We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to our expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gaudi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gaudi to your Saves list
Hotel Gaudi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nou de la Rambla 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #164 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not up to our expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Misleading website regarding the view. The furniture was quite old. The people in the e-mails were not that willing to help. However, great central location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    326
    105
    24
    16
See reviews for
131
289
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

If going to Barcelona for Gaudi then this is the place. See pics for the view from the patio in room #520. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Hotel was clean and tidy with flat screen tv's and large bathrooms. Perfect location right across from the Gaudi/Guell home/museum and off of the main touristy action packed street of Las Ramblas. Few blocks to the wonderful Boqueria market. Market is closed on Sundays and the Gaudi/Guell home closed on Mondays .
Would for sure stay again. Big "Hola" to Carmen in the cafe/bar.
Happy travels.

Room Tip: The view from room #520 can not be beat. See pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for two nights after our Mediterranean cruise. The hotel met every expectation. The room was clean and the terrace looking at the Gaudi palace was perfect. Quiet location right off the center of La Rambla. Buy your hop on hop off bus discounts at the front desk of the hotel. You save 4 euros each. Large included breakfast was a nice touch - included eggs, sausage and potatoes. They went the extra mile for us on the morning we left because breakfast was not being served yet, so they made us a picnic breakfast for us to take with us. We would definitely return and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor facing the palace when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystrad Mynach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I recently enjoyed 2 nights at the excellent Hotel Gaudi. The hotel is located in a small side street yards from the famous La Rambla. The location couldn't be better, only a 10 minute walk to Rambla del Mar and a further 5 minutes to Port Vell. The gothic quarter is also an easy stroll from the hotel. Its also only an easy 15 minutes down La Rambla from Placa Catalunya where the airport express bus service drops you off. The hotel is typical Spanish style decor with a Gaudiesque water fountain in the lobby. The rooms and all the public areas were spotlessly clean if a little jaded in places. The hotal staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was more than adequate. There was all the usual cereal, yoghurts, breads, pastries, cheese, ham and fresh fruit on offer, plus a small hot section of bacon sausages and eggs. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in the fabulous city of Barcelona. My only word of warning is not about the hotel but the pickpockets, all the zips on my backpack were opened one afternoon while strolling around the gothic quarter. Nothing was taken because there was nothing of value in my bag but I was amazed that someone could have unzipped my bag and had a rummage without me being aware of it! Don't let it put you off visiting this fabulous city but take extra care with your bags and valubales. Finally, on a happy note, enjoy a beer, glass of wine or cocktail at a bar on the Placa Reial immediately across La Rambla from the hotel and watch the square light up and come alive as darkness descends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in October and had a great time. The location is ideal for a short stay in Barcelona as it is just off Las Ramblas.

The reception staff were fantastic, very helpful (especially Jesus). After our first night we asked to move room as we appeared to be beneath an engine room of some sort (520) that kept us awake most of the night. We were then moved to room 421 which was fantastic (bigger than 520 - more room to move about and more wardrobe space).

Like others have stated, the views from the superior rooms from the 4th floor upwards are fantastic! Just remember that tourists can see in your room if the balcony doors are open! Rooms are also not very sound proof.

The breakfast was good considering it was continental. Cereals, toast, fruit, meats, cheese, bread rolls, scrambled and boiled egg, sausage, bacon, pastries, tea, coffee an fruit juice.

We found some good bars and restaurants heading down Las Ramblas towards the sea taking the last street on the left.

Make sure you know the price of your tapas before you order it as we got ripped off with gambas pil pil (prawns in oil and garlic) at one restaurant where we were charged 17 euros for it!

The airport bus runs from the top of Las Ramblas and is just over 5 euro per person to El Prat airport. We flew in to Girona and the bus was approx 12 euro from there to Barcelona.

Best Metro stop for Nou Camp is Maria Cristina on the green line.

We would stay here again if we were guaranteed room 421.

Room Tip: Room 421 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Loved the hotel until we encountered a sewerage leak in our room. This was fixed after a few hours (uninhabitable in meantime) but the smell persisted for 24hrs + and the management refused to refund 1 night tarriff or compensate in any way. Having to even raise this with them was unpleasant. Shame that their reputation is damaged by their poor customer relations.

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace and view to Palau Guell makes it worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed here for five nights following a stay down at the beach/port olimpic.
We had upgraded before travelling to the top floor and were certainly glad we had as the views from the very large private sun terrace over Barcelona were superb.
The room itself was good but the large terrace made the difference. The rooms were cleaned immaculately every day and the reception staff were vry friendly and helpful.
However, the breakfast we felt was not the best, what there was to eat was perfectly edible but there was not much choice.
Also, the hotel was very noise very early in the morning from the constant lift noise and we think perhaps the boiler.
Would stay again but only if we were guaranteed room 615. (There are two rooms on the very top floor and 614, the other also has a large sun terrace but not as good an overall view as 615).

Room Tip: Would not recommend any room floor three or lower and if at all possible choose room 615. Would on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gaudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gaudi

Address: Nou de la Rambla 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#170 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gaudi 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with comfortable accommodations, restaurant and bar; located near the Ramblas, the Gothic Square and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gaudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaudi Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gaudi Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gaudi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.