We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on Las Ramblas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 519 hotels in Barcelona
Somerset, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location on Las Ramblas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We travelled to Barcelona, Alicante, and a return to Barcelona in May/June of 2009. We stayed at the Hotel Montecarlo, on Las Ramblas.

When communicating with the hotel staff throughout the year, I requested a room on Las Ramblas. You have to pay for that privelege, but it was well worth it. Can be a bit noisy at times. See below.

We arrived on the day of a European football championship match (I believe in Rome) between Barcelons FC and Manchester United. Barcelona fans were everywhere, showing their colors, singing, and tooting their horns. Giant screens were set up in different parts of the city. When Barcelona won that evening, Las Ramblas became like Times Square on New Years. Even though we had not really slept, flying through the night, we joined the celebration, to a degree. Finally when it was time to try to get some sleep, the celebration of course continued. Even with the double doors and 2 pillows over my head, it was difficult to sleep. This was however an unusual situation. Not the fault of the hotel. All the other nights were fine. We had a beautiful room, somewhat like a suite, with a sparate living area. Look on the site for photos of the rooms.

Breakfast was ok, but I cannot remember if it was included.

They charged a different rate depending whether you were staing on a weekend or during the week. In other words, we had to pay more for our weekend nights than our week nights, instead of one rate for the entire stay. I thought that strange.

The Gaudi architecture was other worldly, very organic. Barcelonetta, a good walk or short Metro trip toward the sea, is an other great area of Barcelona. There you will find the large beach, harbor with pleasure craft, restaurants, shops, and cable car to the mountain and it's sites.

Las Ramblas and Hotel Montecarlo are right in the heart of the action. Would stay again.

To submit this review, I have to select a date. I chose February, 2013, but we actually travelled, as stated earlier, in May/June, 2009.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Las Ramblas. Can be noisy, and expensive, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,221
    288
    52
    18
    14
See reviews for
170
925
107
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a great stay here. The room was huge -- it felt like we were staying in our own apartment. You can't beat the location -- right on the main tourist street with a supermarket right across the street. The street market and the huge dept store are both a 5 minute walk away. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed In the Hotel Monte Carlo between 11th - 14th January 2013. I had booked it as a surprise for my husband's 50th birthday having read all the favourable reviews on Trip Advisor and we were cerainly not disappointed. We had a superior room facing La Rambla with it's own balcony. It was amazing to open the two patio doors and watch the world go by and hear the excitement and hustle and bustle of a busy city, yet on closing the two doors and dropping the blackout blind, all the noise disappeared, Room was spacious and clean with a lovely comfortable bed that adjusted electronically. Lovely jacuzzi bath and small sittting area where we enjoyed complimentary tea and coffee brought up to our room. On my husband's birthday evening they surprised us with a bottle of champagne on ice. Found all staff friendly and helpful and they even threw in breakfast for free for the three nights we were there. Ideally situated for the autobus shuttle to and from the airport and also the open top tour buses. Wonderful Gothic area nearby and also the Boqueria food market which was a joy and loads of restaurants and bars. For the special birthday meal we ate at 7 portes and had a fabulous evening with wonderful food and drink. Felt proud to return to our amazing hotel each evening, and my husband said the holiday was one of the best times of his life. We will certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends and we will be back. Wonderful, happy memories.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here for a week in July. Unfortuntely just before checking in I had my wallet pick pocketed at the La Rambla markets. In my crying mess the hotel directed me to the police station with a map and then allowed me to use their phone free of charge to organise new credit cards etc.

The hotel is very comfortable and spacious. Everything was very clean and the beds were very soft and lovely.

This hotel is in the perfect walking position to all the major shopping and site seeing adventures in Barcelona.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here in November for 5 days/nights on the second leg of a three country tour. I would give it 5 stars except for a couple of things. The hotel gets top marks for cleanliness, very cool modern decor, superior architecture, first class linens, comfy adjustable bed (a definite plus) and superb location. Don't miss the Boqueria market less than a block away. There are plenty of excellent restaurants and cafes all around. The front desk had some good recommendations but we did better on our own or reading reviews on line. Take the express bus to/from the airport which stops on the north side of Placa de Catalunya (about 3 blocks). The staff overall is very good, professional and eager to help, however, they seemed to always be in a rush and a couple of them (managers?) were a little brusque. The rate includes the room, a few channels on the tele and internet for two devices--if you have three, too bad. It seems like they could include a few more selections on the entertainment system which has a lot to offer - if you want to pay. My main complaint is that my "superior" room had no natural light or view what so ever which I found to be a little depressing. The only window opened to a very narrow ventilation shaft. If you want to see something besides 4 walls, be sure to book a higher priced room with a view over La Rambles. My friends booked one of the suites on the front of the hotel and the view was great. The bathroom was very nice and fully equipped, however, the shower curtain was paper thin and the steam from the shower creates a convection that causes it to blow in and stick to you. I used bottles of water to hold the curtain in place. This worked pretty well but was cumbersome. I would probably stay here again and have no problem recommending it....with a couple of caveats.

Room Tip: If you want to see more than four walls, pay extra and book a room overlooking La Rambles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

on entering this hotel you are immediately sat down and made to feel special by very polite staff. It is a refreshing change from the train station style reception desk. You are even offered a complimentary drink. The decor is excellent and the rooms have amazing fingerprint technology. Choose a quite back facing room. The hotel is well located and walking distance to most sites. The reception restaurant is relaxing and though the menu is limited and not cheap, the food quality is excellent. Staff overall are very helpful. The rooms have an open plan bathroom more suited to couples. I would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Right in the thick of the excitement on La Rambla but still quiet and very elegant. Desk staff were terrific and added to our enjoyment of the city. The shuttle to the airport is no more than a 5 minute walk. Be watchful for pick pockets and be prepared for an onslaught of beggars all over the tourist areas but especially on La Rambla. The Montecarlo is a safe haven from all that and I will stay there again when in Barcelona. We booked at the last minute at a deep discount so expected the smallest room in the hotel. And maybe it was, but I have to say, it was lovely, very spacious, with a gorgeous bathroom and a strong internet signal. There was no view from the room but that's what you get at the last minute on the cheaps! The hotel lounge was very cool. We especially appreciated the security. You were required to leave your key at the desk and no one got past the desk without checking in for the room key. This assured that only hotel guests or the guests of guests were in the hotel. There are restaurants and sidewalk cafes of every type and budget within several blocks. The street entertainers are fun and right outside the door. You can catch the on and off sightseeing bus at the same square as the airport shuttle. We are very pleased that we stayed at the Montecarlo.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Address: La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.