We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - location a consideration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Primero Primera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Primero Primera to your Saves list
Hotel Primero Primera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - location a consideration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As other reviewers have said, this is indeed a wonderful boutique hotel. Think: The Four Seasons meets B&B. The hotel is a renovated apartment building in a upscale suburb; everything pristine and high end without being at all stuffy. The staff, across the board, were fantastic. I wrote many email requests (reservations, directions, etc) prior to our visit. Each were answered quickly, and every request cheerfully done. Letter perfect service continued during our visit. High kudos to the staff there.

Having the public areas (patios, study, breakfast room, library) is great. The complimentary drinks (water, coffe/tea, soda) were a nice touch. I think they have cut back on 24/7 snacks since the first reviews started - but there was a bowl of apples and tinned cookies always available. Internet was weak at times, but not an extra charge. The buffet breakfast in the mornings was quite nice - no hot items, other than beverages, but the right amount of tasty, fresh options I felt.

We booked a room (via Mr. and Mrs. Smith) for 3, and received a Junior Suite, which was spacious, well appointed, and had a balcony, which we enjoyed. The downside to this room (for 3 people), was that the chaise lounge in the sitting room was used as the extra bed. It's in a awkward place, sitting at an angle, with total views of the (nice, large, glass windowed) bathroom. Not the best solution, but was a minor blip to an overall good stay.

As others have also said, you do need to consider the location. We'd have a full day of touring "down" in Barcelona, and would get back to the hotel exhausted. I can't tell you how many dinner reservations we cancelled, because we just didn't have the energy to go back into town. There a decent recent options near the hotel - but we were disappointed to have not tried some of the restaurants we had on our list. On the nights we picked ourselves up, the staff easily and quickly arranged cabs, which cost around 8-10 euros each way.

All and all, I highly recommend Hotel Primero Primera, for the restful, safe location, beautiful facility, amenities, and fantastic service. Well done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    61
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
86
234
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I along with some friends, stayed here for a weekend break to the city. We found the staff very friendly and the hotel was excellent with clean modern rooms and public areas, in a nice quiet neighbourhood, not far from the city centre.

When we arrived, the receptionist upgraded our room and gave us a tour of the public areas of the hotel, and took us up to our room. The room was large bright, airy and modern with good facilities. The room also had a mini bar with free soft drinks which was most welcome.

The hotel itself has been recently modernised and the public areas were quiet and extremely comfortable. The honesty bar with free soft drinks again was great and the breakfast was superb, continental and fresh.

The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, however there are some excellent restaurants close by (Dos Torres and Contraluz were favourites) which serve excellent meditteranean food in a friendly atmosphere.


The Mtero station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and only 10 minutes to the centre of Barcelona and the attractions. It was clean and frequent which is all you can ask.

I Can honestly say we were very pleased with our stay here and would not hesitate to return to the Primero primera the next time we are in Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Primero Primera with my parents (as an adult myself) and while the staff and hotel decor was lovely there were a couple of really strange quirks. Our room - presumably the room a family would book as they had said it would suit for three travellers and they set up a very comfortable extra bed in the common area - had to large windows... Into the bathroom! One over the bathtub and one into the shower. This made shower arrangements awkward as people had to shuffle into far corners of the room to not see each other washing. Our situation aside, it's hard to see how this could be construed as a romantic feature as it also meant that when someone took a shower late or in the morning, the light turned on in the bathroom came into the rest of the room and woke everyone else up.

The other issue, as other travellers have mentioned, was the distance from the city centre. We felt this issue especially during the Spanish 'siesta' time between 2 and 4pm when many places were closed but, being up to an hour away from the hotel it didn't make sense to go back and rest.

It was unfortunate that these two issues coloured our stay as I can see why people love this hotel- it's go beautiful decor, and the most lovely staff but I don't know if I would ever stay again if I returned to Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia C, Director General at Hotel Primero Primera, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for posting your opinion of your stay at Hotel Primero Primera. We have now solved the problem with the windows facing the bathroom putting some blinds to keep clients privacy. We hope to welcome you back at our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have stayed in a couple of hotels in this area of Barcelona and was looking for a better standard
I found one ! This boutique hotel is really nice !
I have Attic rooom (on roof but all rooms layed out separately in a sort of courtyard) as its Boutique there are inevitable black or dark painted walls and point lighting. Very clean, Free mini-bar (soft drinks), Free Internet, croissants and apples free as are coffees. An Honesty bar all very nicely furnished.
A quiet part of town, it took about 5mins walk and 10mins on metro from Les Tres Torres to Catalunya in centre of town, felt quite safe at night walking back.
Helpful friendly staff, and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: I liked the Attick room A1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, victoria, australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a beautiful hotel. Free upgrade, late check out and brilliant staff. Do yourself a favour and stay here if you visit Barcelona. I for one, will certainly be back. Breakfast is a great selection of fruits, tortilla, cereal, bread, teas, coffees and more. The area is pretty quiet, which is nice, and only a short cab ride into central Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

All recently refurnished - had an "Attic" room which means on the roof with an internal courtyard open to the sky with cacti and sofas. Breakfast was fine and staff always helpful. About 15 min out on Metro and then 5 min walk - easy. Some good eating places nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This family owned hotel, located in an upscale neighborhood in Barcelona turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip here. You can review the website for decor and amenities but the most outstanding characteristic of this place is the overt friendly helpfulness of all the staff. They overcame all our obstacles with language, transportation, and total unfamiliarity with the area. Their dining recommendations were the best we received and when I requested explanations about the language and culture they were graciously given. If you prefer the touristy Las Ramblas, this is not for you, but for us, this was a great peaceful retreat and AUTHENTIC Barcelona visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarrià, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona’s city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a café with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Primero Primera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.