We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Confortel Almirante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Confortel Almirante to your Saves list
Confortel Almirante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 42, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Guitart Almirante) (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #421 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I am writing this review on my second night of 3 nights here in this crap hotel that claims to be 4 stars. I booked this through secret hotel on lastminute. I then checked the guest reviews and regretted immediately the purchase as it has terrible reviews. I can't cancel as all nights booked will be the penalty. So we sucked it up and gave it a try. Lo and behold, the extremely horrible reviews are there for a reason. The staff are either rude or idiots. No teapot, no desk for computer work, asked for double bed was given two singles put together, windows not properly insulated from noise of passing cars, missing TV remote control, crappy breakfast selection, unreasonable prices on room service menus, and the property quality is mis-starred. One star at best (and I'm being generous!)

Room Tip: avoid avoid avoid and if you ever do by mistake like I did, avoid the night male clerk with ugly col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    134
    113
    89
    71
See reviews for
60
197
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We got off to a good start as we were upgraded free of charge as better room empty and so we had a lovely view, especially at night. Room very clean, hotel clean, very polite staff, ideal location, just the odd bits of tiredness showing due to it being end of season, but sure they will sort that.
Downside was TV useless and only Spanish programmes, no choice of Sky, the food was not to my liking really at breakfast, but then that's just my choice, and there were no facilities for tea/coffee in room. I'm being quite fussy though as overall it was worth a full 4 stars and would use again.

BobK

Room Tip: Top floor with view over city superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Hotel was in good location, near nice streets. Also ramblas was 5min away from the hotel. We had room on the 7th floor and view from the balcony was nice, we even sew sagra de famiglia and that other building with nice colours in the night.
We were travelled by local bus and metro and those were easy to use and cost only 2euro per person.
In hotel room was air conditioned and the were fridge where was also water free of charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel reception is modern and the staff are very enthusiastic and helpful. However, don't be fooled by the four star rating - this is definitely a Spanish four star! As a regular traveler to nice four star hotels, you expect an iron and a working gym but the hotel didn't have either. They had ironing facilities but only available in the morning for a charge and the hotel had a really small gym with a sole broken treadmill. It kind of felt like they had all the glitz of a central Barcelona hotel but didn't really provide. Other than that, the location is perfect, the rooms are clean and Barcelona is gorgeous! I would definitely recommend this hotel for the price but just don't expect the same standards as other four star hotels around the world! Overall, I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and it was relatively inexpensive. It was not highly rated but we figured it was only for two nights and we would make the best of it. We liked the hotel. The staff were helpful. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the hotel is in a good location. This is not a luxury hotel but it is more than adequate. If you are on a budget and prefer to spend your money on good food and interesting experiences rather than expensive and unnecessary accommodations, then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Confortel Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confortel Almirante

Address: Via Laietana 42, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Guitart Almirante)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Confortel Almirante 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and modern, the Confortel Almirante enjoys a privileged location that will make us dream of the past. Located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter, just 200 meters from the Cathedral and the Palau de la Música and a few minutes from the Borne area, famous for its variety of restaurants and its bohemian and elitist atmosphere.Guests can stroll down the famous Ramblas, located less than 10 minutes walk and the metro station Jaume I is only 300 meters away.All rooms are decorated with contemporary furnishings and amenities that will make guests feel at home: free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, flat-screen TV, satellite TV, free safety deposit box and air conditioning .The hotel offers as well a fitness center and several PC’s located in the main lobby offering free Wi-Fi access. Room service available during limited hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Confortel Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Almirante Hotel Barcelona
Confortel Almirante Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confortel Almirante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.