We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Confortel Almirante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Confortel Almirante to your Saves list
Confortel Almirante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 42, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Guitart Almirante) (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #422 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    134
    113
    89
    72
See reviews for
60
197
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The location of this hotel right by the old Gothic quarters is unbeatable. However, the hotel itself should not be advertised as a 4 star. The website photos are not an adequate representation of what the rooms actually look like which are much smaller and more basic than they appear on the website photos. Our room was tiny, barely enough room to walk around the bed! It was also quite pricey even though we booked online, off season as a "last minute" deal. As well, it is located on a very noisy main street and our room got very hot at night. I suspect the air conditioning was not working properly. That being said, it is steps away from great coffee shops, restaurants, tourist attractions and a subway station. So if you are only looking for a place to sleep while visiting one of the most amazing cities in the world, it will be fine, however you can likely find a better deal elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a big as room as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Whilst I always check trip advisor before I travel, I often feel sometimes people are hyper-critical. With regards to this hotel, the reviews on trip advisor are spot on. This is definitely the worst hotel my husband and I have stayed in. Purely because it is mis-sold. This hotel should advertise itself as a multi-star hotel. On our arrival we were asked if we wanted to upgrade. That in itself should have sounded alarm bells, but given that this is 'a 4 star hotel' we decided that the standard room should suffice as you are very rarely in your room on a city break. Our room was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in, but we thought it would do until the air conditioning refused to work! We then asked to move rooms and again were asked if wanted to upgrade, it was explained that you get a more spacious room, and a terrace overlooking Sagrada Familia. At this point we did pay the extra 130 euros and got a great room until my husband went to take a shower and the bath split in two! So we were moved again, to a much smaller room overlooking the road (no refund on the upgrade). On the whole if this was a two star hotel I wouldnt write this review as you would be getting what you paid for but even by European standards this is not a 4 star hotel. In 5 nights we had 3 rooms which I would all rate differently but none of them 4! If u are looking to book a 4 star hotel in Barcelona, this is not it!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Toooooo much noise. We feel like we are sleeping on the street and hear everyone talking and walking by as early as 6a.m. !! The housekeeping started banging the doors at 9a.m. since it was a Friday night we were out late and had a couple of drinks,waking up like this when u are hung over,isn't really the best experience !!! Hate this hotel,have never been to one this bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was a bit of a gamble for us. After reading the reviews on trip advisor, I thought the odds are it won't be as bad as it seems but it in fact was bad. The room on the first night was terrible, it was dark and the window opened into the backside of another building. The fuse for the room kept tripping when we plugged in the chargers for phones. The next day they gave us one of their best rooms on the top floor with a gorgeous view and free breakfast for our stay. However this was after repeated complaining.

They did make up for their mistakes during our stay but we won't go back to this hotel or any in the chain.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I understand July is a busy month for hotels but €330 for something this horrible can never be justified. Staff don't speak English. It's old and dirty. Rooms are smaller than they appear in photographs. I found hair all over the restroom floor. My AC didn't work. Towels were ripped. I don't know how this can be called a 4 star. It's a 2 star, 3 if you want to be generous.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This weekend we spend this hotel because of my birthday. actually we made a little bit of a mess, but the hotel management was very cool. They understand that we had this party. I think they reacted very friendly. Thank you Confortel Almirante. See you next time...

Adios Bob

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Confortel Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confortel Almirante

Address: Via Laietana 42, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Guitart Almirante)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Confortel Almirante 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and modern, the Confortel Almirante enjoys a privileged location that will make us dream of the past. Located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter, just 200 meters from the Cathedral and the Palau de la Música and a few minutes from the Borne area, famous for its variety of restaurants and its bohemian and elitist atmosphere.Guests can stroll down the famous Ramblas, located less than 10 minutes walk and the metro station Jaume I is only 300 meters away.All rooms are decorated with contemporary furnishings and amenities that will make guests feel at home: free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, flat-screen TV, satellite TV, free safety deposit box and air conditioning .The hotel offers as well a fitness center and several PC’s located in the main lobby offering free Wi-Fi access. Room service available during limited hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Confortel Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Almirante Hotel Barcelona
Confortel Almirante Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confortel Almirante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.