We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Primero Primera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Primero Primera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Primero Primera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Comfortable, stylish, delightfully designed - this was one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The staff were so, so helpful - above and beyond, as we needed to contact lost property at the airport. The bar is an honesty bar and there are lovely little snacky things around to keep you fuelled! THe rooms are beautiful, comfortable and, even in such an amazing city as this, you almost don't want to leave! But if you do venture out, there are some lovely restaurants around about and you're close to the public transport. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    47
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
181
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Barcelona in May was a great break from the UK weather. The beautiful mediterranean warmth. And Primero Primera was a totally relaxing place to stay. We stayed for a conference at the University and regret not spending enough time in the hotel. Although hotel is the wrong word - more like a family guest house - tucked away, peaceful, expertly furnished. I would happily laze in bed here before the amazing breakfast (in the courtyard garden if you like) then head into the city (train station 5mins walk) or laze in the sitting area. Just writing this makes me want to return!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are loft style and open onto a central roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First of all, I really appreciate helpful all staff. I stayed in a superior double room which has a bathtub and a shower booth. It was big enough to stay with my family(2 adult & 2 infant).
All of soft drink and some snacks was free of charge. There alcohols in a lounge which you can serve by yourself (it's charged).
Only problem is a distance from city center. We needed to take subway to Catalunya (10min), but even though I must say this hotel is worth to stay!! I will stay there again when I come back to Barcelona definitely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed with my partner as part of a three night trip to Barcelona, we chose the hotel because of the great reviews. It's relatively stylish but so many hotels are these days. The service was average, no going the extra mile, attention or care.
I think i was expecting to be wowed as the location isn't great but there's nothing special about it. It's just all OK.There is a charming lounge/bar area which is nice to relax in with a drink and a book and I imagine the outdoor space would be lovely in the summer (it was closed during our visit in the Autumn).
If the service was more forthcoming, the hairdryers were better and there was a great atmosphere to the place you'd forgive a lot of things but put simply it isn't a good enough hotel for its location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was my third visit to Hotel Primero Primera this year (2012). I have visited once with my husband, once alone and once with husband and our 9 year old. All visits have been excellent; rooms are impeccably clean, spacious, very comfortable beds, high quality duvets and pillows, quiet (not a single noise from other rooms during any of my visits), and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms are large and comfortable, and most importantly: clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and from what I could hear, with good level of english (my family is spanish talking, but other guests who were not had no language problems). The rooms I have stayed in had coffee and tea facilities in the room, which made the experience even more of a home-away-from-home, and a free minibar, safe and large clostes.
On the ground floor there is a large library with honesty bar and free muffins/coffee/tea/soda. Also on the ground floor is the "bar" where breakfast is served, but where you can also have lunch and dinner from a small menu. Breakfast is good; two types of bread (they provide glutenfree or other if needed and ordered beforehand), two types of cheese, one type of ham, fresh fruit, ready made small buns with jamon serrano or tuna and tomato, slices of tortilla, croissants, muffins and variety of juice and jams.
Location is good if you want peace and quiet. It is a very quiet suburban area, but only 10 minutes with metro to Plaza Cataluña, and the metro station is 5 minutes away. Some good restaurants which are recommended by the hotel if you do not feel like going into the center again at night: Contraluz and the bruger restaurant I think was called Le Royale. Contraluz have annother restaurant closer to town called Cordelia & co, which is worth visiting.

I am known to be rather hard to pelase, but I am very satisfied with Hotel Primero Primera. In every way. In fact, the only downside is that the lighting in the hallways and some of the bathrooms are a bit dim. I was so comfortable in the room I hardly wanted to leave to explore Barcelona, which is saying something since Barcelona is an exciting city with lots to offer! I would recommend the hotel for all types of travel, due to the easy access to the center. And I will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a very unusual hotel but we really loved it there, this was a private land that turned into hotel with nice rooms.

We booked the hotel knowing it was a bit outside of the city and far from the Ramblas.

The hotel was located in a quiet neighborhood of Doctor Carulla where there were apartment complex and all. It is better to use taxi to reach this hotel because we did and it was much better than using the metro. However, the metro is not too far from the hotel with a short stroll to the station.

The room we booked was quite large compared to the room we booked at another hotel near Catalunya. The lounge downstairs was very nice, warm and made you feel welcomed. You could choose the free drinks there (mini bar was a complimentary) and you could also pay accordingly for the alcoholic drinks. Wifi was free as well.

Try the to sit in the lounge area, the library room or definitely try the garden sofa to enjoy the weather while reading your favorite books.

The staff was very helpful and informative. They also recommended us to try a chinese restaurant frequented by the Barca team not too far from the hotel. Sadly it was closed during our visit.

We really love this hotel, a home far from home. Will visit again someday!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia C, Director General at Hotel Primero Primera, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We really appreciate it for taking your time to write about your experience at Hotel Primero Primera. We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel on your next trip to Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was the last one we stayed in after a string of top hotels in Spain. We were happy to see that the best had been saved for last. The entire hotel is *impeccably* designed to result in an extremely stylish, calm, cozy, and luxurious atmosphere. The honesty bar and other touches made our stay feel very private and personal. Our room was on the top floor, which actually was outside on the roof (!), and the unusual shape of the room under the eaves of the roof added to the cabin-like charm. When booking, we were concerned about the hotel's location outside of the heart of the city - but the subway is less than a 5 minute walk away, remarkably easy to use, and takes a direct route to La Ramblas in about 10 minutes. More than worth it for the experience of retiring to our beautiful room in the evening. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel - no other one in Barcelona could compare after staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarrià, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona’s city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a café with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Primero Primera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.