We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Primero Primera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Primero Primera to your Saves list
Hotel Primero Primera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
ATL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Would come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We reserved two rooms. Our reservation was for two nights. We left the hotel, traveled to Sevilla for one night and returned to this hotel the following night. Therefore, we saw four rooms here during our stay.

The first set of rooms were on the top floor and included hardwood floors, exposed wood beam ceilings, large shower with rain shower head, super comfy bed with great linens and six fluffy pillows, an ipod clock which allowed me to play my own music, very modern decor and much more. When we opened our room door, we were on an ourdoor exposed patio. The patio has great outdoor furniture and would have been a comfy lounge space had we wanted to relax as a family outside at the hotel.

The second set of rooms were on a lower floor and had carpet instead of hardwood. The decor was still very modern and uber comfy.

Each of the rooms were different but all very modern, well decorated with super comfy beds.

We arrived at 9:00 am on check in day. The attendant allowed us to take breakfast before checking in. The breakfast had plenty of choices and was served in a beautiful dining space. There was also a patio available to have breakfast if you preferred.

We attempted to purchase tickets for Sagrada Familia at the ATM but had problems. The desk attendant walked us through purchasing online and printed out the tickets for us.

On the last day of our stay, we had to leave for the airport at 5:00AM. As we were leaving before breakfast, the staff offered us complimentary juice, coffee and croissants to nibble before rushing into the taxi.

The train station was a few blocks away and the train seemed to come over 5-8 minutes. The train ride to the city center took about 15 minutes. Therefore, the location was not inconvenient at all.

I would love to stay here again. I think I should fly back to Barcelona for the express purpose of staying in the hotel. It was the best hotel we stayed in during our tour of seven European cities. It was not the most expensive or the least expensive but I felt that I received a great return for the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    53
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
213
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay here. Our welcome was a little cool but the minute we stepped into the hotel I knew we had made the right choice. The scent from the scented candle and the beautiful flower arrangement oozed class.

Yes a little out of the centre but easily accessible on the underground.

A beautiful room. Fabulous linen and top notch fixtures and fittings. We had a room with a balcony -perfect for drinks and snacks before heading out.
The only thing missing was a bath to soak my tired feet. Saying that the shower was spectacular. A slightly limited breakfast but great quality. Would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Primero Primera for a special occasion and didn't regret the decision one bit! We flew in from India after battling a flood like situation, we we had to literally abandon our waterlogged car and wade through waist deep water! We arrived very tired and stressed from the experience and quiet sad to have started off on a trip to celebrate a special occasion, in such a traumatic way! But it was like we arrived in an oasis! The area is just so clean and lovely, very high end residential area. The hotel itself outstanding! We were welcomed by the smell of peonies in the reception and a lovely complimentary snack bar with croissants and coffee to fuel ourselves.
Totally loved the idea of the complimentary snack bar, filled with all kinds of soft drinks, fruit, water, tea, coffee and croissants...... It felt like home! They also have a Mac desktop and a selection of books in the snack bar area.
The staff was very attentive and helpful to all our requests. They even directed us to a pizza place close by for a late lunch (La Fermata). The area is very nice and peaceful, without the commotion, tourist traffic and dirt of the centre..... Of course of you want to be in the thick of things, this might not be so convenient. We took cabs everywhere, which did prove a little expensive but figured it was just more comfortable and faster...... For eg:-€14 to Parc Guell, €18/19 to villa Olympic, €8 to Plaza Espana and €14 to the Gothic Quarter(Top of Argenteria )
The breakfast was also very nice. It was quiet compact, but not In a way where u felt there was something missing. It was just right,with a little bit of everything...cereal, fruit,beverage, pastries, bread, cheese, juice, Spanish omelet, eggs to order and good staff that would certainly make your day a good start!:)
We had two suites and totally loved them! The best part of the rooms ,I thought were the showers, they were soo good!
The only reason I have rated it very good and not excellent, is because in both our rooms there were these little white bugs we discovered on the carpet. They could be anywhere and in anything and you wouldn't have a clue. It was strange and creepy. When I called the reception they came and vaccumed both rooms immediately! But there were some still left behind, wish I had taken a picture. My Mom was totally freaked out by them. They looked like lint or just some specks in the carpets, only when u look real close do u realize they are living and moving things!
I had told them time and again that we were coming on the trip to celebrate a special occasion, my Dads 60th birthday! We stayed there on his birthday and I wish they done something a little more special for him on that day, would have made it such a memorable experience.......They put a couple of brownies in the room, but in my opinion that didn't quiet cut it.... Most hotels we have stayed in are very thoughtful about occasions, and such a special one not being duly celebrated by a appropriate token from them, a little disappointed:(.....

But however, cannot take away anything else from the hotel. Lovely hotel, helpful staff and and a peaceful stay! Would most definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

You have a choice when in Barcelona: stay in the center of things or perhaps a bit outside the hectic areas. We did both, starting with Primero Primera then heading up the coast before coming back to Barcelona to stay in the ramblas areas. Wife and I both wished we simply stayed with this wonderful gem. The extra travel time is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful extended weekend in Barcelona and we couldn't be more happy with our choice of hotel. This place is exactly how we like it. Quiet, nice design and a nice ambiance. The breakfast is lovely and they are totally underselling their gym - I'm not even sure they even mention it on the website. Anyhow, me and my husband like to work out daily and found everything we needed in their gym (although adding some more weights and replacing the treadmill wouldn't hurt).

We loved the location and walked down to the city every day. Also appreciated having some local restaurant options nearby.

We enjoyed our room with comfortable bed and a nice balcony. The garden was also a treat.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our Superior Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the end of a two week European vacation. The hotel is just lovely-- perfect because it is a city hotel but not huge. A little off the beaten track (not in the heart of the Ramblas or near the water) but that suited us just fine. The staff were terrific and really knew their stuff.... gave us great recommendations for dinner and helpful tips for navigating the sites.

The decor is Barcelona chic. The room was not large, but elegant and comfortable. it was great having breakfast in the hotel, and while the selection was not large it was delicious.

Would definitely return again. It was great

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Can't speak highly enough of this place.We came here on our honeymoon and they upgraded us to a much bigger room. They sent us a complimentary cake to our room. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is delicious and to the point.The rooms are delightful, before this hotel I didn't know a room in a hotel in Europe could have a balcony. Excellent place!! Would definetly go there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarrià, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona’s city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a café with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Primero Primera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.