We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Confortel Almirante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Confortel Almirante to your Saves list
Confortel Almirante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 42, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Guitart Almirante) (El Born / La Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #422 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    143
    123
    94
    81
See reviews for
66
210
11
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, España
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel itself is not wonderful. It is an old renovated hotel with nothing special but fine. Beds are comfortable and everything is clean, which it is really important.
After reading the reviews I was a little bit concerned but honestly, the hotel is just fine. Maybe you expect more from a 4 star hotel but nowadays sometimes it is better a 2 or 3 hotel fully new than an old 4 star one, so I dont trust stars too much...
Breakfast was also good enough.
The best of all... Its location! It is 2 minutes away from the cathedral and 15 min walking to the port. Evrything is close and thats a big plus in a city like Barcelona.
I would stay there again if I can find a good offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we got a cheap last minute deal as a quick get away/city break. the photos on the website are misleading however after reading reviews we were slightly worried! when we arrived we were pleasently suprised! yes the room was quite small but perfectly exeptable. the bathroom was clean and modern. the shower hose had a slight hole in it which we mentioned at reception...by the time we came back it was fixed. we didnt have breakfast as we prefer to find little cafes but the location was perfect with a little market just rpund the corner. its definately not a luxury hotel of the.highest quality but there was nothing to complain about...we decided that some people just love to complain!! its perfect for a quick week away!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited Confortel armirante in October 2012. We really do not know who gave this hotel 4 stars. It is max 2 stars hotel... On the pictures Confrtel Almirante looked great and modern but after arrival we were shocked. The hotel is dirty and terrible. We gave the reception guy 50 euro to get better room but even this "better" room was terrible. The hotel looks very old and dirty. The furniture and stairway is old. There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel. Breakfast is served in small room and is very poor. Rooms are also very loud terrible. There are no carpets on the cold floor. Also no mini bar. I do not recommend to stay in this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

They first gave us a room with no windows to the dark alley with frosted glass because the view was terrible it was better to block it. The matress was broken and general finish of the unit was extremely poor(markings on the wall, water marks on the ceiling). The temperature control unit was busted and there was no way i was going to spend a night in that hole. We asked the front desk to move us into a room with a window to the street. This room was much bigger and better layout. The quality of finish was still below par but at least we had a bit more light. The promotional pictures i saw

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We did not go with high expectations based on reviews. When we first came into the hotel we thought the guy at the front desk was very friendly, and when I asked for a room with a balcony, he said he would see what he could. Then he made it sound as though he did me a massive favour by giving us "the best room" in the hotel. I saw others when they were getting cleaned, it was probably the worse. very dark room, lights were different colours, tv staticky and bathroom sink's drains were terrible. Other than that, we had a very comfortable stay! They lend us a converter, when asked for band-aids they gave me about 5, and the housekeeper was so sweet. The location was PERFECT, we were on the second floor and the traffic was totally fine at night (which is the only time we spent in the room: to sleep). For the price, loved it. Just that first guy could have done better for us! If you stay in that area, for breakfast I highly recommend Jamaica Cafe (which is up the street on the right just before Palau Musica!)

In summery, I did not hate it enough to want to change hotels, beds were veryyy comfy, clean and the shower was hot and relaxing.... that's all I really needed. But if I stayed longer in this dark room/bathroom, I would have gone crazy!

Room Tip: I loved having the balcony! but 209 is not the best...lights were BAD and a few issues in the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon,england
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spent two nights here on a short three day trip to see Celticv Barca,the hotel is well located to visit las ramblas,the cathedral and not too far from the harbour area,the hotel is situated on a busy street so you do get a fair bit of noise from the traffic if your in a front facing room.The room we stayed in was fairly high up overlooking the main road so there was a view of sorts and a lot of noise throughout the day,the room itself was very nice and a fair size with a nice bathroom area.
There are plenty of bars and cafes nearby so the location was ideal for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Confortel Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confortel Almirante

Address: Via Laietana 42, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Guitart Almirante)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Confortel Almirante 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and modern, the Confortel Almirante enjoys a privileged location that will make us dream of the past. Located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter, just 200 meters from the Cathedral and the Palau de la Música and a few minutes from the Borne area, famous for its variety of restaurants and its bohemian and elitist atmosphere.Guests can stroll down the famous Ramblas, located less than 10 minutes walk and the metro station Jaume I is only 300 meters away.All rooms are decorated with contemporary furnishings and amenities that will make guests feel at home: free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, flat-screen TV, satellite TV, free safety deposit box and air conditioning .The hotel offers as well a fitness center and several PC’s located in the main lobby offering free Wi-Fi access. Room service available during limited hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Confortel Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Almirante Hotel Barcelona
Confortel Almirante Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confortel Almirante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.