaza Catalunya it is about 2 blocks away on your left. This allows you to use the airport shuttle bus, Aerobus, from the international airport for only €5.90 each way per person. You get off the bus at the more modern building of the department store Corte Ingles - there is an older Corte Ingles building at La Rambla - cross the street to the main plaza where you see the statues and fountains. Keep going past the scooter/moped parking lot on your left till you see the crowds heading down a broad, tree-lined road and you will have found La Rambla. I can only reemphasize to pack light when traveling to Europe, preferably using only carry-on size rolling luggage. The Plaza Catalunya is also the place to take the hop-on/hop-off tourist buses as well as to get onto the Metro underground system. So much else is easily accessible by walking along as well as from La Rambla, In short it is easy to get to the hotel and many sights are within short walking distance from the Montecarlo. For those attractions not within walking distance take the Metro from the La Rambla station further down the promenade or the station on Plaza Catalunya.

Next, the Hotel. It has a classic turn-of-last-century facade, but houses an updated interior. The lines are clean and modern. With all the partying going on on La Rambla it was good to see that the hotel felt secure. There was a circular sliding door up front, then a second one before the lobby. The stairwell and elevator are accessible only for guests after being seen by the staff at the reception desk. The elevator is relatively large by European hotel standards. The stairwell is broad and not too steep if you choose to carry your luggage upstairs. There is not much of a lobby per se but just past the reception desk is the lounge, bar, and breakfast area. The lounge has many comfy chairs and tables and is a good place for a little quiet time before heading out. There is also the roof deck which had great views over La Rambla and over the old Barri Gotic. There were deck chairs and tables, but it was still too cool to stay out on the deck too long.

Our room, 501, faced La Rambla and had a good view of the skyline. Thanks to the windows being double-paned and a mechanized rolling shutter (activated by a switch next to the window and it also blacked out the room) the street noise was minimized; be warned, though, that they party through the early morning in this city and I was awakened by loud singing at 5AM once. The bed was comfy. There was a small Sony sound system in the entry hall as well as an LCD flat-screen TV on the wall opposite the bed. The bathroom in our unit was amazing: a two-person jacuzzi hot tub was the high point. The toilet had one of those Japanese-inspired warm-water cleaning/warm-air drying/bidet systems. There was adequate closet space and a small safe in the closet. The small hallway from the door had a small bench to sit on when changing shoes. Housecleaning was good. There was an evening turn-down service. Slippers and cotton bathrobes are available in the room

Most of the staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful with advice on where to eat and how to get around. At our request he front desk inquired with the cathedral regarding the time of certain activities. They request that you drop off your keys whenever you leave the hotel, a common practice in Europe

As mentioned by another recent reviewed Hotel Montecarlo their breakfast buffet was recently offered at a lower price or €9.00. It is a very reasonable price and their choices are extensive and more than the usual pastries, cereal, scrambled eggs and bacon. The cheeses and cold cuts were very good. There was a wide selection of bread; there were fresh tomatoes and olive oil that you could use to make bruschetta-like bread (lightly toast the bread, rub the meat of the tomato onto the bread, then lightly drizzle the olive oil) The orange juice was freshly-squeezed. The coffee was freshly-brewed. The lady at the buffet quickly learnt I liked 2 glasses of OJ and was ready with a refill. I would normally suggest going out for breakfast but the convenience, quality and even price can't be beat. They also offer free snacks and water at the lounge bar from 11AM to 11PM but the staff will also be ready to serve you some alcoholic beverages from the bar (for a price, of course) and one night we relaxed over a bottle of cava (Spanish champagne).

Excellent location, service, room quality, and a good breakfast option. What more could you want in the heart of Barcelona. Stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Address: La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.