We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona (65th) Birthday Bash” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gaudi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gaudi to your Saves list
Hotel Gaudi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nou de la Rambla 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #174 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Barcelona (65th) Birthday Bash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ideal centrally located, good quality hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff speaking good English. In particular Mark was a pleasure to have in reception. We had Room 420 with a large sunny terrace, with superb view over the Palau Guell immediately opposite. The room was well appointed with excellent bath and shower, plenty of hanging space and spotlessly clean. We would certainly stay here again. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice again with pleasant decor. There was a very smart bar off reception with reasonable prices. The hotel was very close to the Ramblas but distance enough away to give us a quiet nights sleep. There are many small supermarkets and eating places within a couple of minutes walk. It is only 5 mins from nearest Metro station. Only negatives are no tea/coffee making facilities and the orange juice from the machine at breakfast tasted artificial. Overall excellent.

Room Tip: Worth spending extra for a room with a terrace view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    367
    117
    26
    16
See reviews for
149
326
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Five sisters spent from Sept 26 to Oct 3, 2012 at this hotel to celebrate a 60th birthday. We had a wonderful time! The staff were exemplary - from the housecleaning staff to the reception staff to the bell hop. They were helpful, knowledgeable (got a great recommendation for a restaurant which they then made the arrangements for us to go to) and unfailingly polite. There was even a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate the birthday. We were in 2 different rooms - the room at the back was quiet and although the room at the front was noisy it was worth it just to have the balcony where all five of us could sit , debrief our days and wave to the tourists on the top of the Palau Guell. Location great. Breakfast is plentiful. Room service meal was tasty, delivered promptly and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

westay we stayed for one night at the hotel Prior to a cruise. we had 5 couples and 3 had rooms at the front and two at the back. The only complaint we had were the terribly hard beds! all rooms were decent and clean. Breakfast good, and location was great. The festival was on so a number of us did not sleep well, but that doesn't have anything to do with the hotel.
As a decent priced hotel I would recommend it to most people.

Room Tip: Front is best for the view, but the back is better for sleep quality...and If you don't like har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Gaudi for 3 nights from 24th September 2012, I requested a room with a terrace and a good view. We got a great room with a terrace and a fabulous view of the Gaudi Palace opposite - Request room 419. Two single beds and a sofa bed, the terrace was big enough for 2 chairs, a table and a sun lounger! we got lucky with the request as the hotel was nearly full. The staff were excellent, in particular the reception manager who was a brillaint guy who wanted to be sure we were happy with the room. The hotel was very clean and even the cleaning staff were very friendly, the bell hop was brillaint - he ran everywhere when it was busy and earned his wages every day! The rooms are a little basic but when you are in Barca you dodn't spend much time in there anyway. Breakfast was fine, the usual pastries, meats, cheese, fruit, cereal and a hot station for scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages. The hotel is located two thirds down Las Ramblas near Liceiu Metro, always easy to find after a night on the town, the beach is a 20 minute walk if you have had enough of the sights. There is a supermarket almost next door for all the extras you need and bars and restaurants are plentyful. I would happily stay again and would recommend to friends - a safe choice in a town where you can be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for room 419 or something front facing for the best views / floors 4 or 5 are the best the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just back after a 4 night stay in this wonderful hotel. The rooms were spotless and the decor modern. The hotel is only about 100m from the Ramblas but unbeleivably quiet. The staff couldn't do enough for you and certainly made you feel welcome. look for a room on the 4th floor with views into Parc Guell. The only downside if any is that the hotel bar closes at 11.00pm.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms with a balcony and a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We were staying in the south east of France about 1 1/2 hours from Barcelona and thought it was a good opportunity to visit the city. I booked the Hotel Gaudi as it was close to Las Rambla, however after reading a few reviews I was a bit dubious about the hotel! Should not have worried. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean and adequate, we had come to visit the city and not stay in the room. Equally we were not too bothered that the view from the balcony was not so great, overlooking the police station and housing. Quite fascinating to sit on our balcony late at night and watch a local gambling school in action!
Hotel is well located for Las Rambla, Placa Reial and the sea. Fantastic tapas bar in Placa Reial and street entertainment at night. Did not feel in the least insecure, just have to be a bit street wise!
All in all a great location and would use the Hotel Gaudi again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gaudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gaudi

Address: Nou de la Rambla 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#162 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gaudi 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with comfortable accommodations, restaurant and bar; located near the Ramblas, the Gothic Square and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gaudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaudi Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gaudi Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gaudi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.