We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel,superb location. , S Comfortable Lovely Hotr ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Extra discount
Ranked #15 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel,superb location. , S Comfortable Lovely Hotr ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Well located in the middle of LA Rambla. We had a front facing room on the third floor with balcony. Great views of the street entertainers, without being concerned about pickpockets!!
The balcony is reached by opening two double glazed sliding doors, therefore very little intrusive noise.
Our room was a superior one which was well appointed and comfortable.
The staff were friendly and very helpful during our stay.
Barcelona is a magnificent city to visit at this time of year, sunny, not too warm for walking and not too crowded.

Do not pay for private transfers through your travel agent.
You will be provided with an ordinary taxi cab and be charged 50% more, a rip off.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    361
    57
    19
    18
See reviews for
207
1,110
145
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I think the Montecarlo hotel is great! You can't beat the location and the rooms are generous. We stayed in a basic room and is was spacious. I LOVED the adjustable bed and there was a jetted tub in the bathroom. The blackout curtains were nice but I unfortunately overslept becuase they work a bit too well. The room overlooked a nice courtyard and was very quiet, which was a suprise considering the location of the hotel. We found the desk person to be very helpful and he recommended some great restaurants close by. I would certainly stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were 3 couples staying here prior to a Mediterranean cruise. Although we arrived early, after a transatlantic flight, the staff was very accommodating by allowing us to securely leave our luggage until check-in time. The desk clerk recommended a restaurant and made dinner reservations, where we later enjoyed a large selection of tapas and sangria. He also advised us regarding Flamenco tickets, which allowed us to go right to the front of the line when we arrived. The rooms were nice and clean with a lovely view of La Rambla. When I needed to recharge my camera, the desk clerk produced a box with multiple adapters. After checking out, the staff went out of their way to secure 2 taxis for us, on a very busy street. The service we received from the staff was excellent and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of La Rambla are subject to late-night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in november this year and really enjoyed our stay. The location is great close to a lot of main attraction and right on las ramblas. Breakfast was nice with a decent spread. But what made it was the service the staff at the front desk were very helpful with anything we needed and always made you feel welcome. The rooms were always kept clean and towls were changed couple times a day. I loved this hotel and would highly recomend it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, US
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had booked a room here for one night pre-cruise in November, and could not have been happier with my choice. The room was a great value considering the location, the service levels, and the lovely and comfortable accomodations. I regret that I only had one night there, and am planning a trip back to Barcelona for a longer stay and will definitely use the Hotel MonteCarlo as my base of operations.

A note for female solo travelers in particular: service from hotel staff was respectful and helpful yet "gender-neutral"; I didn't get the feeling as can happen on occasion that I was being patronized or condescended to. Additionally, the hotel felt quite secure and the bathrooms are any woman's delight!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon in 2008 and were really impressed with the hotel. The room was huge with a seperate sitting area and giant bathroom. We had a window that overlooked Las Ramblas so we could watch all the business of the street. Eventhough it's on a busy street the windows were very thick and had dark shades so we could shutout the outside world and sleep in late if needed. We also really enjoyed the view and lounge area on the rooftop. If you're looking to save some $$$ there is a convienent grocery store across the street.

Room Tip: We had a large room overlooking Las Ramblas. I'm not sure if it was an upgrade but there was mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Me and my Girlfriend stayed here for 5 nights from the 25th November, we booked a junior suite room 202, it has a very big bay window as your sitting room, with mini fridge, CD player and also flat screen t.v, with a 2 seater leather sofa, the bedroom has a very large super comfortable bed that moves up and down with remote, then the bathroom was unreal, walk in shower, massage jets and a very large rain shower head, then theirs the double jacuzzi which helped ease away the tired legs from all the walking we did. the staff are second to none, absolutely fantastic, very knowledgeable about everything to go and do in Barcelona. the breakfast which came free with the room was a great way to start your day, cereals, fresh fruit and breads, fried breakfast , cold meats, croissants and pastries, also freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee and teas as well. we had free wifi , although this didn't work for the first few days until they got someone in to fix the booster problem, but it didn't retract from an absolutely fabulous stay, will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Room 202 big bay window over looks the ramblas, then theres a balcony that comes off your bedroom al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#13 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,157 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#7 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#6 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona

Address: La Rambla, 124, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montecarlo Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.