We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cuatro Naciones

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cuatro Naciones to your Saves list
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla 40, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (La Rambla)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Valencia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Booked a triple room for two days and I can safety say it was spotless and in a great location!
The pictures don't do it justice and I was worried when I first looked it up but how wrong was I .
The only down side was it is in an area that is loud at night they clean the streets at 4 in the morning and empty the bins to you can also hear people outside in the street but you are in a central place.
The two men on the desk where helpful and you felt safe are other friends had there rooms broken into and that was a 4 star hotel,the only other thing where the ladies of the night that aren't that far away up the street and the famous pickpockets make interesting viewing from the balcony window.
The wifi was great and free so all in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter but if you want the view the ones at the front are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    296
    81
    12
    8
See reviews for
129
210
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights staff very helpful & friendly right on the Rambla excellent position. It rained hard on last day hotel provided us with umbrellas & gave us a good restaurant to go for dinner.
Good hotel for a short break stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My friend and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel before Christmas and enjoyed it thoroughly. The hotel at 70 Euros per night including breakfast was a huge bargain and right on the very busy La Rambla-lots of fun. The front desk is staffed 24/7 and every one of the gentlemen at the desk were friendly, helpful and accommodating. They even lent us converters to use for all of our electronics We had a large room at the back of the hotel with twin beds with lots of separation as per my friend's request (hard to find in Barcelona as most of the beds are right together with only an inch or 2 to separate-not great if you are just friends travelling). The breakfast each morning in a clean room overlooking La Ramblas was varied and plentiful, eggs, meats, cheeses, fresh croissants, etc. Coffee, tea, juices and wrapped pastries if you want to put something in your purse for later. The washroom was large and functional. There is a lounge with 2 computers and free internet and a printer to print boarding passes, books to borrow, maps and discount coupons. We both would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends. The only negative would be the very strong cleaning smell at times. It could be worse-at least it was a clean smell. It is not a luxury hotel, just a really nice, reasonable, friendly place to stay when in Barcelona.

Room Tip: If you want something special in a room, just ask. They are very accommodating. Our room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After an overnight trans-Atlantic flight to Barcelona airport we taxied to the hotel and arrived on 11/6/13. The location could not have been better; right on Las Ramblas. We were immediately greeted and checked in by friendly front desk staff that spoke English. Since we were early; our room was not ready but our bags were locked away and we were free to tour Barcelona, We returned a few hours later and our bags were already in our room. The room was very clean. The furnishings were very basic but comfortable. We had a room in the rear of the hotel that was very quiet for sleeping. The front desk staff were very helpful with recommendations for all of our needs. The free breakfast was good and enough to start your day. I would definitely stay at Hotel Cuarto Naciones again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed for four nights at this hotel and were very satisfied with it. The location was excellent, with the Rambla just outside the door. Our room was on the inner yard side and very quiet at night time. The breakfast was good, the staff friendly and it was easy to use the free internet at the salon. We also greatly enjoyed the two fine flamenco tablaos just a couple of blocks from the hotel.
Kaija

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and were very impressed with the location, the friendly helpful staff and the large size of the room. The hotel is spotlessly clean and offers very good value for money - it is not 'posh' but provides an excellent base to explore the city with lots of the attractions within walking distance and with two Metro stops right on the doorstep. The breakfast was plentiful (croissants, toast, cereal, fruit and cheese and ham as well as cooked egg and bacon!). Breakfast is served between 7 and 11 if you fancy a lie in and the windows face on to La Rambla - great for people watching while you are deciding how to spend the day! There is no kettle or tea and coffee in the rooms but there is a drinks machine in the communal lounge area. Our room was huge and really quiet - at the back of the hotel with a nice en-suite with hairdryer.
We had a great time and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed for a weekend trip to site see Barcelona, the hotel was perfectly located on La Rambla with access to local Metro network, the nearby port (about 15 minutes walk) and some local attractions - Gothic Quarter, Christopher Columbus monument. The staff there were willing and able to give good advice on how to get to attractions and made it a pleasant stay. Rooms were a reasonable size for the price, and comfortable if a bit noisy (but it is in the centre of the city you can't really have both!). Breakfast was ok, but overall enjoyed the stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cuatro Naciones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuatro Naciones

Address: La Rambla 40, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#125 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cuatro Naciones 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite affordable in light of its extremely central location on Las Ramblas, the Hotel Cuatro Naciones in Barcelona has been providing basic rooms for more than 200 years . Turn-of-the century style unfolds in a lobby decked out with high crown molding, wrought ironwork, and marble galore. ... Read MoreA sweeping staircase leads to 55 simplistic rooms with white walls and punchy pink bedspreads and curtains. Floors are smooth stone mosaic. There's also an elevator, if stairs aren't your thing. Fourteen of the rooms at the Hotel Cuatro Naciones offer sweeping views of La Rambla. The first floor salon is a must-see, featuring hotel-related news clippings through the ages and signed photos and memorabilia of the hotel's most famous guests. The fancy guest history includes Stendhal, Frederic-Francois Chopin, Ulysses S. Grant, and Buffalo Bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cuatro Naciones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuatro Naciones Hotel
Cuatro Naciones Barcelona
Hotel Cuatro Naciones Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cuatro Naciones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.